FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[ROOT] Root Samsung Galaxy S4 with Motochopper

136 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
By djrbliss, Recognized Developer on 26th April 2013, 09:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
A recent root exploit I published for Motorola devices, Motochopper, should do the trick for rooting the Qualcomm-based variants of the Samsung Galaxy S4, including the AT&T, Sprint, and T-Mobile branded models.

Download the exploit here:
http://vulnfactory.org/public/motochopper.zip

Instructions:
  1. Extract the entire contents of the zip file.
  2. If you are using Windows, ensure you have installed the latest Samsung USB drivers available for your phone.
  3. Ensure USB Debugging mode is enabled on your device.
  4. Connect your device to your PC via USB.
  5. If you are using Windows, navigate to the extracted directory and execute "run.bat". If you are using Linux or OS X, navigate to the extracted directory in a terminal and execute "./run.sh".
  6. Approve the ADB connection from your PC on your device.

Warning:
At this point, since there are no custom recoveries or stock images available, it may not be possible to repair your device should you accidentally break it. Please be aware of this before performing any modifications to your phone.

As always, future OTA updates may remove the ability to regain root access, so proceed with caution when updating. Enjoy!


Paypal:
http://goo.gl/zBGb0
Last edited by djrbliss; 26th April 2013 at 11:18 PM.
The Following 417 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
26th April 2013, 09:23 PM |#2  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
Installing now!

How long does it take for this to run? I am stuck at "daemon successfully started"
Last edited by ChaosMinionX; 26th April 2013 at 09:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:31 PM |#3  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX

Installing now!

How long does it take for this to run? I am stuck at "daemon successfully started"

You seem to be having issues getting ADB to start. Is USB debugging mode enabled on the device? Have you installed USB drivers for this device on your PC? What operating system are you using?
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:32 PM |#4  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrbliss

You seem to be having issues getting ADB to start. Is USB debugging mode enabled on the device? Have you installed USB drivers for this device on your PC? What operating system are you using?

debugging is on, installed usb drivers and im on Win7 64bit.

Device manager shows ADB driver installation too...
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:42 PM |#5  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX

debugging is on, installed usb drivers and im on Win7 64bit.

Device manager shows ADB driver installation too...

Sorry about that, just needed to update the version of ADB I was including. It should work fine now. Try downloading a fresh copy from the same link and trying again.

I've updated the instructions to mention that you will need to approve the ADB connection from your PC on the device.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:43 PM |#6  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrbliss

Sorry about that, just needed to update the version of ADB I was including. It should work fine now.

I've updated the instructions to mention that you will need to approve the ADB connection from your PC on the device.

Okay so new package uploaded?

Beautiful! it worked

You sir are a genius! ATT Galaxy S4 rooted!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:44 PM |#7  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,638
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX

Okay so new package uploaded?

Yes, same URL.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:46 PM |#8  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
Just confirmed root is working with Titanium Backup! Excellent work!!!

EDIT: 9G680480351482402 go buy a redbull or something!
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:46 PM |#9  
mrRobinson's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 9,163
 
More
Yep. confirmed working. thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 09:57 PM |#10  
shoman94's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Maine
Thanks Meter: 12,306
 
Donate to Me
More
Awesome work!

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shoman94 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:02 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 737
 
More
Confirmed working. Thank you!
The Following User Says Thank You to Aou For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes