FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

[APP][4.0+] Condi (previously Mini Tasker)

143 posts
Thanks Meter: 94
 
By phntm, Senior Member on 20th October 2013, 09:41 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
10th November 2013, 07:35 PM |#41  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karolis

Is the app Android 4.4 KitKat compatible? Seems to work fine for some tasks, but not others. For example, I have a task to turn on wifi when I get home - works fine. Then when my phone is connected to home wifi, there's another task to turn off GPS, set brightness to 0% and turn off mobile data. It does trigger and I can see both brigtness and GPS getting modified for a split second, but then it turns back on. There are no conflicting tasks as no other task touches those settings. I even tried disabling all tasks but that last one - same result.

gps requires root in the current version, hopefully soon it won't once i manage to make an admin service, but for now you can only turn it off using root.
what's happening is: brightness turns down, then the gps fails, and the task turns itself off, which restores the brightness.
The Following User Says Thank You to phntm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
10th November 2013, 07:38 PM |#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phntm

gps requires root in the current version, hopefully soon it won't once i manage to make an admin service, but for now you can only turn it off using root.
what's happening is: brightness turns down, then the gps fails, and the task turns itself off, which restores the brightness.

That would be a perfectly reasonable explanation, but my Nexus 5 is rooted and Condi has permissions for root access :-/

Is there a log I can provide to help solve this?
The Following User Says Thank You to Karolis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2013, 07:48 PM |#43  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karolis

That would be a perfectly reasonable explanation, but my Nexus 5 is rooted and Condi has permissions for root access :-/

Is there a log I can provide to help solve this?

Sure,
First, can you make sure in the root app manager that condi is indeed allowed, and if it has a log - that root was granted around the time it failed.
If that's not the case - any app that exports logcat would be nice - filtered on the keyword minitasker.
You can email them if you prefer not to put it here; contact@kix.co.il
The Following User Says Thank You to phntm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2013, 10:05 PM |#44  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phntm

Sure,
First, can you make sure in the root app manager that condi is indeed allowed, and if it has a log - that root was granted around the time it failed.
If that's not the case - any app that exports logcat would be nice - filtered on the keyword minitasker.
You can email them if you prefer not to put it here; contact@kix.co.il

In the process of producing a log, I've figured out the problem myself. Turns out it was caused by the fact that I have two wireless routers with the same name and they are overlapping. So I can't use SSID or BSSID because as I move around the house, Condi goes nuts.

The only solution is to set a permanent IP for my phone on the router and use that as a condition. It works fine for home, but won't work in the office since we also have a roaming setup there and I have no control over what IP I'll get

Any creative ideas to work around this problem?
The Following User Says Thank You to Karolis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2013, 10:12 PM |#45  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karolis

In the process of producing a log, I've figured out the problem myself. Turns out it was caused by the fact that I have two wireless routers with the same name and they are overlapping. So I can't use SSID or BSSID because as I move around the house, Condi goes nuts.

The only solution is to set a permanent IP for my phone on the router and use that as a condition. It works fine for home, but won't work in the office since we also have a roaming setup there and I have no control over what IP I'll get

Any creative ideas to work around this problem?

ssid should be the same around the house, so that should probably be a good idea.
alternatively location might be a good idea, since it mainly uses wifi to approximate anyway.

next version will address some of the issues that might be causing it to go haywire.
there's going to be a new action queue implementation, and you'll be able to edit "end-actions".
The Following User Says Thank You to phntm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2013, 10:20 PM |#46  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phntm

ssid should be the same around the house, so that should probably be a good idea.
alternatively location might be a good idea, since it mainly uses wifi to approximate anyway.

next version will address some of the issues that might be causing it to go haywire.
there's going to be a new action queue implementation, and you'll be able to edit "end-actions".

I was setting it up based on SSID initially. This is when I noticed the problem. Looks like Android (KitKat anyway) has some funny way of handling wifi roaming.

I'll try using location in conjunction with wifi status, as I do not want to disable GPS/mobile data before I get a chance to get off my bicycle and turn Strava off

Thanks for all your patience and help.
The Following User Says Thank You to Karolis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2013, 10:23 PM |#47  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karolis

I was setting it up based on SSID initially. This is when I noticed the problem. Looks like Android (KitKat anyway) has some funny way of handling wifi roaming.

I'll try using location in conjunction with wifi status, as I do not want to disable GPS/mobile data before I get a chance to get off my bicycle and turn Strava off

Thanks for all your patience and help.

If you use wifi with another condition, it might still go haywire, since the end task is ran when one of them is not true.

I'll do more testing when my nexus 7 will get kitkat. Maybe I'll just add a delay for the end action like in activity recognition.
The Following User Says Thank You to phntm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2013, 10:28 PM |#48  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phntm

If you use wifi with another condition, it might still go haywire, since the end task is ran when one of them is not true.

I'll do more testing when my nexus 7 will get kitkat. Maybe I'll just add a delay for the end action like in activity recognition.

I should have expanded a little more. Here's what seems to work: recognize wifi by 192.168.0.* + location (i.e. home) so that it doesn't trigger if I connect to some network outside home that also happens to have IPs like 192.168.0.4. That way I don't have to know what exact IP I'll be getting, as long as it's within a specific range and location.
The Following User Says Thank You to Karolis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th November 2013, 02:48 PM |#49  
sweetpiggy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Naples
Thanks Meter: 332
 
Donate to Me
More
very simple and usefull app
i'm using from firs release; now i'm testing on KK on n5.

Any chance to add network mode switch? (2g/3g/2g and 3g)

thanks for your work
The Following User Says Thank You to sweetpiggy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2013, 11:39 PM |#50  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffreycat

Hello phntm,

Can you please add your app to the FOSS Android Market F-Droid? The FOSS community is in need of an app like yours (the current alternative, Omnidroid, has not been updated in over 2 years and is pretty much abandonware). I do not have access to Google Play or the Amazon Marketplace so this would be a great boon!

Thanks for your consideration and have a wonderful day!

Do you have a timeline for when you plan on releasing the source code? Sorry to keep nagging.
14th November 2013, 05:51 PM |#51  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I have created an action to turn on auto brightness and notify "ab enabled" when driving or cycling but I don't see a notification either. I don't see anything related to cond.im or minitasker in logcat. When I change the condition to time enabled instead of driving and cycling then auto brightness rule is enabled as expected.
I am using the latest version of condi on a rooted HTC Incredible S that has cm10.2 running. This phone has an accelerometer. Note that I have other rules that disable sensors and mobile data which run fine without any issues. Only the auto brightness has issue. Thanks for any help.

Hi,
We currently don't have a log, but we're gonna add one in version 0.3 which is in the making.
If you have access to logcat (you can install a logcat app, there are a lot of these) you can filter by "cond.im" or "minitasker" to see actions that were ran.
You can add a notification action if you want to debug, in the current version.
The activity recognition does not require GPS. afaik it uses the accelerometer exclusively. It is a black box called Google Play Services and it might change in the future but this is how we observed it right now.
It usually takes a minute or 2 to detect walking / driving.
Again, easiest way is to add a notification action with the brightness.[/QUOTE]
Last edited by aerosmith; 14th November 2013 at 05:55 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, apps, automation, free, tasker
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes