FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

4.2.1 Update NO AUDIO FROM HDMI BUG

5th April 2013, 06:51 PM |#1  
droidsg's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
So two weeks ago I turn on my TF300T in the morning and saw this 4.2.1 update . Since I was in a hurry to go out, I didn't check if there is any bug.After I saw a post about people having problem with no audio output from HDMI after the update on other site.I decided to try if really there is such problem and guess what, same problem,no audio out for me too.I'm creating this thread so that people with this problem can come together and discuses and see if we can write something to Asus or find a way to solve this problem.

You can see people comments on the comment section on this website and all the bugs they face.
Last edited by droidsg; 5th April 2013 at 07:03 PM.
 
 
9th April 2013, 01:07 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidsg

So two weeks ago I turn on my TF300T in the morning and saw this 4.2.1 update . Since I was in a hurry to go out, I didn't check if there is any bug.After I saw a post about people having problem with no audio output from HDMI after the update on other site.I decided to try if really there is such problem and guess what, same problem,no audio out for me too.I'm creating this thread so that people with this problem can come together and discuses and see if we can write something to Asus or find a way to solve this problem.

Is there any update on this or do i need to go back to the old version?
9th April 2013, 04:19 PM |#3  
droidsg's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad_maks

Is there any update on this or do i need to go back to the old version?

I don't think Asus have release any new update to fix this. Are you rooted? If you are I think the best option is to roll back to the last version. I'm currently on this version.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-09-23-11-16.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	1870038  
10th April 2013, 05:42 PM |#4  
vap_66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 511
 
More
As I mentioned on another thread, some people (me included) have audio via HDMI only if the tablet volume is raised before connecting the cable. It's not a normal thing to do, but at least it works. Did you try it?
11th April 2013, 01:28 AM |#5  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,672
 
Donate to Me
More
I thought the fix for this was setting media volume to max before plugging in HDMI cable?

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk 2
12th April 2013, 01:50 AM |#6  
droidsg's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
No I haven't tried that. Didn't know that there's a work around for this. I will update you guys once I tried it.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
12th April 2013, 02:06 AM |#7  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,672
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidsg

No I haven't tried that. Didn't know that there's a work around for this. I will update you guys once I tried it.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Thanks. I plan on getting an HDMI cable but if audio dont work then i aint.
13th April 2013, 01:55 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Yesterday i picked up a micro hdmi cable to try video for the first time. I got video but no audio. I am running 4.2.1. I checked this forum only to find these threads. Here is what I found:

No audio on my 26" Sony
Turning the audio up first made no difference
The image goes off screen
When i plugged it into the tv while the tv was set to a different input, audio still played from the TF300T speaker. As soon as i changed the tv input to hdmi, the TF300T audio went silent.

Then I tried it on my old rear projection Sony tv and audio worked.

The TF300T is definitely having trouble on some tv's - newer models???

I guess i'll report it to asus.

Peter
13th April 2013, 10:40 AM |#9  
droidsg's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Tried that work around yesterday. It didn't work with my TV. Anyone have any luck with this work around?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
16th April 2013, 03:59 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I reported the issue to ASUS specifically askIng if there were aware. They answered. Yes it is a problem, yes they are working on it - code fix is coming April/May.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pejfton For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.2.1, audio, bug, hdmi, tf300
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes