5,600,664 Members 37,457 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to remove the soft keys?

Tip us?
 
Silencer96
Old
#1  
Silencer96's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 431
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default How to remove the soft keys?

Pie doesn't seem to work and the auto hide soft keys app from the market only seems like a temporary fix. Are there any pie substitute out there, or can we expect to see paranoid android port over this feature soon (among with an amazing ROM)?

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Previous Devices:
Optimus One (CM9) -> Samsung Captivate (CM10) -> Galaxy S II X (CM9) -> Optimus Net (CM9) -> XPeria Arc (CM10) -> Nexus 4 8GB (Paranoid 4.3) -> MyTouch 4G (CM10.2) -> Moto G (Stock)
Current Devices:
Phone: Huawei Y300 - Android 4.4 [CM11]
Tablet: HP TouchPad 16GB - Android 4.4 [CM11]

The BEST Dota 2 Forum With Free Dota 2 Cheats, Dota 2 hacks, and Dota 2 Hero Guides.
 
tillaz
Old
#2  
tillaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 193
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
LMT Launcher is the same thing as pie http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1330150
and if you have root you can disable the softkeys from the build.prop

add this at the bottom and reboot

qemu.hw.mainkeys=1
 
Silencer96
Old
#3  
Silencer96's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 431
Join Date: Jan 2012
I know, but I can't manually install apk files for some confounded reason.

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Previous Devices:
Optimus One (CM9) -> Samsung Captivate (CM10) -> Galaxy S II X (CM9) -> Optimus Net (CM9) -> XPeria Arc (CM10) -> Nexus 4 8GB (Paranoid 4.3) -> MyTouch 4G (CM10.2) -> Moto G (Stock)
Current Devices:
Phone: Huawei Y300 - Android 4.4 [CM11]
Tablet: HP TouchPad 16GB - Android 4.4 [CM11]

The BEST Dota 2 Forum With Free Dota 2 Cheats, Dota 2 hacks, and Dota 2 Hero Guides.
 
tillaz
Old
(Last edited by tillaz; 6th December 2013 at 12:26 AM.)
#4  
tillaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 193
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
have you tried going to settings / apps swiping over to the "all tab"
and go threw all the motorola apps disabling them and wiping data & cache for them, then reboot?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-05-12-50-35.png
Views:	146
Size:	192.2 KB
ID:	2434460  
 
Silencer96
Old
#5  
Silencer96's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 431
Join Date: Jan 2012
Sadly, that had no effect whatsoever. Any other ideas?

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Previous Devices:
Optimus One (CM9) -> Samsung Captivate (CM10) -> Galaxy S II X (CM9) -> Optimus Net (CM9) -> XPeria Arc (CM10) -> Nexus 4 8GB (Paranoid 4.3) -> MyTouch 4G (CM10.2) -> Moto G (Stock)
Current Devices:
Phone: Huawei Y300 - Android 4.4 [CM11]
Tablet: HP TouchPad 16GB - Android 4.4 [CM11]

The BEST Dota 2 Forum With Free Dota 2 Cheats, Dota 2 hacks, and Dota 2 Hero Guides.
 
tillaz
Old
#6  
tillaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 193
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
try removing your Google account from the phone, then when you sign in with it again make sure you untick that box about privacy which is supposed to be the cause of this problem.

to do this you will need root, and a root file explorer

go to

data / system

and delete Accounts.db and reboot
 
dubidu
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 198
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silencer96 View Post
Sadly, that had no effect whatsoever. Any other ideas?

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
You try copying the apk file to /mnt/obb, change the permissions (others should be able to read so something like 777 will do) and install it from there.
It should work.
I think there is some funny stuff going on with the multi user changes introduced in 4.3, I guess the reason why a factory reset works for people (it didn't work for me)
is because the fs will be recreated (permission wise)
 
tillaz
Old
(Last edited by tillaz; 6th December 2013 at 04:00 PM.)
#8  
tillaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 193
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Never seen this issue on any other devices with 4.3 or 4.4, think its some Motorola specific thing, i wanted to have a look at the system.img
but its spilt into three parts with a weird format that i have never seen before, nor can i find any info only about it online

system.img_sparsechunk.0
system.img_sparsechunk.1
system.img_sparsechunk.2

?


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more