Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,220 Members 37,438 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Lock screen

Tip us?
 
bobbyball
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 152
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cambridge
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Woody View Post
I'm no expert, but that sounds like a screen/digitiser issue.
Ive started to think that too.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium HD app

__________________________

HTC HD2
HTC Sensation
HTC Flyer
ASUS Transformer Prime
HTC One X
 
M_Woody
Old
(Last edited by M_Woody; 16th April 2013 at 10:01 PM.)
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 56
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyball View Post
Ive started to think that too.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium HD app
Have you tried a restore?

Also, try going to a long-ish website on it (or something else that you can scroll through) then just tap once at around the same place as the lock-clock would be, see what happens when you do that.
 
paranoid2007
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 789
Join Date: Mar 2007
The single touch unlock seems to be caused by services activated under the "accessibility settings" (German: "Eingabehilfe"). This concerns Tasker, Lightflow etc. Set these to off and you need to swype to unlock.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to paranoid2007 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
arzin
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 209
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyball View Post
Ive started to think that too.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium HD app
I'm sure it's not your digitizer. It's the settings. This used to happened on my htc hd2 as well sometimes. I don't remember the settings of sense but if you do not find them just restore it to factory settings and it should be fine.
 
Robrecht
Old
(Last edited by Robrecht; 26th April 2013 at 10:35 PM.)
#15  
Robrecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Antwerpen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by paranoid2007 View Post
The single touch unlock seems to be caused by services activated under the "accessibility settings" (German: "Eingabehilfe"). This concerns Tasker, Lightflow etc. Set these to off and you need to swype to unlock.
You're absolutely right. Thanks for solving this mystery for me.

I received my One today and at some point during the installation of my apps started experiencing the same problem: the lock screen unlocked with a single touch instead of a swipe. Turns out its normal function returns when I switch off all accessibility services.

Which is annoying, because I need those accessibility settings for Tasker and for my Pebble. I wish HTC made this a separate option instead of assuming that as soon as you activate one accessibility option, you must be physically unable to move your thumb accross the screen... :-/

It's not just that the lock screen doesn't really lock anymore; in the "productivity" setup, I can't swipe beyond the first calendar entry because it disappears at the first touch. I really hope HTC fixes this in an update soon.
Psion Organiser II > Psion Organiser II 64 > Psion Series 3 > Qtek 9090 (drowned) > Qtek 9090 > Qtek 9000 > Toshiba g900 > HTC Touch Pro > HTC HD2 (stolen) > HTC Desire HD > HTC One X > HTC One
 
nozobe
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robrecht View Post
You're absolutely right. Thanks for solving this mystery for me.

I received my One today and at some point during the installation of my apps started experiencing the same problem: the lock screen unlocked with a single touch instead of a swipe. Turns out its normal function returns when I switch off all accessibility services.

Which is annoying, because I need those accessibility settings for Tasker and for my Pebble. I wish HTC made this a separate option instead of assuming that as soon as you activate one accessibility option, you must be physically unable to move your thumb accross the screen... :-/

It's not just that the lock screen doesn't really lock anymore; in the "productivity" setup, I can't swipe beyond the first calendar entry because it disappears at the first touch. I really hope HTC fixes this in an update soon.
I am having the same problem. This issue occurs also when you have to turn Accessibility Service on for apps like "Notify me" etc. The lockscreen unlocks with every single touch...

Does someone have a solution for this?

Thanks in advance
 
Robrecht
Old
#17  
Robrecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Antwerpen

 
DONATE TO ME
I've opened a support ticket yesterday on htc.com and described the issue. Haven't heard back from them yet, but it's weekend of course.

Maybe if we all contact support they'll become aware of the issue and we'll get a solution sooner?
Psion Organiser II > Psion Organiser II 64 > Psion Series 3 > Qtek 9090 (drowned) > Qtek 9090 > Qtek 9000 > Toshiba g900 > HTC Touch Pro > HTC HD2 (stolen) > HTC Desire HD > HTC One X > HTC One
 
Robrecht
Old
(Last edited by Robrecht; 29th April 2013 at 01:14 PM.)
#18  
Robrecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Antwerpen

 
DONATE TO ME
Got a reply today:

Quote:
Thank you for your email regarding your HTC device. Unfortunately we dont know what 3rd party apps will do to the phone and therefore we cant support 3rd party apps. If you dont like the fact that your screen can be unlocked by a single touch i would advise you to remove the 3rd party app(s) or talk to the developer of those apps. If you have any further questions you can reply to this email.
So I wrote back:

Quote:
Hello,

I wouldn't say those third party apps are responsible. They require accessibility services for certain features, but they do not in themselves affect the lock screen behaviour.

I believe it is the HTC Sense software that automatically (and unnecessarily) sets the lock screen to open at a single touch when any accessibility setting is used. I understand this issue cannot be solved at the moment, but I do hope a future update will introduce the option for the user to choose the lock screen behaviour himself.
Edit: A new reply arrived:

Quote:
We dont have a current solution for this but i am sure there will be a update in the future to solve this.
Psion Organiser II > Psion Organiser II 64 > Psion Series 3 > Qtek 9090 (drowned) > Qtek 9090 > Qtek 9000 > Toshiba g900 > HTC Touch Pro > HTC HD2 (stolen) > HTC Desire HD > HTC One X > HTC One
 
gsusx
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 314
Join Date: Apr 2011
What kind of customer support is that

The bloke is basically washing his f*cking hands of it, what a joke.

This is p1ss poor it really is.... might have to see if there's another possible lockscreen i can use, i wouldnt mind so much but if my phone rings in my pocket its game over, picks it up without me even getting a chance to answer it

Nightmare

---------- Post added at 08:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 AM ----------

A part solution is widget locker ...... not as pretty as stock lock screen but at least functional whilst you have this problem ....

still looking for a solution for when i recieve calls.

---------- Post added at 09:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:51 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsusx View Post
What kind of customer support is that

The bloke is basically washing his f*cking hands of it, what a joke.

This is p1ss poor it really is.... might have to see if there's another possible lockscreen i can use, i wouldnt mind so much but if my phone rings in my pocket its game over, picks it up without me even getting a chance to answer it

Nightmare

---------- Post added at 08:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 AM ----------

A part solution is widget locker ...... not as pretty as stock lock screen but at least functional whilst you have this problem ....

still looking for a solution for when i recieve calls.
and back again

Tiny call confirm is your friend. Puts a lock on the screen, tap it then answer, works like a dream

I know all this is a pain in the backside, but in the meantime it's an answer to the problems we're facing at the moment
 
Robrecht
Old
#20  
Robrecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Antwerpen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsusx View Post
What kind of customer support is that

The bloke is basically washing his f*cking hands of it, what a joke.
Basically, yeah...

Thanks for the tips -- didn't know about the second one yet.

I'm a bit surprised there aren't more people reporting this problem. A lot of forum users here must be using Tasker, I can imagine, and have its accessibility service enabled, and therefore must experience the same lock screen defect. It's the only thing that really bothers me about this phone (apart from the fact that Zoe is practically unusable with Dropbox auto upload).
Psion Organiser II > Psion Organiser II 64 > Psion Series 3 > Qtek 9090 (drowned) > Qtek 9090 > Qtek 9000 > Toshiba g900 > HTC Touch Pro > HTC HD2 (stolen) > HTC Desire HD > HTC One X > HTC One

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more