Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[guide]Package Installer will not install apk's - Cancel works but not Install button

OP lsauer

15th December 2012, 09:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
I practically ran into the same problem as outlined above. Since googling for this issue was not straightforward, I thought it wise to make the answer to this issue into a micro-guide.

Quote:

I can no longer install apps (apk's) from the Amazon App Store, or from downloaded apk files, but the market works fine.
I am not rooted, and I am still running 3.2 (US). This started in the last few days, but I can't think of anything that I have done.
I cold booted, but I still get the same results; The install dialog box comes up with the options at the bottom "Install" or "Cancel", however, install does nothing, the window is active because you can press "Show All", or "Cancel" and those do work, but not "Install". I can't think of anything that I have overlooked.
Any Ideas?

http://www.transformerforums.com/for...tall-apks.html

The most a) likely solution comes in the form of b) security applications interfering with the installation, c) package incompatibility with the device or screen filter applications used to lower the device's brightness below the minimal limit of the Brightness settings.

In my case it was the application "Lux" which was to blame. Thus make sure to untick "stay alive in the "generals" option menu. And kill the Lux app. Now installation proceeds unhindered. Avast was not at fault. So don't freak,- often the solutions are trivial - finding the answers isn't.


Thanks to anyone who contributed in the original thread and to xda.
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to lsauer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2013, 09:28 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Oh man, thanks for this! For me, it was the app 'Screen Adjuster' that was blocking apps from being installed. I turned that off, and I finally have an ad blocker again!

Droid Razr xt910 for the record.
The Following User Says Thank You to billyhoyle13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2013, 05:59 AM   |  #3  
guravravi's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Re: Install apk problem - install button not working
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyhoyle13

Oh man, thanks for this! For me, it was the app 'Screen Adjuster' that was blocking apps from being installed. I turned that off, and I finally have an ad blocker again!

Droid Razr xt910 for the record.


Re: Install apk problem - install button not working
If not already done:

Settings -> Apps -> All -> Package Installer Clear Cache & Data, Force Stop, reboot. If this doesn't work repeat, but reboot into recovery and wipe the cache partition.

Still having issues try AppInstaller. Still having issues, there must be a bad system app (frameworks?) that needs clearing and force closed.

100% work
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to guravravi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st June 2013, 03:16 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Coimbatore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Thank you so much! I was about to tear my hair out in frustration! I had tried everything! But this never occured to me.
21st June 2013, 10:13 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 7
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
I had this inssue too. It's problem with apps which work in background and creating some overlay elements. Disable all this apps and than you can install normally. I had this problem on P.A.C. Rom, after addition of HALO

Sorry for my bad english
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to invidian1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2013, 04:54 PM   |  #6  
kill_dano's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Was having trouble installing APKs. The 'install' button was not working. Turning off halo fixed problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to kill_dano For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th July 2013, 07:57 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Another app causing the issue
Velis Auto brightness.

Too bad, because I liked this app. If anyone knows of an app like that that does not cause the issue, I would appreciate the name.

Zarlof
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zarlof For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th July 2013, 08:51 PM   |  #8  
ashis.kyal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 77
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarlof

Velis Auto brightness.

Too bad, because I liked this app. If anyone knows of an app like that that does not cause the issue, I would appreciate the name.

Zarlof

Thanks deleted the velis brightness and it worked on my Xperia sp
28th August 2013, 02:06 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
thanks. this happened to me as well. stopped using one of the brightness apps and its back to normal.
The Following User Says Thank You to Shriac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th September 2013, 09:39 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 8
 
455 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
I have the same problem, but I have no programs listed.
I tried to disable the automatic brightness control Sony, the Sony Bravia mode, the interactive lockscreen (DashWidget) LightFlow, ....
But it's the same
I can not find what apply blocks installation

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
apk, filter, installer, screen, security
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes