5,606,722 Members 37,625 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S4 WiFi problem with Dlink

Tip us?
 
brochs
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 80
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Galaxy S4 WiFi problem with Dlink

Hi,

I have been experementing with my SGS4 and my Dlink DIR-655 router (used as access point). I find the problem comes from WPA with AES. Changing settings to TKIP only, and everything works just fine. Only problem is my computer don't get n speed using TKIP. Guess the Dlink is ready for the dustbin now. Have tried several firmwares for the router, all with the same problem. If the fault lays with Dlink or Samsung I don't know, but the S4 is the first to have these problems.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to brochs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tangyoulei
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brochs View Post
Hi,

I have been experementing with my SGS4 and my Dlink DIR-655 router (used as access point). I find the problem comes from WPA with AES. Changing settings to TKIP only, and everything works just fine. Only problem is my computer don't get n speed using TKIP. Guess the Dlink is ready for the dustbin now. Have tried several firmwares for the router, all with the same problem. If the fault lays with Dlink or Samsung I don't know, but the S4 is the first to have these problems.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app
Yeah, have the same issue here. It's annoying cause I have to keep using data plan even after I get home.
 
EnF70
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 54
Join Date: Jun 2008
I confirm the same problem with a Samsung S4 and a D-LINK DIR-855.
Setting the cypher type to "TKIP" solves it for Samsung but it breaks it for an older Sony laptop.
Luckily DIR-855 is a dual-AP so I could configure the 2.4GHz band with TKIP only while keeping "TKIP+AES" on the 5GHz band.

Samsung should solve the problem. Spent the evening debugging this
 
eshomsky
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Well at least I can stop banging my head on the wall, same problem with a DIR-655. The router keeps locking up, even on a wired connection I can't get anywhere until I turn off the wifi on the GS4.
 
Doctor Yes
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnF70 View Post
I confirm the same problem with a Samsung S4 and a D-LINK DIR-855.
Setting the cypher type to "TKIP" solves it for Samsung but it breaks it for an older Sony laptop.
Luckily DIR-855 is a dual-AP so I could configure the 2.4GHz band with TKIP only while keeping "TKIP+AES" on the 5GHz band.

Samsung should solve the problem. Spent the evening debugging this
You can also use the guest zone on your 855 to solve that problem. Then you can keep your 5GHz band on AES+TKIP
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Doctor Yes For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EnF70
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 54
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Yes View Post
You can also use the guest zone on your 855 to solve that problem. Then you can keep your 5GHz band on AES+TKIP
Nice. Thanks for the suggestion
I've never used the guest zones but they work well with TKIP albeit at only 54Mbps.
Also enabled routing between zones so I can access other devices on the internal network.
DIR-855 is such a versatile router.
The Following User Says Thank You to EnF70 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xgutterratx
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 75
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default problem but with a motorolla AP300

i also have a wifi connection problem but with a motorolla AP300 running through a RFS4000 enterprise wireless controller.

can connect to other networks with out issue.

this is the error report from the router.

12:52:26 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:52:04 2013: %CC-4-FUZZING-INVALID-MANAGEMENT-FRAME: MU CC-3A-61-92-1A-74. Filtering for 0 seconds
May 08 12:51:06 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:45:04 2013: %CC-4-FUZZING-INVALID-MANAGEMENT-FRAME: MU CC-3A-61-92-1A-74. Filtering for 0 seconds
May 08 12:44:32 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:29 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 3 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:25 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:22 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:18 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:15 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:11 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:07 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 3 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:04 2013: %CC-4-FUZZING-INVALID-MANAGEMENT-FRAME: MU CC-3A-61-92-1A-74. Filtering for 0 seconds
May 08 12:44:04 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 1 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169
May 08 12:44:00 2013: %CC-4-STATIONSSIDERR: Station CC-3A-61-92-1A-74 denied association to radio 5 : 2 Byte MU capability field is 5169

We are on WPA/WPA2-TKIP

have tried changing this and still could not connect.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xgutterratx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crimptool
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cape Town
Quote:
Originally Posted by brochs View Post
Hi,

I have been experementing with my SGS4 and my Dlink DIR-655 router (used as access point). I find the problem comes from WPA with AES. Changing settings to TKIP only, and everything works just fine. Only problem is my computer don't get n speed using TKIP. Guess the Dlink is ready for the dustbin now. Have tried several firmwares for the router, all with the same problem. If the fault lays with Dlink or Samsung I don't know, but the S4 is the first to have these problems.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app
thank you for this. I have a DLINK ADSL Router and I am having endless issues. I thought it was my router, but now I know its my i9500.

Will a software update resolve this?
 
arkitekt1
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thumbs up Having the same issues -- with Dlink DIR-655

Making some changes mentioned here got everything working well on the phone but obviously ended up slowing down overall performance for other devices (i.e. Apple TV) --- but the idea to use a guest zone (which can also be set to route between zones) --- was a great one, now the phone is working great while still keeping the same performance speeds on the other devices.

May need to get a new router eventually -- hopefully there will be updates to the S4 if that's what's causing the issue, not sure Dlink will release new firmware if it's on their end -- but in the meantime this is a good fix!




Quote:
Originally Posted by crimptool View Post
thank you for this. I have a DLINK ADSL Router and I am having endless issues. I thought it was my router, but now I know its my i9500.

Will a software update resolve this?
 
brochs
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 80
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnF70 View Post
I confirm the same problem with a Samsung S4 and a D-LINK DIR-855.
Setting the cypher type to "TKIP" solves it for Samsung but it breaks it for an older Sony laptop.
Luckily DIR-855 is a dual-AP so I could configure the 2.4GHz band with TKIP only while keeping "TKIP+AES" on the 5GHz band.

Samsung should solve the problem. Spent the evening debugging this
When you connect the laptop it "remembers" the settings used, and probably you just need to change from AES to TKIP in the security settings for the WiFi connection. Same happened to my daughter's computer.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes