5,596,637 Members 43,685 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] T-mobile G2 in Canada

Tip us?
 
fablife
Old
(Last edited by fablife; 5th December 2013 at 01:02 AM.)
#1  
fablife's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 225
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Default [Q] T-mobile G2 in Canada

Hello Community,

I recently purchased an unlocked t-mobile G2 for use on the Bell and Wind network.

Im thinking of rooting my device to enable the ability to uninstall all the t-mobile bloatware as well as the carrier IQ software.

I have two questions:

1. Being a tmobile phone on a Canadian network - should tmobile push an update, will I receive that or will I have to wait for my provider to push it?

2. I assume rooting the device will disable any hope of receiving and update regardless of US or Canadian carrier?

Thank you in advance for any comments.
-------
Current: LG G2 Pentaband (801)
Given to Wife: Nexus 5
Traded: LG G2 (803)
Given to Dad: Samsung Galaxy Note II
Given to Wife: Galaxy Nexus
Swapped: Samsung Galaxy S2 (i9100)
Swapped: Motorola Atrix
Swapped: HTC Desire Z
Sold: Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant (i9000m)
Sold: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB
Traded: Samsung Ace (SPH-i325)
Traded: HTC Touch (6900)
Sold: HTC Mogul (6800)
Sold: UTStarcom (6700)
 
xdafoundingmember
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 213
Join Date: Aug 2013
Um tmobile won't work on the bell version, you can make calls but not 3g. ...it Will work on wind tough. ..


1. I don't know

2 . yes

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
fablife
Old
#3  
fablife's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 225
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdafoundingmember View Post
Um tmobile won't work on the bell version, you can make calls but not 3g. ...it Will work on wind tough. ..


1. I don't know

2 . yes

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thank you for the response, However I must disagree with your initial statement. I currently have the tmobile G2 on Bell and I am getting 4G/LTE service.
-------
Current: LG G2 Pentaband (801)
Given to Wife: Nexus 5
Traded: LG G2 (803)
Given to Dad: Samsung Galaxy Note II
Given to Wife: Galaxy Nexus
Swapped: Samsung Galaxy S2 (i9100)
Swapped: Motorola Atrix
Swapped: HTC Desire Z
Sold: Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant (i9000m)
Sold: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB
Traded: Samsung Ace (SPH-i325)
Traded: HTC Touch (6900)
Sold: HTC Mogul (6800)
Sold: UTStarcom (6700)
 
xdafoundingmember
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 213
Join Date: Aug 2013
Hmm I wonder if it works the other way around then. ..I didn't think Pentaband was unlocked on this phone I'll try with one of my friends wind cards on my Rogers g2

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
huyroy
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have a question, I am currently on wind with t mobile lg g2 but my wifi tethering does not work. it shows my laptop is connected but no internet access. not sure why. does yours work? thanks
 
xdafoundingmember
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 213
Join Date: Aug 2013
I think mobile locks that feature on stock rims

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Tags
bell, canada, root, tmobile, wind
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Sony Xperia Z, ZL, ZR, and Tablet Z to Receive Official KitKat Update in May

It’s no secret that although Sony is one of the most … more

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more