5,599,616 Members 44,426 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unfortunately, Gay Store has stopped *mad*

Tip us?
 
Selenia
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Exclamation [Q] Unfortunately, Gay Store has stopped *mad*

I posted this on another tech forum too, but I am looking to anyone and everyone for answers before I go crazy.

I have an HTC Wildfire S, currently with version 4.2.2 Jellybean. This error has been pestering me ever since my first ICS ROM 4.0.4. I have tried numerous versions of gapps, numerous resets. This has come to happen daily no matter what I do. It only affects the Play Store. I have endlessly searched online and tried different things to no avail, now across 3 Android versions built by different developers. It got worse as of 4.1.2 and is no better in 4.2.2. Using the standard gapps flashables and the built in one to the 4.1.2 ROM, this error will come daily out of nowhere. Usually it shows when I open the Play Store or when I try and run a paid app. In that case(running paid app), it will get so relentless that I can't do anything with my phone but clear dalvik and reboot. It will stop any work I am doing with the constant error. Clear data no help. Force stop just has it restarting on its own. Clear cache no help. Clear Google Account no help. Only clearing the dalvik like a good little girl and rebooting clears it for a little while and lets me use paid apps and the Play Store, only to have it resurface hours later. Reflashing gapps, even after totally wiping them only does about as much as just clearing the dalvik cache. In desperation, since it seemed to mostly happen when launching paid apps, I tried a Play Store with the licensing system hacked. Besides being able to launch my BOUGHT apps offline(like offline games should be able to), this offered 1 improvement. I no longer have it flash up randomly during work with other apps or when launching a paid app. But, I do still have it come up as soon as I try and launch the Play Store in about the same amount of time. The temporary cure: same thing. At least I am not forced out of other apps. My guess is the hacked version does not make the crashing library load to check the license online, hence this improvement. But it still sucks when I want to install or update an app. I would have quit the Play Store and bought from Amazon and others if I have not already paid for so many apps over time I can't use or update without it.

Given I have got it so that it only happens when I launch Play(with hacked Play Store only, otherwise the random relentless error happens(usually when launching or working with a paid app) with any normal version of Google Apps and Google Play in addition to when I launch Play), I am about to either become a pirate and install black market(can have paid apps and avoid launching Gay Store, which would avoid this with the hacked Play Store as unlike the regular builds, it only happens when I actually launch Play) or get an iphone. After over a year, I am just so sick of this error and it's driving me loony. Have never found an answer to it or a fix when searching online. Nor have I been able to trace or figure out why this is happening. Only common thread(besides the hardware) is the ROMs are all stable CM builds, but different Android versions and different developers. I hate to become a pirate to solve this, but I am at wits end and really don't want Apple. I just want something stable, which my setup otherwise is, except for the Play Store. Again, clearing the dalvik cache is the only thing that lets me use it again, but the error will rear its ugly head again anywhere from hours to a day or 2. Please help me. Piracy is not a good fix but iphones are even worse. I will not pay for all my apps again through Amazon. That is just not an option for me, with money being tight and all. The only reason I would consider splurging on an iphone is so I never lose an investment due to a faulty appstore again and to punish Google for this miserable failure by handing over no more money to them.
 
Lgrootnoob
Old
#2  
Lgrootnoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selenia View Post
I posted this on another tech forum too, but I am looking to anyone and everyone for answers before I go crazy.

I have an HTC Wildfire S, currently with version 4.2.2 Jellybean. This error has been pestering me ever since my first ICS ROM 4.0.4. I have tried numerous versions of gapps, numerous resets. This has come to happen daily no matter what I do. It only affects the Play Store. I have endlessly searched online and tried different things to no avail, now across 3 Android versions built by different developers. It got worse as of 4.1.2 and is no better in 4.2.2. Using the standard gapps flashables and the built in one to the 4.1.2 ROM, this error will come daily out of nowhere. Usually it shows when I open the Play Store or when I try and run a paid app. In that case(running paid app), it will get so relentless that I can't do anything with my phone but clear dalvik and reboot. It will stop any work I am doing with the constant error. Clear data no help. Force stop just has it restarting on its own. Clear cache no help. Clear Google Account no help. Only clearing the dalvik like a good little girl and rebooting clears it for a little while and lets me use paid apps and the Play Store, only to have it resurface hours later. Reflashing gapps, even after totally wiping them only does about as much as just clearing the dalvik cache. In desperation, since it seemed to mostly happen when launching paid apps, I tried a Play Store with the licensing system hacked. Besides being able to launch my BOUGHT apps offline(like offline games should be able to), this offered 1 improvement. I no longer have it flash up randomly during work with other apps or when launching a paid app. But, I do still have it come up as soon as I try and launch the Play Store in about the same amount of time. The temporary cure: same thing. At least I am not forced out of other apps. My guess is the hacked version does not make the crashing library load to check the license online, hence this improvement. But it still sucks when I want to install or update an app. I would have quit the Play Store and bought from Amazon and others if I have not already paid for so many apps over time I can't use or update without it.

Given I have got it so that it only happens when I launch Play(with hacked Play Store only, otherwise the random relentless error happens(usually when launching or working with a paid app) with any normal version of Google Apps and Google Play in addition to when I launch Play), I am about to either become a pirate and install black market(can have paid apps and avoid launching Gay Store, which would avoid this with the hacked Play Store as unlike the regular builds, it only happens when I actually launch Play) or get an iphone. After over a year, I am just so sick of this error and it's driving me loony. Have never found an answer to it or a fix when searching online. Nor have I been able to trace or figure out why this is happening. Only common thread(besides the hardware) is the ROMs are all stable CM builds, but different Android versions and different developers. I hate to become a pirate to solve this, but I am at wits end and really don't want Apple. I just want something stable, which my setup otherwise is, except for the Play Store. Again, clearing the dalvik cache is the only thing that lets me use it again, but the error will rear its ugly head again anywhere from hours to a day or 2. Please help me. Piracy is not a good fix but iphones are even worse. I will not pay for all my apps again through Amazon. That is just not an option for me, with money being tight and all. The only reason I would consider splurging on an iphone is so I never lose an investment due to a faulty appstore again and to punish Google for this miserable failure by handing over no more money to them.
Full wipe should have been done between different dev's roms.
Then flash your favorite rom and start from scratch with everything.
It will fix your error definitely.
No need to download the whole android sdk or put adb in your path anymore!
Just extract my tool and run the adbClientLaunch script.
To get started go here >
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=adbclient
My name is Jacob Lane but I prefer to go by Lgrootnoob. Thanks.
 
Selenia
Old
(Last edited by Selenia; 5th December 2013 at 03:59 AM.) Reason: typos
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lgrootnoob View Post
Full wipe should have been done between different dev's roms.
Then flash your favorite rom and start from scratch with everything.
It will fix your error definitely.
Thanks for trying but definitely not. I full wipe before every flash of a new ROM and even did it a few times and reinstalled the last 2 ROMS to no avail. Seems to fix it a bit longer than wiping dalvik, but inevitably, the error comes back within days. This is even without restoring my Titanium backup and reinstalling apps from scratch via Play. But again, thank you for being the first to try. But I do know to full wipe /system, /cache, and /data, and sd-ext before even restoring backups, let alone a new ROM install. I do this in TWRP 1 partition at a time then flash or restore(whichever applies) then usually wipe dalvik after for good measure
 
Selenia
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selenia View Post
Thanks for trying but definitely not. I full wipe before every flash of a new ROM and even did it a few times and reinstalled the last 2 ROMS to no avail. Seems to fix it a bit longer than wiping dalvik, but inevitably, the error comes back within days. This is even without restoring my Titanium backup and reinstalling apps from scratch via Play. But again, thank you for being the first to try. But I do know to full wipe /system, /cache, and /data, and sd-ext before even restoring backups, let alone a new ROM install. I do this in TWRP 1 partition at a time then flash or restore(whichever applies) then usually wipe dalvik after for good measure
Any more ideas? I never said this would be easy. In fact, the fact I posted here suggests that it will not. I am experienced with Linux systems and troubleshooting thereof and generally pretty good with Androids and modding. I love helping people but despise asking questions of others and only do so in desperation. Usually content to troubleshoot and lookup info myself and always been that way. But I feel I have reached a dead end, so now I call upon a forum I see as loving challenges to hopefully bail me out. Thanks again, guys. Note:had this issue with 1 other device that dropped dead before I could troubleshoot: a Pantech Burst, also with ICS and JB(was fine on GB as was this HTC Wildfire). It also had no other issues outside of a few minor things listed under bugs for its ROM, just like this phone.
 
Lgrootnoob
Old
#5  
Lgrootnoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selenia View Post
Any more ideas? I never said this would be easy. In fact, the fact I posted here suggests that it will not. I am experienced with Linux systems and troubleshooting thereof and generally pretty good with Androids and modding. I love helping people but despise asking questions of others and only do so in desperation. Usually content to troubleshoot and lookup info myself and always been that way. But I feel I have reached a dead end, so now I call upon a forum I see as loving challenges to hopefully bail me out. Thanks again, guys. Note:had this issue with 1 other device that dropped dead before I could troubleshoot: a Pantech Burst, also with ICS and JB(was fine on GB as was this HTC Wildfire). It also had no other issues outside of a few minor things listed under bugs for its ROM, just like this phone.
How 'bout the forum here for the wildfire s?

So this happens even if you run completely stock with no user installed apps? (Other than CM?)

Your s-off right?
No need to download the whole android sdk or put adb in your path anymore!
Just extract my tool and run the adbClientLaunch script.
To get started go here >
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=adbclient
My name is Jacob Lane but I prefer to go by Lgrootnoob. Thanks.
 
Selenia
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lgrootnoob View Post
How 'bout the forum here for the wildfire s?

So this happens even if you run completely stock with no user installed apps? (Other than CM?)

Your s-off right?
Not S-Off, which was deemed impossible with Wildfire S at the time I started flashing ROMS. Bootloader is unlocked, however, which is said to be good enough for flashing from zip files. All changes I make to /system from TWRP stick permanently. As to whether I had the issue on GB, didn't as far as I left it on there, which was not long at all. Just a matter of days. I loathed the stock Sense 2.1 ROM and only bought this phone off my friend because it was very capable of being modded, otherwise, I would have passed, even at $25 I paid over a year ago. The other phone with same issue started the issue with stock ICS, which continued with custom ROMs. I mention this because that phone had no secuflag. Just a locked bootloader that was easily hacked to unlocked. All root apps do their job with no issue and all my added init scripts(mostly for internet tweaking, etc) stick.
 
Lgrootnoob
Old
#7  
Lgrootnoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selenia View Post
Not S-Off, which was deemed impossible with Wildfire S at the time I started flashing ROMS. Bootloader is unlocked, however, which is said to be good enough for flashing from zip files. All changes I make to /system from TWRP stick permanently. As to whether I had the issue on GB, didn't as far as I left it on there, which was not long at all. Just a matter of days. I loathed the stock Sense 2.1 ROM and only bought this phone off my friend because it was very capable of being modded, otherwise, I would have passed, even at $25 I paid over a year ago. The other phone with same issue started the issue with stock ICS, which continued with custom ROMs. I mention this because that phone had no secuflag. Just a locked bootloader that was easily hacked to unlocked. All root apps do their job with no issue and all my added init scripts(mostly for internet tweaking, etc) stick.
I just think that it might because of tweaking.
No need to download the whole android sdk or put adb in your path anymore!
Just extract my tool and run the adbClientLaunch script.
To get started go here >
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=adbclient
My name is Jacob Lane but I prefer to go by Lgrootnoob. Thanks.
 
Selenia
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Partly right. I wiped the phone. Reapplied basic tweaks and was fine. So before letting it pull all my apps back in, I fired up a cheap Chinese tablet that is often used as a victim to my experiments. I installed my previous apps 1 by 1, as this tablet never had the issue. Went on a sudden hunch I had and set Cache Apps to SD Card up and let it run as it binds all app caches. Let it go overnight. In the morning, BAM! Play Store was stopping. Restored apps on my Wildfire S but used a shell script I wrote instead of that app. No Play crashes all day. Funny it probably caused it on my Burst too(RIP). I used the app on several GB phones with no issue but either a Play update, an update to the app, or ICS+ cause this app and Play not to play well. This app does not have many settings to try and fix it. Thus I would avoid that app until further notice. Funny how it's on Play but crashes Play

Sent from my Wildfire S A510e using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...