Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,098 Members 46,684 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Tweak] ULTIMATE!! aGPS cab (GOOGLE or NOKIA server!) Generic UPDATE 06/08/10!

Tip us?
 
fone_fanatic
Old
(Last edited by fone_fanatic; 9th June 2010 at 08:14 PM.) Reason: Re-attached nokia and updated google supl cab
#1  
fone_fanatic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 2,735
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Central Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Cool [Tweak] ULTIMATE!! aGPS cab (GOOGLE or NOKIA server!) Generic UPDATE 06/08/10!

UPDATED TO USE GOOGLE SUPL 3/30/10!

What people are saying:


Quote:
Originally Posted by patcat007 View Post
I must say this is one of the most useful cabs floating around. The GPS locks in about 5 secs. Its almost as if Big Brother is watching you. Thank you Fone Fanatic your cab was of great help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by allthatinny View Post
after installing this my locks were almost instantly, seems like this is the cure for all our GPS problem...




Here is my own aGPS settings cab.
Created originally for my Raphael, but works perfectly fine on my Rhodium (Touch Pro 2) and should work on any other WM6.1/5 aGPS capable device.

This replaces the default aGPS server to the one GOOGLE aGPS server. This has been found to dramaticaly increase GPS lock speed! After applying this cab i get cold Locks in about 20 seconds and warm gps lock in under 15!

Don't be scared to try it out as its easy to revert to defualt settings!

Try it out and report your results!

I created this so I can just add it to my UC list making life easier in setting up a rom after flashing and thought others might benefit from it.
Feel free to comment, hate, or appreciate

If there is a demand, i can easily delete the At&t bit and so its more generic, also if you want this adapted for your provider, reply with your APN and GPRSConnection and i can create the cab for you

It sets the following in the [HKLM\Software\HTC\SUPL aGPS\] Registry

DynamicURL to supl.google.com (searched on the internet and many people claim much faster locks than the default h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org)
EnableAGPS 1 (so aGPS is enabled in settings)
EnableLocInfo 0 Unchecks "Enable AGPS loation information to network services. Operator can get your location information." From the Privacy tab of the AGPS Settings
ServerIP to 74.125.113.192
ServerURL and TLSHostName to supl.google.com
Decided to just make a Generic one that sets the nokia aGPS server, enables aGPS, disables Location info and no network configuration.

[UPDATE: The cabs are the SAME as the previous ones titled FF ATT/Fido/Generic Nokia aGPS Settings, I just changed Nokia to Ultimate because I was getting PMs on how to install them on nokia devices]

update 3/30/10: updated the cabs to use the google supl which is provided on android devices!

There is no need for carrier specific settings, they should automaticly fill in from info already on your device. If you go to HKLM\Software\HTC\SUPL aGPS\ and APN, Network, and GPRSConnection are empty after you've installed the cab and soft reseted, then post here and i will make carrier specific cabs.

[06/08/2010] Re-attached the supl.nokia cab as requested. Please test and compare to the newly attached "FF Ultimate aGPS Tweak_supl.google_Generic.cab" and report your results.

When i ping supl.nokia.com requests time out leading me to believe nokia's servers are down, or they changed them to something else.

With FF Ultimate aGPS Tweak_suple.google_Generic.cab i get a lock in under 15seconds, even after hard reset!!

| Magician | Wizard | Hermes | Kaiser | Raphael | Rhodium | Dell STREAK (sorry HTC )
__________________
Dell Streak MO1M
Streakdroid v161-1

__________________
Streak Boot Animations: Stock , Bios & Scribble
The Following User Says Thank You to fone_fanatic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
breezethrusd
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2008
does this speed up gps pick up time?
 
fone_fanatic
Old
#3  
fone_fanatic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 2,735
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Central Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by breezethrusd View Post
does this speed up gps pick up time?
Quote:
Originally Posted by fone_fanatic View Post
DynamicURL to supl.nokia.com (searched on the internet and many people claim much faster locks than the default h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org)
..........
| Magician | Wizard | Hermes | Kaiser | Raphael | Rhodium | Dell STREAK (sorry HTC )
__________________
Dell Streak MO1M
Streakdroid v161-1

__________________
Streak Boot Animations: Stock , Bios & Scribble
 
finch
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 143
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario - Just north of GTA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fone_fanatic View Post
Here is my own aGPS settings cab. Which does the following.
I created this so I can just add it to my UC list making life easier in setting up a rom after flashing and thought others might benefit from it.
Feel free to comment, hate, or appreciate

If there is a demand, i can easily delete the At&t bit and so its more generic, also if you want this adapted for your provider, reply with your APN and GPRSConnection and i can create the cab for you

It sets the following in the [HKLM\Software\HTC\SUPL aGPS\] Registry
APN to wap.cingular
DynamicURL to supl.nokia.com (searched on the internet and many people claim much faster locks than the default h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org)
EnableAGPS 1 (so aGPS is enabled in settings)
EnableLocInfo 0 Unchecks "Enable AGPS loation information to network services. Operator can get your location information." From the Privacy tab of the AGPS Settings
GPRSConnection and Network to MEdia Net
ServerIP to 66.35.236.25
ServerURL and TLSHostName to supl.nokia.com
I would really appreciate a cab for Fido.

APN internet.fido.ca

All I put for internconnection is

Name fido
apn internet.fido.ca
user fido
pass fido

Let me know if you require anything else.
Current Device: Samsung SGS III I9300

Previous WM Devices:
Device Info -
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000 - Wore it in the pool.
HTC Desire HD - Finally Thanks Telus
Dell Streak
Samsung Galaxy S
Iphone 4 (1 day gave to the wife)
HTC HD2
Iphone 3GS (5 days gave to the wife)
HTC TOUCH PRO 2
HTC TOUCH PRO
HTC TYTN II
HTC TYTN
K-Jam
HTC Blue Angel
 
fone_fanatic
Old
#5  
fone_fanatic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 2,735
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Central Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by finch View Post
I would really appreciate a cab for Fido.

APN internet.fido.ca

All I put for internconnection is

Name fido
apn internet.fido.ca
user fido
pass fido

Let me know if you require anything else.
check first post, and don't know if it'll make a difference or not but set it to the connection name to Fido, capital F
| Magician | Wizard | Hermes | Kaiser | Raphael | Rhodium | Dell STREAK (sorry HTC )
__________________
Dell Streak MO1M
Streakdroid v161-1

__________________
Streak Boot Animations: Stock , Bios & Scribble
 
Xaaran
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Thumbs up Great work!

Pure awesomeness!
If you could, please make Rogers or unbranded version of this greatness!
 
fone_fanatic
Old
#7  
fone_fanatic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 2,735
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Central Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaaran View Post
Pure awesomeness!
If you could, please make Rogers or unbranded version of this greatness!
Generic/unbranded version added to first post!
| Magician | Wizard | Hermes | Kaiser | Raphael | Rhodium | Dell STREAK (sorry HTC )
__________________
Dell Streak MO1M
Streakdroid v161-1

__________________
Streak Boot Animations: Stock , Bios & Scribble
 
finch
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 143
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario - Just north of GTA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fone_fanatic View Post
check first post, and don't know if it'll make a difference or not but set it to the connection name to Fido, capital F

Thanks a million!
Current Device: Samsung SGS III I9300

Previous WM Devices:
Device Info -
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000 - Wore it in the pool.
HTC Desire HD - Finally Thanks Telus
Dell Streak
Samsung Galaxy S
Iphone 4 (1 day gave to the wife)
HTC HD2
Iphone 3GS (5 days gave to the wife)
HTC TOUCH PRO 2
HTC TOUCH PRO
HTC TYTN II
HTC TYTN
K-Jam
HTC Blue Angel
 
allthatinny
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 246
Join Date: Oct 2006
after installing this my locks were almost instantly, seems like this is the cure for all our GPS problem, i also got FusionGPS installed to get a lock after i soft reset my phone and i get looks btw 20-30 sec out door and 30-80 sec indoor
 
tjex
Old
#10  
tjex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 246
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Quote:
Originally Posted by finch View Post
I would really appreciate a cab for Fido.

APN internet.fido.ca

All I put for internconnection is

Name fido
apn internet.fido.ca
user fido
pass fido

Let me know if you require anything else.
Finch, did you try the cab? what's the feedback on it working with Fido?

Now only thing left is to find a way to trick the phone into thinking it's on Roger's instead of Fido and get rid of that roaming problem.

..

Tags
agps
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...