Post Reply

Bricked my MyTouch? I hope not.

30th July 2013, 04:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Recently I posted a thread here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3047&nocache=1 And he said that this forum wasnt the correct forum. So now I am posting here the exact thread hoping you guys can help me out with this. I havent touched my phone in a while and forgot a lot of the steps I took, I just remember what I put into this thread. So if anyone could help me out, that would be awesome.

Well recently I was trying to root my Mytouch 4g Slide and ACCORDING to this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1801106
All I had to do was flash the custom ROM as it would have the root already in there.
Quote:

-6. ROOT YOUR DEVICE.-
Now that you have a custom recovery, you can flash custom ROMs. These custom ROMs are already rooted with Superuser and binary files.

NOTE: If you are S-ON, installing a custom ICS ROM will require an extra step in fastboot. You will have to extract the “boot.img” from the ROM and flash it with fastboot after installing the ROM in CWM recovery. More information from Limewirelord.

HOWEVER, if you want to root the STOCK ROM and/or continue to step 7 to achieve JuopunutBear S-OFF, you’ll have to root the device yourself. This is very simple. Download Superuser ZIP from androidsu.com/superuser. I can only recommend version 3.0.7 efgh because that is the only one I have tested, but newer versions may work.

Place the “Superuser-3.0.7-efgh-signed” on the ROOT of your SD card. Go to CWM Recovery and use “install zip from sdcard” to flash the Superuser zip. If installation aborts or fails the first time, try to flash the zip again until installation is complete. Reboot your phone and check in your apps to see if Superuser app is there. If so, congratulations, you have successfully rooted your stock MT4GS!

Which I did.
I was using this kids download tools to get the files I wanted. So I extracted the boot.img and used this tutorial to flash it for me.

THAN I ran a back up in clockwork. I haven't put the files on my SD card yet, I was just jumping ahead and was not prepared.
So I tried to go back to my phones regular state, but it is stuck on the "MyTouch 4G" splash pages, doesn't move what so ever.
I than grew worried about the phone, and thought I just bricked it or something. I am still able to get into Clockwork and do stuff in it. I tried to do a restore from my backup, didnt work. Tried wiping everything then do the backup, didnt work.
So I said, well maybe its because its a custom boot.img or something and it doesnt want to work? Luckily I had a old Mytouch 3G laying around so I could put stuff on my SD card.
So I put everything the kid provided from his mediafire folder and placed it into the root of my SD card. Switched over to the 4G and tried to install the packages.
The first was the ROM. At first it didnt work, it gave me an error:
Code:
assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "glacier" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "glacier"
By googling the error, I come to this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2250785

And a few posts down, a person writes this:
Quote:

Step 1.Open the ROM.zip with winrar
Step 2.Found \META-INF\com\google\android\updater-script ,use Notepad open
Step 3.delete assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "p880" ||
getprop("ro.build.product") == "p880");
Step 4.OK,safe

I followed those steps, and it did work. It "Installed" this time.
I followed the rest of the steps until it got to the last package. When installing "grapefruit" my phones display shut off, and then when it went back on, I was back at the beginning of Clockwork. So I went and tried to install it again, and this time it gives me a (Status 0) error, with no other information.
I assumed that it was already installed or something, and it was just saying it is already installed.
I tried to reboot back to normal and I am still stuck where it says "Mytouch 4g"

So now I am on this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1844910
And there are the download links, I click on both of them to get this:


And now I am here. Cant find the download for this dang it file.

Anything helpful will be greatly appreciated.

-----

TL;DR: Im stuck at the "MyTouch 4g" splash page. I can get into CWM mod fine. It is S-ON. Halp.
30th July 2013, 04:59 AM   |  #2  
demkantor's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag mpls
Thanks Meter: 2,799
 
5,837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
You are lucky your phone still boots!
Do right now you have been trying to put software and firmware from the mytouch 4g onto the mytouch 4g slide, is this correct? Your phone has a keyboard and is made by HTC correct?
If so hopefully all you need to do is flash a proper recovery and then a ROM (and possible use fastboot to flash kernel)
Will you boot into your bootloader and write down every word line for line here

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to demkantor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2013, 05:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by demkantor

You are lucky your phone still boots!
Do right now you have been trying to put software and firmware from the mytouch 4g onto the mytouch 4g slide, is this correct? Your phone has a keyboard and is made by HTC correct?
If so hopefully all you need to do is flash a proper recovery and then a ROM (and possible use fastboot to flash kernel)
Will you boot into your bootloader and write down every word line for line here

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium

*** UNLOCKED ***
DOUBLESHOT PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-1.45.0013
MICROP-0353
eMMC-boot
Nov 21 2011,20:20:47

I didnt realy understand your first question, sorry.
Yes It does have a keyboard, if its made by HTC, I have no clue. It says HTC on the back, but imsure all MyTouches are made by HTC.
I wrote what it said in the bootloader up there. CWM is installed but I dont know where to get the stock ROM nor do I know how to install it at this point.

Thanks again for your support.
30th July 2013, 05:48 AM   |  #4  
demkantor's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag mpls
Thanks Meter: 2,799
 
5,837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Not all mytouches are made by HTC
So go to the dev forum here, grab a proper recovery (there are a few to pick from)
Pick a ROM
Use fastboot to erase all
fastboot erase system -w
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase recovery

Now flash recovery
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
(Replace recovery.img as needed)
Now boot to new recovery
Flash ROM (and gapps if needed)
Extract kernel from ROM you flashed
Reboot to bootloader and flash kernel
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot reboot

This should fix your phone up, check the stickies in development and general section for more help
If you get really stuck feel free to ask
Best of luck!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to demkantor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2013, 08:08 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by demkantor

Not all mytouches are made by HTC
So go to the dev forum here, grab a proper recovery (there are a few to pick from)
Pick a ROM
Use fastboot to erase all
fastboot erase system -w
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase recovery

Now flash recovery
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
(Replace recovery.img as needed)
Now boot to new recovery
Flash ROM (and gapps if needed)
Extract kernel from ROM you flashed
Reboot to bootloader and flash kernel
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot reboot

This should fix your phone up, check the stickies in development and general section for more help
If you get really stuck feel free to ask
Best of luck!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium

Would any ROM do? Is there any you recommend?

Im assuming since we are typing things in, we are doing this first part inside of cmdprompt on the computer.

Also can you give me more detailed steps for that last part? I dont fully understand the process.

Thanks again
30th July 2013, 08:51 PM   |  #6  
demkantor's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag mpls
Thanks Meter: 2,799
 
5,837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I'm not in the business of recommending ROMs, but yes any will do if you follow the steps in previous post

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=41374534
Here's a guide on fastboot that should help you further. Be careful with your phone, too many people here rooting is amazing and all androids need to be rooted. Truth is too many people brick their phone because they aren't willing to do a little homework first. So please read up, if you don't understand something search for an answer, if your still confused then ask here

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to demkantor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2013, 01:53 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Sorry for the late reply, I just got around to fixing this thing.

I tried to fastboot erase [cmd] But I keep on getting a FAILED (remote: not allowed).
So I ignored it and went on. I tried to flash "cm-10.2-20130810-UNOFFICIAL-doubleshot.zip" in Clockwork and I got a error:
(bad)
Installation aborted.

So I hit a wall again
12th August 2013, 02:54 AM   |  #8  
demkantor's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag mpls
Thanks Meter: 2,799
 
5,837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I have a sneaking feeling the recovery you have is not meant for your phone, will fastboot allow you to flash the recovery (you don't have access to the erase commands I guess but hopefully you can flash a new recovery)
If so flash one that is in these my touch 4g slide forums (in the dev section) then wipe all, then flash this ROM in recovery
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=25186914

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to demkantor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2013, 03:27 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by demkantor

I have a sneaking feeling the recovery you have is not meant for your phone, will fastboot allow you to flash the recovery (you don't have access to the erase commands I guess but hopefully you can flash a new recovery)
If so flash one that is in these my touch 4g slide forums (in the dev section) then wipe all, then flash this ROM in recovery
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=25186914

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium

I have tried to download the ROM from the thread you gave me, but I got a Server not Found error:
12th August 2013, 03:37 AM   |  #10  
demkantor's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag mpls
Thanks Meter: 2,799
 
5,837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Weekends has a mirror thread here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=30280777
Be sure to thank him
Make sure you download gingerbread version so you can skip flashing the kernel with fastboot (in other words only use a stock based ROM now until you get things working, no cm10 or 9, no pa, no anything but stock rooted ROM)

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium

The Following User Says Thank You to demkantor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes