5,594,564 Members 32,871 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wifi is terrible on b/g/n but okay on a

Tip us?
 
antinymxda
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default [Q] Wifi is terrible on b/g/n but okay on a

So, last week my Note started dropping wifi on my home 802.11g wifi. It was really bad, constant dropping, and when I was connected browsing was futile. The note said it had high signal strength, though.

I opened it up, and disconnected and re-connected the long antenna on the power button side. Didn't help.
I replaced that antenna and the rear cover with a "new" one off ebay. Didn't help.

I did find that I can connect to the work Wifi on 802.11a fairly well. 12-18 Mbs connection.

I also connect to the home wifi just fine if I'm within 2 feet of the AP. So, I presume that the note just can't transmit very well.

What should I do? is there another board or antenna that I should replace? Should I get a new motherboard? if so, where can I find one?
 
antinymxda
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
No one, eh?
 
cliefan
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 197
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kalamazoo

 
DONATE TO ME
Does Wi-Fi work in other areas than your home?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
antinymxda
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliefan View Post
Does Wi-Fi work in other areas than your home?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
It works at my work. But only on 802.11a

I bought a dual band wireless router so I can run 802.11a at home, so now my frustration is only limited to stores and places that on run 802.11b/g

I still want to fix this. I may have to sell the phone and buy a new one.
 
cliefan
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 197
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kalamazoo

 
DONATE TO ME
Interesting... You didn't say whether you've tried a factory reset yet... But I would definitely try that. Also would try using Odin and going back to stock. Does it make a different whether Bluetooth is disabled (b/n and BT are very close in wireless spectrum)?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
antinymxda
Old
(Last edited by antinymxda; 4th December 2013 at 06:58 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliefan View Post
Interesting... You didn't say whether you've tried a factory reset yet... But I would definitely try that. Also would try using Odin and going back to stock. Does it make a different whether Bluetooth is disabled (b/n and BT are very close in wireless spectrum)?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I have done a factory reset. no help. Bluetooth setting doesn't change a thing.
And I'm already stock, well verizon stock.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more