FORUMS

T-Mobile Galaxy S6 Battery Woes

I’ve been using a T-Mobile Galaxy S6 since the device launched with T-mobile’s … more

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

[GUIDE] Pre-Root ROM and Rebuild into Odin Flashable Package!

2,522 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,739
 
By lyriquidperfection, Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator on 19th August 2013, 12:02 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
31st August 2013, 08:12 AM |#21  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,498
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabumba

Thanks!

Why I'm I getting the following error:

bash: ./rebuild_system cannot execute binary file

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zidkijah

I have Linux Mint installed and also have bash installed. And I am also getting the same error........ Suggestions?

Code:
chad@ML-Chad ~/Downloads/pre-root $ ./rebuild_system 
bash: ./rebuild_system: cannot execute binary file

Yeah, it will work ONLY on 64bit Linux.
I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit and it works fine. No issues at all.
Great tool though.
The Following User Says Thank You to DjeMBeY For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
1st September 2013, 05:11 PM |#22  
Senior Member
Flag Bratislava
Thanks Meter: 465
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for this!

I'm on Fedora 19 and successfully rooted my girlfriend's Galaxy Chat (GT-B5330) device with your tool
The Following User Says Thank You to ladislav.heller For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2013, 08:00 AM |#23  
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
I installed Ubuntu 13 64bits and now it works.

I have a question:

During the process of creating the Rom can I replace the entire system/app (and add more apps like cerebrus for example) and system/framework folders for deodex versions of the app/framework? If yes how/when can I do it?


Thanks
5th September 2013, 02:53 AM |#24  
Zidkijah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag O'Fallon, MO
Thanks Meter: 160
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjeMBeY

Yeah, it will work ONLY on 64bit Linux.
I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit and it works fine. No issues at all.
Great tool though.

Yep, It works, I put it on my main box and she ran like a charm........... Thanks!!
5th September 2013, 03:40 AM |#25  
h311sdr0id's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,111
 
Donate to Me
More
Forgot to say:

Thanks for the Guide

:thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:

-h311sdr0id


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to h311sdr0id For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th October 2013, 10:04 PM |#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Thanks a lot for this fabulous tool!

I tried this on the new Samsung HomeSync GT-B9150. Everything went well until flashing the system.img, which failed finally at the end

I also tried other root methods like modifying the boot.img, but once I do it, I can't flash the new boot.tar anymore. Do you think I'm hitting a "locked bootloader" syndrome? Would there be any other explanation ie the format of tar files or img files etc?
21st October 2013, 10:31 AM |#27  
przem00's Avatar
Member
Flag Cracow
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quick question. It is support 4.3 ROMs ?
22nd October 2013, 07:07 PM |#28  
OP Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 2,739
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by przem00

Quick question. It is support 4.3 ROMs ?

No not yet.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
22nd October 2013, 09:12 PM |#29  
Senior Member
Flag Bratislava
Thanks Meter: 465
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi!

Is it possible to make your PreRoot tool Cygwin compatible?
Last edited by ladislav.heller; 22nd October 2013 at 09:13 PM. Reason: :)
3rd November 2013, 09:43 PM |#30  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Does this affect Knox flags?
Hi lyriquidperfection (and others). Thanks upfront for the write up and tooling .

Any idea (or experience) whit this method and the newly Knox flags / environment (on an I9505)? I was caught off-guard with the last update and now I have a knox bootloader and lost root. First try to root again with CF-Auto-Root failed. Had a boot the error 'Upgrade issue ...'. Luckily I found the right odin package. After flashing that the phone was working again, alas without root. So this method seems an option.

Any experiences in this area anybody?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes