5,603,920 Members 40,392 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nandroid to external storage?

Tip us?
 
ipguy
Old
#1  
ipguy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 861
Join Date: May 2007
Default Nandroid to external storage?

Hi all

Is there any way to do a nandroid to an external source directly, bypassing the local storage totally,?

I'm not able to dump it locally as I'm almost out of internal storage.
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
(Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 29th November 2013 at 08:14 AM.)
#2  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4468
Posts: 4,413
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipguy View Post
Hi all

Is there any way to do a nandroid to an external source directly, bypassing the local storage totally,?

I'm not able to dump it locally as I'm almost out of internal storage.
Hi,

Yes with an USB OTG cable... And a custom recovery compatible: TWRP or CWM.


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.
 
ipguy
Old
#3  
ipguy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 861
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37 View Post
Hi,

Yes with an USB OTG cable...


Yes, waiting for that to arrive.

Is it possible to just use a standard mini USB cable that's used to charge the phone with TWRP and use my laptop as the external drive ?

Just a thought.
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
(Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 29th November 2013 at 08:19 AM.)
#4  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4468
Posts: 4,413
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipguy View Post
Yes, waiting for that to arrive.

Is it possible to just use a standard mini USB cable that's used to charge the phone with TWRP and use my laptop as the external drive ?

Just a thought.
Good question, I had never thought of that. I don't think..., but I never tried... It would be too easy


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.
 
ipguy
Old
#5  
ipguy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 861
Join Date: May 2007
Does our G2 super OTG with the stock ROM ?
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
#6  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4468
Posts: 4,413
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipguy View Post
Does our G2 super OTG with the stock ROM ?
With stock kernel instead, yes.


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.
 
ipguy
Old
#7  
ipguy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 861
Join Date: May 2007
Sorry, so stock G2 does support OTG?
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
#8  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4468
Posts: 4,413
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipguy View Post
Sorry, so stock G2 does support OTG?
Re yes

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...