5,597,762 Members 36,546 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One X AT&T Stuck in Boot Loop After Flash

Tip us?
 
justein
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default HTC One X AT&T Stuck in Boot Loop After Flash

Hi, my AT&T HTC One X is running CM10.2 with S-ON. However, on boot, sometimes the device puts itself into a boot loop. You then need to reflash the boot.img from the computer to the phone. Is there any way I can stop this? Thanks.
 
timmaaa
Old
#2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4630
Posts: 9,961
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Nope, not with your current setup. If you're s-on you need to flash the boot.img with fastboot every time you flash a ROM. Don't even bother trying to boot into a ROM after flashing it without first flashing the boot.img via fastboot. If it has booted sometimes without flashing the boot.img, it's because the boot.img that was left over from the previous ROM is somewhat compatible with the new ROM you flashed, this is not optimal of course. If you don't want to have to flash the boot.img anymore, get s-off. Having s-off removes the restriction that causes the boot.img to not be flashed in TWRP when flashing the ROM.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

 
justein
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa View Post
Nope, not with your current setup. If you're s-on you need to flash the boot.img with fastboot every time you flash a ROM. Don't even bother trying to boot into a ROM after flashing it without first flashing the boot.img via fastboot. If it has booted sometimes without flashing the boot.img, it's because the boot.img that was left over from the previous ROM is somewhat compatible with the new ROM you flashed, this is not optimal of course. If you don't want to have to flash the boot.img anymore, get s-off. Having s-off removes the restriction that causes the boot.img to not be flashed in TWRP when flashing the ROM.

Sent from my Evita
You misunderstood me. I did flash boot.img and I'm still having boot loops.

Sent from my SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
 
timmaaa
Old
#4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4630
Posts: 9,961
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you read the cm10.2 thread? There have been major problems with getting that ROM to boot recently.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

 
justein
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa View Post
Have you read the cm10.2 thread? There have been major problems with getting that ROM to boot recently.

Sent from my Evita
Where is the CM10.2 thread?

Sent from my SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
 
timmaaa
Old
#6  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4630
Posts: 9,961
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Really? It's in the development section. If you don't even know where the thread is I think I can pretty safely assume you haven't read it. If you're having problems with a ROM please read the ROM thread before cluttering up the forum with an unnecessary new thread. To be honest, recovering from a bootloop is about as simple as it gets, you should know how to do that before beginning to flash ROMs.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more