5,605,835 Members 47,807 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] removing bloatware

Tip us?
 
travlincablguy
Old
(Last edited by travlincablguy; 5th December 2013 at 05:41 AM.) Reason: h
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 77
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default [Q] removing bloatware

I have a Sprint device, rooted, bootloader is unlocked with s-off and unsecured kernel. I am not really wanting to flash a new Rom quite yet, so I'm stock.
I cannot get root explorer to fully remove bloatware. It all returns after reboot.
Is there an easy way to get it working properly or am I going to have to pull the unwanted files using adb?
 
DROID3R
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 822
Join Date: Oct 2011
TiBa?

sent from my humongous VZW HTC ONE MAX
 
WillieFisterbottum
Old
#3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2013
I dont understand why root explorer wont work. Ive used it many times. If you actually delete something, its not magically reappearing.
 
apache07x
Old
#4  
apache07x's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winter Haven, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Oh but it is magically reappearing. I've removed bloatware at least 6 times and as soon as I reboot it's all back

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using Tapatalk
Thanks Steve
 
travlincablguy
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 77
Join Date: Feb 2010
I remember reading at some point that they lock stock Roms somehow, and the r/w option doesn't do any good.
I've tried searching, but any combination of words pulls way to many threads.
I've never had this problem before, I've always gone with a custom Rom immediately after purchase.
 
Jiggity Janx
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,345
Join Date: Feb 2010
Believe you have to flash the unsecure kernel to get system to allow changes.
2 Verizon One MAX rumrunner.us s-off Galaxy Note 8.0 w/ Terok Nor 3 2 OG Nexus 7 w/ CM11
 
travlincablguy
Old
(Last edited by travlincablguy; 5th December 2013 at 03:03 AM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 77
Join Date: Feb 2010
I hoped that would work, but it didn't help. I was reading the one forums, they made an app that enables it on that phone. I tried it, didn't work.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...timos.htconerw


I'm guessing this is also why my damn ad blocker has been making me angry as well.
 
Jiggity Janx
Old
(Last edited by Jiggity Janx; 5th December 2013 at 01:28 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,345
Join Date: Feb 2010
You do have your bootloader unlocked using scotty1223 method in general *or htcdev* right?

*EDIT: Verify busybox is installed and working properly
2 Verizon One MAX rumrunner.us s-off Galaxy Note 8.0 w/ Terok Nor 3 2 OG Nexus 7 w/ CM11
 
apache07x
Old
(Last edited by apache07x; 7th December 2013 at 07:56 PM.)
#9  
apache07x's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winter Haven, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
I finally got it off of mine by using custom kernel and going s-off then using es file explorer mounted to the root/system on half and titanium backup on the rest. Titanium backup is easier especially if you want to make backups of them all. I personally didn't so I just deleted them all but of course I made a nandroid backup before doing all of this just in case something went awry.

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using xda app-developers app
Thanks Steve
 
dami00976
Old
#10  
dami00976's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 111
Join Date: Dec 2008
You have to flash insecure kernel s off busybox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...