FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Long press to get FN+Key

53 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By eran.chason@gmail.com, Member on 15th June 2009, 12:19 PM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all, I just got my Snap after having the Dash for 3 years. The Snap is great but I have one problem...

On the Dash, when typing, long press will input the Alt+key combination, e.g. when long press on the "W" key it will input "1". The Snap can't do it and I need to press the FN key

Any way to change this?

Thanks,
Eran
 
 
24th June 2009, 11:12 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eran.chason@gmail.com

Hi all, I just got my Snap after having the Dash for 3 years. The Snap is great but I have one problem...

On the Dash, when typing, long press will input the Alt+key combination, e.g. when long press on the "W" key it will input "1". The Snap can't do it and I need to press the FN key

Any way to change this?

Thanks,
Eran

That would be a great improvement! I had this same feature on my Diamond. I like the Snap keyboard, but you just have to push the FN key too much during some regular typing!
29th June 2009, 05:14 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'd like this too.
29th June 2009, 10:18 AM |#4  
OP Member
Flag spore
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
seems like know one know how to solve... this is really annoying on this great phone!
29th June 2009, 10:32 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This depends on keyboard driver, what's always a dll library written by a manufacturer specifically for each device.

Similar problem has Touch Pro 2.

E.g. unlike Rose, where press+hold function can be simply remapped to another character/function.
30th June 2009, 01:39 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
OK I think I've provisionally got this sorted - you have to edit the keymap file using a text editor (either on the device using e.g. Total Commander or (probably more easy) copy the file to your PC using Activesync, edit it then copy it back to your device). On my snap the file is \Windows\eT9.Maple.wwe.kmap.txt - might be different depending on your ROM and language settings.

Before we go any further, make a backup of the file because you can get into all sorts of problems if you mess it up. It will be recoverable with a hard reset if necessary, but you probably want to avoid that...

The process is pretty self explanatory when you look at the kmap.txt file, but as an example:

Look at the entry for the R key:

{R R R 3 3 0x03}

As stated in the beginning of the kmap.txt file (on my device anyway), the third character in the above entry is "VK2 -> key to interpret when for press and hold". So simply change this to:

{R R 3 3 3 0x03}

Reboot your device and try it in messaging - when you hold the R key you will get a 3. Now you need to do this for every key! I haven't done it for the whole keymap yet - this might be the sort of thing you want to do personally, it's not THAT big a job I guess.

Cheers.
30th June 2009, 01:42 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
P.S. I also used this to remap the tab key, which I don't find that useful.
30th June 2009, 07:23 AM |#8  
OP Member
Flag spore
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
THANK!!!
this works beautifully!!! now the keyboard is as it should be the first place

Attached is the file for the WWE with long press supported for all keys
Attached Files
File Type: txt eT9.Maple.wwe.kmap.txt - [Click for QR Code] (4.4 KB, 217 views)
1st July 2009, 01:00 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eran.chason@gmail.com

this works beautifully!!! now the keyboard is as it should be the first place

Attached is the file for the WWE with long press supported for all keys

That's brilliant!
I've modified your file to get rid of 2 small bugs (* and 0 longpress not working) and absolutely love the keyboard now!
11th July 2009, 07:31 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psmit

That's brilliant!
I've modified your file to get rid of 2 small bugs (* and 0 longpress not working) and absolutely love the keyboard now!

Could you post your modifications? Also, has anyone tried this on the Sprint Snap?
12th July 2009, 01:22 AM |#11  
Member
Bristol, CT
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Has anyone remade the above file for the US keyboard? In other words, here is the layout for my keyboard:

Q1 W2 E3 R% T+ Y( U) I- O_ P"
A* S4 D5 F6 G~ H/ J? K$ L= ,@ (DEL)
(CAPS) Z7 X8 C9 V' B& N! M; .: (ENT)
(ALT) TAB0 SYM# (SPACE)
Last edited by miker2431; 12th July 2009 at 01:36 AM. Reason: incomplete

Read More
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes