How to backup/restore EFS in GALAXY S4 9500?

Search This thread

samersh72

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2012
3,572
7,472
51
GB
meettomy.site

for I9500 ONLY

download terminal emulator to your I9500. open it and type (enter, after each command)
for backup:
Code:
su
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin

to restore if something goes wrong :
Code:
su
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6

NB Beware! make sure you type it exactly!
 
Last edited:

Squiddo

Member
May 3, 2012
15
1
for I9500 ONLY

download terminal emulator to your I9500. open it and type (enter, after each command)
for backup:
Code:
su
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin

to restore if something goes wrong :
Code:
su
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6

NB Beware! make sure you type it exactly!

Will this also work for the I9505 model of the Galaxy S4? I've attempted to run /efs backups using the terminal emulator (with root access) with a different set of commands, but I keep getting the error message "tar: not found"...
 

mahanddeem

Senior Member
Nov 13, 2011
1,213
122
for I9500 ONLY

download terminal emulator to your I9500. open it and type (enter, after each command)
for backup:
Code:
su
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin

to restore if something goes wrong :
Code:
su
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6

NB Beware! make sure you type it exactly!

dd command is great for that purpose... Actually it can backup any partition... I would do them all and store them in my hard drive...
 

littmanr

Member
Jul 26, 2010
13
1
Please post upload EFS!!

I cant to boot complete!!! EFS Invalid Argument... please upload your backup brother for to test with me....I need that sdcard/efs.img

Regards
 

daogiahieu

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2013
636
145
You can use cwm or simple is flash some rom which can backup efs as crash, phoenix,etc

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk 4
 

samersh72

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2012
3,572
7,472
51
GB
meettomy.site
please help even after using terminal emulator my s4(i9500) is not registering to network. i have already backed up my efs using emulator but after flashing another rom & restoring via android terminal my phones not working. what to do now?

On what rom, firmware you are now? And what did you flash?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mostsh and ranalab

shahriarthe1

Member
Aug 16, 2013
18
1
On what rom, firmware you are now? And what did you flash?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

let me explain in details.....i flashed MH1 few days ago, after then i flashed back to my previous MG5 firmware & lost my IMEI. anyway when i flashed MH1 again & my IMEI was back again, then i backed up EFS using android terminal & andromizer both. then i flashed back to MG5 & restored the EFS but stil failed to got my IMEI so (not registered to any network starts again) really help me somebody?
 

samersh72

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2012
3,572
7,472
51
GB
meettomy.site
let me explain in details.....i flashed MH1 few days ago, after then i flashed back to my previous MG5 firmware & lost my IMEI. anyway when i flashed MH1 again & my IMEI was back again, then i backed up EFS using android terminal & andromizer both. then i flashed back to MG5 & restored the EFS but stil failed to got my IMEI so (not registered to any network starts again) really help me somebody?

efs is fine, but it is just not detected.
i guess you can not downgrade.
flash MG9 modem twice as "phone" with odin http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2192025 (first flash untick "auto-reboot" when it pass, remove battery, insert it, re-flash modem)
 

shahriarthe1

Member
Aug 16, 2013
18
1
efs is fine, but it is just not detected.
i guess you can not downgrade.
flash MG9 modem twice as "phone" with odin http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2192025 (first flash untick "auto-reboot" when it pass, remove battery, insert it, re-flash modem)

thanks for all the help :)
What to do if i want to upgrade? why do i have to flash mg9 modem since i already have the IMEI intact in my MH1? sorry i'm kinda noob at this.
what will happen if i flash MG9 modem?

please answer :)
 

samersh72

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2012
3,572
7,472
51
GB
meettomy.site
thanks for all the help :)
What to do if i want to upgrade? why do i have to flash mg9 modem since i already have the IMEI intact in my MH1? sorry i'm kinda noob at this.
what will happen if i flash MG9 modem?

please answer :)

sometimes efs partition is not detected when moving from new to old modem.
so if you flash a newer modem, efs will be detected.
you are moving from MH1 to MG5, from new to old so you need a newer modem to read efs partition.
you can flash MH1 modem or other new modem, but MG9 is working fine and tested with newer firmware
why would you revert to MG5 and not still on MH1?
 

shahriarthe1

Member
Aug 16, 2013
18
1
sometimes efs partition is not detected when moving from new to old modem.
so if you flash a newer modem, efs will be detected.
you are moving from MH1 to MG5, from new to old so you need a newer modem to read efs partition.
you can flash MH1 modem or other new modem, but MG9 is working fine and tested with newer firmware
why would you revert to MG5 and not still on MH1?

thanks a ton...now i understand. I tried back to MG5 coz i didnt like "claro" to be shown up every time i reboot. :p
What if i try flashing a new rom? will it detect my modem? i already tried MH2 (correct me if i'm wrong. isnt it upgraded than MH1) & failed.
 

samersh72

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2012
3,572
7,472
51
GB
meettomy.site
thanks a ton...now i understand. I tried back to MG5 coz i didnt like "claro" to be shown up every time i reboot. :p
What if i try flashing a new rom? will it detect my modem? i already tried MH2 (correct me if i'm wrong. isnt it upgraded than MH1) & failed.

usually it must work. and as i said earlier, it happen sometimes. (moving from new to old and sometimes vice versa)
you have always the option of flashing the new modem (twice) of the new firmware alone when efs is not detected.
people think that efs partition is corrupted but in fact it is not detected
 

shahriarthe1

Member
Aug 16, 2013
18
1
usually it must work. and as i said earlier, it happen sometimes. (moving from new to old and sometimes vice versa)
you have always the option of flashing the new modem (twice) of the new firmware alone when efs is not detected.
people think that efs partition is corrupted but in fact it is not detected

it worked!!!! thanks.....
learned a lot from you & hope to learn more in the coming future.... :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: samersh72

taran181

Senior Member
Apr 14, 2012
290
249
Ludhiana
for I9500 ONLY

download terminal emulator to your I9500. open it and type (enter, after each command)
for backup:
Code:
su
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin

to restore if something goes wrong :
Code:
su
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6

NB Beware! make sure you type it exactly!

Does this work for the Latest Indian firmware???
 
  • Like
Reactions: vasu1

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 18

    for I9500 ONLY

    download terminal emulator to your I9500. open it and type (enter, after each command)
    for backup:
    Code:
    su
    dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img
    dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin
    dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin
    dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 of=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin

    to restore if something goes wrong :
    Code:
    su
    dd if=/mnt/sdcard/efs.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
    dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs1.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4
    dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs2.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5
    dd if=/mnt/sdcard/m9kefs3.bin of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6

    NB Beware! make sure you type it exactly!
    3
    thanks a ton...now i understand. I tried back to MG5 coz i didnt like "claro" to be shown up every time i reboot. :p
    What if i try flashing a new rom? will it detect my modem? i already tried MH2 (correct me if i'm wrong. isnt it upgraded than MH1) & failed.

    usually it must work. and as i said earlier, it happen sometimes. (moving from new to old and sometimes vice versa)
    you have always the option of flashing the new modem (twice) of the new firmware alone when efs is not detected.
    people think that efs partition is corrupted but in fact it is not detected
    3
    thanks for all the help :)
    What to do if i want to upgrade? why do i have to flash mg9 modem since i already have the IMEI intact in my MH1? sorry i'm kinda noob at this.
    what will happen if i flash MG9 modem?

    please answer :)

    sometimes efs partition is not detected when moving from new to old modem.
    so if you flash a newer modem, efs will be detected.
    you are moving from MH1 to MG5, from new to old so you need a newer modem to read efs partition.
    you can flash MH1 modem or other new modem, but MG9 is working fine and tested with newer firmware
    why would you revert to MG5 and not still on MH1?
    3
    let me explain in details.....i flashed MH1 few days ago, after then i flashed back to my previous MG5 firmware & lost my IMEI. anyway when i flashed MH1 again & my IMEI was back again, then i backed up EFS using android terminal & andromizer both. then i flashed back to MG5 & restored the EFS but stil failed to got my IMEI so (not registered to any network starts again) really help me somebody?

    efs is fine, but it is just not detected.
    i guess you can not downgrade.
    flash MG9 modem twice as "phone" with odin http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2192025 (first flash untick "auto-reboot" when it pass, remove battery, insert it, re-flash modem)
    2
    To do terminal emulator trick root is needed?

    Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

    yes you need root to use terminal emulator