5,598,171 Members 44,234 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Canadian (fido) S4 and new ROM install ?

Tip us?
 
Elgreco333
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Canadian (fido) S4 and new ROM install ?

Hi guys, sorry for asking this, I know it is probably mentioned but I have spent the last 2 hours in this forum for various interests, including my galaxy gear and my eyes are hurting right now...lol

So before I attempt something and make a mistake because I missed something, I figured I ask straight to the point...

I am on the latest 4.3 OTA update on my fido S4.

I am interested to possibly flash the Rom to another one that is clean (without all the stock apps) and gain access also to bluetooth tether which is right now not available through fido.
If, this is an option with another ROM (which I am hoping it is)

So is a ROM available ? That can be flashed over the latest update ?

I found some threads but they were referring to already rooted phones etc...I am just not sure where I stand with the latest update, so I would really appreciate some info.

Thanks.
 
TRoN_1
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 39
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
I have a Fido S4 on MDJ(4.2.2). I rooted and unlocked(using RegionLock away). If I flash a newer rom will I see a significant speed difference or performance boost?

Thanks
TRoN
 
Idan73
Old
(Last edited by Idan73; 3rd December 2013 at 07:11 AM.)
#3  
Idan73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 439
Posts: 1,890
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRoN_1 View Post
I have a Fido S4 on MDJ(4.2.2). I rooted and unlocked(using RegionLock away). If I flash a newer rom will I see a significant speed difference or performance boost?

Thanks
TRoN
I'm pretty sure you can not unlock phone using region lock away, but on MDJ you can with secret menu, provided you never updated to mg1. Besides 4.2.2 Fido and before, was not region locked at all.
Maybe now with 4.3 it is. Did not check and can't be bothered looking for European sim card.

To answer main question. No! If you factory reset phone you will, but that's only temporary, which is why newbies keep saying it's faster and better with every firmware.

Sent from my GT-I9505G
"Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever!!!"
 
TRoN_1
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 39
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
I am not the first to claim I unlocked with RegionLock away. I inserted a T-Mobile sim and a Bell sim, and it did not ask for an unlock code. Before I ran RegionLock away, when I inserted a T-Mobile sim, it did ask for unlock code. Also, many people say the secret menu unlock doesn't work for Fido and/or screws up something.

Oh, what's that formula for POST COUNTS and NEWBIES again?
 
Elgreco333
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Nov 2013
Hey guys, checking in again...
Sorry for the question, don't want to be flamed but there are A LOT of posts about different versions and I really do not want to screw up.
So :

Canadian fido S4 on 4.3 over the air update. Can I still root ? Possible link to the correct method ?

Any ROM available that is clean and would re activate BT tethering ? Link if any ?

Sorry guys, I am not lazy, just dizzy reading all the threads and trying to short them out between versions...
A mistake would put me in worse situation and 2 simple answers from anyone that knows would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes