FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Galaxy S4 WiFi problem with Dlink

87 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By brochs, Member on 1st May 2013, 06:38 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I have been experementing with my SGS4 and my Dlink DIR-655 router (used as access point). I find the problem comes from WPA with AES. Changing settings to TKIP only, and everything works just fine. Only problem is my computer don't get n speed using TKIP. Guess the Dlink is ready for the dustbin now. Have tried several firmwares for the router, all with the same problem. If the fault lays with Dlink or Samsung I don't know, but the S4 is the first to have these problems.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to brochs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
6th May 2013, 07:25 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brochs

Hi,

I have been experementing with my SGS4 and my Dlink DIR-655 router (used as access point). I find the problem comes from WPA with AES. Changing settings to TKIP only, and everything works just fine. Only problem is my computer don't get n speed using TKIP. Guess the Dlink is ready for the dustbin now. Have tried several firmwares for the router, all with the same problem. If the fault lays with Dlink or Samsung I don't know, but the S4 is the first to have these problems.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app

Yeah, have the same issue here. It's annoying cause I have to keep using data plan even after I get home.
8th May 2013, 12:10 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I confirm the same problem with a Samsung S4 and a D-LINK DIR-855.
Setting the cypher type to "TKIP" solves it for Samsung but it breaks it for an older Sony laptop.
Luckily DIR-855 is a dual-AP so I could configure the 2.4GHz band with TKIP only while keeping "TKIP+AES" on the 5GHz band.

Samsung should solve the problem. Spent the evening debugging this
8th May 2013, 12:25 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Well at least I can stop banging my head on the wall, same problem with a DIR-655. The router keeps locking up, even on a wired connection I can't get anywhere until I turn off the wifi on the GS4.
8th May 2013, 06:40 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag Apeldoorn
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnF70

I confirm the same problem with a Samsung S4 and a D-LINK DIR-855.
Setting the cypher type to "TKIP" solves it for Samsung but it breaks it for an older Sony laptop.
Luckily DIR-855 is a dual-AP so I could configure the 2.4GHz band with TKIP only while keeping "TKIP+AES" on the 5GHz band.

Samsung should solve the problem. Spent the evening debugging this

You can also use the guest zone on your 855 to solve that problem. Then you can keep your 5GHz band on AES+TKIP
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Doctor Yes For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2013, 10:47 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Yes

You can also use the guest zone on your 855 to solve that problem. Then you can keep your 5GHz band on AES+TKIP

Nice. Thanks for the suggestion
I've never used the guest zones but they work well with TKIP albeit at only 54Mbps.
Also enabled routing between zones so I can access other devices on the internal network.
DIR-855 is such a versatile router.
The Following User Says Thank You to EnF70 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2013, 02:34 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
problem but with a motorolla AP300
i also have a wifi connection problem but with a motorolla AP300 running through a RFS4000 enterprise wireless controller.

can connect to other networks with out issue.

this is the error report from the router.

12:52:26 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:52:04 2013: %CC-4-FUZZING-INVALID-MANAGEMENT-FRAME: MU CC-3A-61-92-1A-74. Filtering for 0 seconds
May 08 12:51:06 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:45:04 2013: %CC-4-FUZZING-INVALID-MANAGEMENT-FRAME: MU CC-3A-61-92-1A-74. Filtering for 0 seconds
May 08 12:44:32 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:29 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 3 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:25 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:22 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:18 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:15 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:11 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:07 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 3 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:04 2013: %CC-4-FUZZING-INVALID-MANAGEMENT-FRAME: MU CC-3A-61-92-1A-74. Filtering for 0 seconds
May 08 12:44:04 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:00 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169

We are on WPA/WPA2-TKIP

have tried changing this and still could not connect.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xgutterratx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2013, 03:05 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Cape Town
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brochs

Hi,

I have been experementing with my SGS4 and my Dlink DIR-655 router (used as access point). I find the problem comes from WPA with AES. Changing settings to TKIP only, and everything works just fine. Only problem is my computer don't get n speed using TKIP. Guess the Dlink is ready for the dustbin now. Have tried several firmwares for the router, all with the same problem. If the fault lays with Dlink or Samsung I don't know, but the S4 is the first to have these problems.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app

thank you for this. I have a DLINK ADSL Router and I am having endless issues. I thought it was my router, but now I know its my i9500.

Will a software update resolve this?
8th May 2013, 05:05 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Having the same issues -- with Dlink DIR-655
Making some changes mentioned here got everything working well on the phone but obviously ended up slowing down overall performance for other devices (i.e. Apple TV) --- but the idea to use a guest zone (which can also be set to route between zones) --- was a great one, now the phone is working great while still keeping the same performance speeds on the other devices.

May need to get a new router eventually -- hopefully there will be updates to the S4 if that's what's causing the issue, not sure Dlink will release new firmware if it's on their end -- but in the meantime this is a good fix!




Quote:
Originally Posted by crimptool

thank you for this. I have a DLINK ADSL Router and I am having endless issues. I thought it was my router, but now I know its my i9500.

Will a software update resolve this?

9th May 2013, 12:07 AM |#10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnF70

I confirm the same problem with a Samsung S4 and a D-LINK DIR-855.
Setting the cypher type to "TKIP" solves it for Samsung but it breaks it for an older Sony laptop.
Luckily DIR-855 is a dual-AP so I could configure the 2.4GHz band with TKIP only while keeping "TKIP+AES" on the 5GHz band.

Samsung should solve the problem. Spent the evening debugging this

When you connect the laptop it "remembers" the settings used, and probably you just need to change from AES to TKIP in the security settings for the WiFi connection. Same happened to my daughter's computer.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app
9th May 2013, 02:58 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
its a good thing i have verizon's unlimited data, because i happen to have that router lol

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes