Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROOT] Root Samsung Galaxy S4 with Motochopper

OP djrbliss

26th April 2013, 10:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,618
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
A recent root exploit I published for Motorola devices, Motochopper, should do the trick for rooting the Qualcomm-based variants of the Samsung Galaxy S4, including the AT&T, Sprint, and T-Mobile branded models.

Download the exploit here:
http://vulnfactory.org/public/motochopper.zip

Instructions:
  1. Extract the entire contents of the zip file.
  2. If you are using Windows, ensure you have installed the latest Samsung USB drivers available for your phone.
  3. Ensure USB Debugging mode is enabled on your device.
  4. Connect your device to your PC via USB.
  5. If you are using Windows, navigate to the extracted directory and execute "run.bat". If you are using Linux or OS X, navigate to the extracted directory in a terminal and execute "./run.sh".
  6. Approve the ADB connection from your PC on your device.

Warning:
At this point, since there are no custom recoveries or stock images available, it may not be possible to repair your device should you accidentally break it. Please be aware of this before performing any modifications to your phone.

As always, future OTA updates may remove the ability to regain root access, so proceed with caution when updating. Enjoy!


Paypal:
http://goo.gl/zBGb0
Last edited by djrbliss; 27th April 2013 at 12:18 AM.
The Following 413 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:23 PM   |  #2  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 181
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Installing now!

How long does it take for this to run? I am stuck at "daemon successfully started"
Last edited by ChaosMinionX; 26th April 2013 at 10:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:31 PM   |  #3  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,618
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX

Installing now!

How long does it take for this to run? I am stuck at "daemon successfully started"

You seem to be having issues getting ADB to start. Is USB debugging mode enabled on the device? Have you installed USB drivers for this device on your PC? What operating system are you using?
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:32 PM   |  #4  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 181
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrbliss

You seem to be having issues getting ADB to start. Is USB debugging mode enabled on the device? Have you installed USB drivers for this device on your PC? What operating system are you using?

debugging is on, installed usb drivers and im on Win7 64bit.

Device manager shows ADB driver installation too...
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:42 PM   |  #5  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,618
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX

debugging is on, installed usb drivers and im on Win7 64bit.

Device manager shows ADB driver installation too...

Sorry about that, just needed to update the version of ADB I was including. It should work fine now. Try downloading a fresh copy from the same link and trying again.

I've updated the instructions to mention that you will need to approve the ADB connection from your PC on the device.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:43 PM   |  #6  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 181
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrbliss

Sorry about that, just needed to update the version of ADB I was including. It should work fine now.

I've updated the instructions to mention that you will need to approve the ADB connection from your PC on the device.

Okay so new package uploaded?

Beautiful! it worked

You sir are a genius! ATT Galaxy S4 rooted!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:44 PM   |  #7  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,618
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX

Okay so new package uploaded?

Yes, same URL.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to djrbliss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:46 PM   |  #8  
ChaosMinionX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 181
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Just confirmed root is working with Titanium Backup! Excellent work!!!

EDIT: 9G680480351482402 go buy a redbull or something!
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaosMinionX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:46 PM   |  #9  
mrRobinson's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 8,440
 
2,370 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Yep. confirmed working. thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 10:57 PM   |  #10  
shoman94's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Maine
Thanks Meter: 12,244
 
8,474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Awesome work!

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shoman94 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes