Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,150 Members 44,212 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Port] [APK] KitKat Google Caller ID Dialer

Tip us?
 
taranfx
Old
(Last edited by taranfx; 28th November 2013 at 09:58 AM.)
#1  
taranfx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 205
Posts: 229
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Delhi
Default [Port] [APK] KitKat Google Caller ID Dialer

AOSP KitKat ROMs have a simple phone dialer without Google's Caller ID.



Google Caller ID lets you:
1. search for places, businesses within the dialer
2. Display caller id of businesses when they call you
3. [In 2014] Display caller id of any Google user.

Essentially, a TrueCaller alternative

More about Google caller id https://plus.google.com/photos/+andr...70061497141729

How to Get it.

Pre-requisites:
- Rooted Kitkat AOSP ROM

How to:
1. Copy GoogleDialer.apk into /system/priv-app
2. Change permissions to RW-R--R--
3. Don't delete any other files like Dialer.apk Teleservice.apk, they are required
4. and reboot
Attached Files
File Type: apk GoogleDialer.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.29 MB, 18391 views)
-Taran
Geeknizer | Android next generation | Geek Photography
Complete Guide to Android Smartphone Audiophile
----------------------------------------
Tarandeep on Google+ - Android developer, Audiophile, Photographer
Devices
Nexus 10 with Android 4.4.2 | Xperia Z1 on 4.4.2
The Following 32 Users Say Thank You to taranfx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thanutpong.c
Old
#2  
thanutpong.c's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 60
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangkok
I did follow by instruction on my Note 1 Omni 4.4. After finish call then no button to hangup!!!! Any idea?
N7000
 
shanyel
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 57
Join Date: Oct 2010
same here no dialer menu during call...
The Following User Says Thank You to shanyel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
david279
Old
#4  
david279's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1541
Posts: 5,060
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Orleans

 
DONATE TO ME
DO NOT RENAME THE STOCK DIALER.... 🎄 its will break some stuff

Sent from my One using Tapatalk

------------------------

My G+ Profile

BB PIN: 79807B1C
 
hbbyza
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 91
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Stuttgart
Is it possible to get the new Download app ported too?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
mikdiamon
Old
#6  
mikdiamon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 251
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix
i just installed it on my htc one like a normal apk works fine
The Following User Says Thank You to mikdiamon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
HTC_Phone
Old
#7  
HTC_Phone's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1693
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maryville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikdiamon View Post
i just installed it on my htc one like a normal apk works fine
What are you running?


Devices:
 
HTC One (T-Mobile)
HTC One X (AT&T)
HTC Inspire 4G (AT&T)
HTC Excalibur (T-Mobile)


My Work:
Android File Host


Add Me On:
 
shanyel
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 57
Join Date: Oct 2010
The trick is to leave the dialer as is and add Google dialer in addition. You'll have 2 phones after reboot.
The new dialer will allow you to search businesses.
Didn't check the incoming call functionality though.
BTW, the new dialer is missing the nice statistics tab...

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 
mikdiamon
Old
#9  
mikdiamon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 251
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTC_Phone View Post
What are you running?
[RUU] Google Edition Conversion. 4.4 RUU Zip pre-rooted

with bulletproof kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to mikdiamon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
taranfx
Old
#10  
taranfx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 205
Posts: 229
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanutpong.c View Post
I did follow by instruction on my Note 1 Omni 4.4. After finish call then no button to hangup!!!! Any idea?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shanyel View Post
same here no dialer menu during call...
Omni ROM uses a custom pop-out call-receive screen. It won't work with this ROM. You need vanilla AOSP dialer and phone app which is ideally found in CM 11
-Taran
Geeknizer | Android next generation | Geek Photography
Complete Guide to Android Smartphone Audiophile
----------------------------------------
Tarandeep on Google+ - Android developer, Audiophile, Photographer
Devices
Nexus 10 with Android 4.4.2 | Xperia Z1 on 4.4.2

Tags
google caller id, google dialer, kitkat, port
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes