Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Google Play Store

OP terraterm

21st April 2012, 05:21 AM   |  #11  
terraterm's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
i prefer to update manually
21st April 2012, 09:17 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 236
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I don't recommend it but I suppose if it's really bugging you you could always try freezing Play Store when you're not using it. You could use App Quarantine and create a widget to freeze/defrost it with 1 click. Not sure if it's going to even work or how this will affect your phone so don't blame me if you screw up your phone.
Last edited by jr67; 21st April 2012 at 09:22 AM.
21st April 2012, 04:57 PM   |  #13  
terraterm's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
no freezing...I'll kill it as needed...thx
22nd April 2012, 05:00 AM   |  #14  
kazzxtrismus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 134
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
This is another universal curse of Android.. And sometimes this crap calls itself a service etc to tryto skirt task managers.... This permission needs to be banned from android...

These apps are so small the newer phones don't even leave the developers the standard lame excuse of "quick loading"...

It's my bloody phone.. I'll give permission...

If your app doesn't work right or load quick on a dual core 1.5ghz chipset with 1gig of ram.. YOU DID IT WRONG..
22nd April 2012, 08:12 AM   |  #15  
[un]necessary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazzxtrismus

If your app doesn't work right or load quick on a dual core 1.5ghz chipset with 1gig of ram.. YOU DID IT WRONG..

if you actually notice the store hogging ram on a dual core 1.5ghz/1gb ram phone, you are insane.
22nd April 2012, 08:29 AM   |  #16  
alunral's Avatar
Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 9
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazzxtrismus

This is another universal curse of Android.. And sometimes this crap calls itself a service etc to tryto skirt task managers.... This permission needs to be banned from android...

These apps are so small the newer phones don't even leave the developers the standard lame excuse of "quick loading"...

It's my bloody phone.. I'll give permission...

If your app doesn't work right or load quick on a dual core 1.5ghz chipset with 1gig of ram.. YOU DID IT WRONG..

It's a core Google app. If you want to stop it, root your phone, get a custom ROM, and don't flash Gapps. The phone is set to use Google Play for stuff like this, and barely uses any memory at all.

Stop complaining, and calm down. There are just some things you can't turn off on a phone...you know...kinda like on a computer.

PS: You can set apps to NOT auto-update in the app store settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to alunral For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th April 2012, 04:21 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I want running my android tablet ( the tablet running android 4.03 )
29th April 2013, 11:09 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
... I feel the same of the author of the topic..
If i want an app to run, i'll launch it.
Those answer are all blablabla.. i don't want app in background that i don't use. END.
For me it can drain even 0,001% of battery\ram but it's not the point.

Tried both gemini and autostarts.. as today..

Playstore old worked, the new one reset all settings and always on.
Maps work, but if u launch it , it will reset something, and u have to terminate the app from settings,apps..ecc.

With root must be a way to bypass those stupid apps from get permissions ecc..



Chooo

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes