Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,164 Members 39,739 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Beastmode's Proton Kernel [ICS] Q&A

Tip us?
 
linux-dude
Old
#21  
linux-dude's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmode View Post
That's the button light fix which can be set from device settings.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
I can't for my life figure out where that setting is :/ Can you give a hint?

Thanks,
Mike
 
FBis251
Old
#22  
FBis251's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,664
Posts: 3,311
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Beastmode's Proton Kernel [ICS] Q&A

On AOKP I can go to system settings > device options > backlight timeout
The Following User Says Thank You to FBis251 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
linux-dude
Old
#23  
linux-dude's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBis251 View Post
On AOKP I can go to system settings > device options > backlight timeout
I tried SlimICS and UltraGen, neither seem to have that setting. Or is it just me?

Thanks,
Mike
 
Theraze
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 847
Join Date: Jan 2012
Ultragen: System Settings -> Advanced -> Backlight Timeout.
 
linux-dude
Old
#25  
linux-dude's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theraze View Post
Ultragen: System Settings -> Advanced -> Backlight Timeout.
Thanks Theraze. Why is it disabled? I re-flashed a few times with and wiped everything every time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-03-19-21-20-26.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	1816946  
 
Theraze
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 847
Join Date: Jan 2012
Just make sure that the only things you've flashed onto your phone in this set are Ultragen 1.0.1 and Proton ICS v2. No Gapps. No YAGF. No whatever-else-you-like-to-throw-in-later. Ultragen doesn't want or need anything else, and will start to misbehave if you try to customize it. It's the only time I've managed to get a wave of FCs with it...

But yeah, I'm running Ultragen 1.0.1, Proton ICS v2, and my screen there lets me set the timeout down to .5 seconds which makes me happy.
 
linux-dude
Old
#27  
linux-dude's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theraze View Post
Just make sure that the only things you've flashed onto your phone in this set are Ultragen 1.0.1 and Proton ICS v2. No Gapps. No YAGF. No whatever-else-you-like-to-throw-in-later. Ultragen doesn't want or need anything else, and will start to misbehave if you try to customize it. It's the only time I've managed to get a wave of FCs with it...

But yeah, I'm running Ultragen 1.0.1, Proton ICS v2, and my screen there lets me set the timeout down to .5 seconds which makes me happy.
Thanks,

Funny, it suddenly start working. I did nothing, no idea why
 
suck it monkeys
Old
#28  
suck it monkeys's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 102
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: La Union, NM
Default PooP and Proton

Hey guys,
Just wondering if Poop became Proton and if there are any differences in the kernels. I'm currently on Ultragen with PooP and I wondering if there a substantial differences in the two kernels.
 
Theraze
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 847
Join Date: Jan 2012
Yes... PooP became Proton. PooP seems to have a bit less random reboots (as in, I can't remember ever having gotten one on PooP that wasn't due to OC-ing, whereas Proton has one every few hours when I'm actually using it) but Proton has better deep sleep and on the whole does better for battery life. Also, you can actually configure the button-lights and how long they stay on.

Course, if you just read the OP, it would have told you...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmode View Post
build2: Changed name to Proton Kernel as well like my Proton JB
will not have linaro as it just causes random reboots so for now might not have it
lights fixed completely.
lights are now user defined from device options(or any app that allows this)
added governors again
added schedulers again
added fast charge
added some stuff for better battery
added kineto back into the kernel :P
some more misc stuff :P

The Following User Says Thank You to Theraze For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes