5,596,784 Members 47,199 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google Play Store

Tip us?
 
terraterm
Old
#11  
terraterm's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: May 2008
i prefer to update manually
LG P505
Acer Iconia A100
 
jr67
Old
(Last edited by jr67; 21st April 2012 at 08:22 AM.)
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 417
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii
I don't recommend it but I suppose if it's really bugging you you could always try freezing Play Store when you're not using it. You could use App Quarantine and create a widget to freeze/defrost it with 1 click. Not sure if it's going to even work or how this will affect your phone so don't blame me if you screw up your phone.
 
terraterm
Old
#13  
terraterm's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: May 2008
no freezing...I'll kill it as needed...thx
LG P505
Acer Iconia A100
 
kazzxtrismus
Old
#14  
kazzxtrismus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 526
Join Date: Feb 2009
This is another universal curse of Android.. And sometimes this crap calls itself a service etc to tryto skirt task managers.... This permission needs to be banned from android...

These apps are so small the newer phones don't even leave the developers the standard lame excuse of "quick loading"...

It's my bloody phone.. I'll give permission...

If your app doesn't work right or load quick on a dual core 1.5ghz chipset with 1gig of ram.. YOU DID IT WRONG..
 
[un]necessary
Old
#15  
[un]necessary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 154
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazzxtrismus View Post
If your app doesn't work right or load quick on a dual core 1.5ghz chipset with 1gig of ram.. YOU DID IT WRONG..
if you actually notice the store hogging ram on a dual core 1.5ghz/1gb ram phone, you are insane.
 
alunral
Old
#16  
alunral's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 95
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Milwaukee
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazzxtrismus View Post
This is another universal curse of Android.. And sometimes this crap calls itself a service etc to tryto skirt task managers.... This permission needs to be banned from android...

These apps are so small the newer phones don't even leave the developers the standard lame excuse of "quick loading"...

It's my bloody phone.. I'll give permission...

If your app doesn't work right or load quick on a dual core 1.5ghz chipset with 1gig of ram.. YOU DID IT WRONG..
It's a core Google app. If you want to stop it, root your phone, get a custom ROM, and don't flash Gapps. The phone is set to use Google Play for stuff like this, and barely uses any memory at all.

Stop complaining, and calm down. There are just some things you can't turn off on a phone...you know...kinda like on a computer.

PS: You can set apps to NOT auto-update in the app store settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to alunral For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
larrylee5566
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2012
I want running my android tablet ( the tablet running android 4.03 )
 
Ninja_Gundam
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2006
... I feel the same of the author of the topic..
If i want an app to run, i'll launch it.
Those answer are all blablabla.. i don't want app in background that i don't use. END.
For me it can drain even 0,001% of battery\ram but it's not the point.

Tried both gemini and autostarts.. as today..

Playstore old worked, the new one reset all settings and always on.
Maps work, but if u launch it , it will reset something, and u have to terminate the app from settings,apps..ecc.

With root must be a way to bypass those stupid apps from get permissions ecc..



Chooo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Sony Xperia Z, ZL, ZR, and Tablet Z to Receive Official KitKat Update in May

It’s no secret that although Sony is one of the most … more

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more