Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,914 Members 49,336 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Acer Iconia B1 A71 Root

Tip us?
 
entonjackson
Old
#451  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 941
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Acer released a Fix for the Invalid Partition Error.
Everyone, unable to update their device should try the apk.

Download it here, install it. Run it, click on "FixG1PMT" and uninstall the app, after procedure is done.
Good luck!
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

 
paugustin
Old
#452  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Paris
Hi,

Is the bootloader of the B1 still unlockable ?

A dev (zelea2) over at modaco was able to build a method to unlock the bootloader of the Acer cloudmobile (Dual Carrier version that was still unlockable). He's work is really clever and he thinks this might work with other Acer devices (as is or with minor tweaks).
In order to minimize the risk he built a test routine that you can safely run to see if your device would positively react to the unlocking process.

Here is the topic : http://www.modaco.com/topic/362993-p...nlock-8260a-1/

And here is the method :

Quote:
Here is what I've done. I have mimicked a kernel image but only
my little ARM code is executed. I have included the sources so you can see I don't do anything sinister.
The bootloader loads the kernel in RAM at address 0x80208000 and passes execution at that address without
erasing itself from memory. I'm searching in the bootloader space the partition table copy, a printf function
and a write_aboot function which actually writes the copy to flash. Once I've found all these I simply let
the bootloader functions do the work and unlock the phone.

There are 2 images included: test-only which only searches for functions and if everything is found it
prints the addresses and some messages; the unlock-cloudmobile is the real thing.

I have already tried it on my phone and it seems to work but my phone is already unlocked.
So just run first 'fastboot boot test-only.img' - this image doesn't change anything in your
phone just prints its status. If all the messages are displayed then you can try the unlock code
with 'fastboot boot unlock-cloudmobile.img' You will have to take the battery out after this because
I haven't bothered to understand how to read buttons or restart the bootloader so I simply halt
the processor once I'm done.
If any dev on the B1 can advise wether this might work or not. I don't own a B1 so can't try myslef bu I thought this would be worth a shot.

If it works, all thanks goes to zelea2
 
pawitp
Old
#453  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 17276
Posts: 3,046
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bangkok
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson View Post
Acer released a Fix for the Invalid Partition Error.
Everyone, unable to update their device should try the apk.

Download it here, install it. Run it, click on "FixG1PMT" and uninstall the app, after procedure is done.
Good luck!
For future reference, it works by installing a new partition table.

Code:
dd if=pmtdump of=/dev/block/mmcblk0 obs=4096 seek=8
Quote:
Originally Posted by paugustin View Post
Hi,

Is the bootloader of the B1 still unlockable ?

A dev (zelea2) over at modaco was able to build a method to unlock the bootloader of the Acer cloudmobile (Dual Carrier version that was still unlockable). He's work is really clever and he thinks this might work with other Acer devices (as is or with minor tweaks).
In order to minimize the risk he built a test routine that you can safely run to see if your device would positively react to the unlocking process.

Here is the topic : http://www.modaco.com/topic/362993-p...nlock-8260a-1/

And here is the method :



If any dev on the B1 can advise wether this might work or not. I don't own a B1 so can't try myslef bu I thought this would be worth a shot.

If it works, all thanks goes to zelea2
It won't work on B1, that device uses a snapdragon chip, this one uses a mediatek chip.
Please do not use email, PM or use social network to ask for support (use the thread), ask for help on another device (I can't help without access to the device) or recommendation on the "best" device/ROM (I only know about what I use).

If you like my work, please consider donating via PayPal using the address p.pawit [at] gmail.com
(if PayPal says that it is not available, please do not mark the payment as a donation and it will go through)
 
paugustin
Old
#454  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Paris
OK too bad.
 
zhchao
Old
#455  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2010
After root Acer B1 and install CfisManager apk
It seems that doesn't work without a cfis.ko...
anyone knows where to find it?
Thank you!
 
shantusingh
Old
#456  
shantusingh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 575
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Delhi, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson View Post
Acer released a Fix for the Invalid Partition Error.
Everyone, unable to update their device should try the apk.

Download it here, install it. Run it, click on "FixG1PMT" and uninstall the app, after procedure is done.
Good luck!
I did this, still nothing I don't even get like there's an update available on my tablet

I havn't got the RV05RC06 update yet or anything, just still on Acer_AV051_B1-A71_RV05RC05_WW_GEN1

Is it just me or any new update might just not be out yet in India ?!
Don't Forget To Press Thanks

Htc One M7 801n Silver 32 GB
Nexus 7 FHD 2013
Samsung Galaxy Grand I9082
Micromax A110 Canvas 2
 
entonjackson
Old
#457  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 941
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shantusingh View Post
I did this, still nothing I don't even get like there's an update available on my tablet

I havn't got the RV05RC06 update yet or anything, just still on Acer_AV051_B1-A71_RV05RC05_WW_GEN1

Is it just me or any new update might just not be out yet in India ?!
Dude, you're already up to date.
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

 
shantusingh
Old
#458  
shantusingh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 575
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Delhi, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson View Post
Dude, you're already up to date.
Thanks, but then what's RV05RC06 all about ?!
Don't Forget To Press Thanks

Htc One M7 801n Silver 32 GB
Nexus 7 FHD 2013
Samsung Galaxy Grand I9082
Micromax A110 Canvas 2
 
entonjackson
Old
#459  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 941
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shantusingh View Post
Thanks, but then what's RV05RC06 all about ?!
Actually i could put it off the 1st post, because it's some kind of a phantom release. it's the RV05RC05... just the zip file has the name RV05RC06.
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

The Following User Says Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
manepape
Old
#460  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2008
Unhappy Help me

I had rooted my acer icobnia b1 A71 .Now I can't access recovery mode .It goes off after shoosing [SD image Update Mode] <<== .
Thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes