Post Reply

[Q] No Sound after flashing a custom ROM, how to find out stock modem?

OP Rzarector

6th November 2013, 01:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Well, I've made a huge mistake not backing up my phone immediately after rooting it and now I have to suffer the consequences for my dumb actions. I didn't think I'd run into much trouble, as I never have with either my Galaxy S3 or Desire HD before that and flashing countless roms.

Well, after rooting my phone with chainfire auto-root, I immediately flashed this rom and it was working fine, until I decided to flash my favorite Android Revolution HD rom.

Immediately after flashing it I received an error and ended up without Wi-Fi, or sound. There was a file posted called Wi-Fi fix, but it didn't work for me after flashing it, trying another modem did help with the WiFi (but still no sound) and it wont let me unlock my SIM.

I'm at a loss here, and not really sure what to do (other than trying to flash all of the modems available for 9505).
6th November 2013, 07:50 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Tried flashing stock firmware through odin, but ended up with a failure to write.

If anyone could share some light on this matter, it would be greatly appreciated.
6th November 2013, 09:18 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 257
 
1,794 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Yes, it happens a lot. On what rom are you excactly?

Can you try this?

1. Make sure you are on modem MJ5
2. Do a full wipe in recovery.
3. Flash this rom http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2372286

According to that chef, you shouldn't need to flash any fixes after.

Or you can just try to flash this kernel. But i'm not sure on what rom you are:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2273437
6th November 2013, 10:32 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I did flash that ROM, and the modem, but it ended up freezing as soon as I opened the phone app and I still had no sound, wifi was working though.
6th November 2013, 11:55 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Ended up flashing I9505XXUDMHB_I9505PHNDMHB_I9505XXUDMHB_HOME.tar.md 5 through odin and that seems to have fixed my problems, phew.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank