5,606,650 Members 36,336 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is there a way to add/install CWM to a rooted stock android device?

Tip us?
 
CyberSpiderPrime
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2012
Default [Q] Is there a way to add/install CWM to a rooted stock android device?

Hello,

I have several android tablets, all but one (at this moment) are rooted. I am not interested in putting a custom rom on them at the moment (mainly because not all functions -like camera- are working on all devices) but I would like the ability to do a Nandroid backup that seems to be only available with custom roms. On one device I can't unlock the bootloader (Azpen A701), don't know about the unrooted one at this time (brand new Hisense Sero 7 pro).

Is there a way to add CWM to a rooted stock android (only root applied and associated superuser/busybox apps installed)?
What are the requirements (unlocked bootloader?)?
Where to get said CWM and how to install it?
 
omachrison
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
What do you mean by stock android device?
 
Biswajyoti
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 49
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jorhat
Can anyone plz create cwm & custom rom for HCL Me y3 tab??
 
JiMiTVAiDYA
Old
(Last edited by JiMiTVAiDYA; 8th December 2013 at 10:12 AM.)
#4  
JiMiTVAiDYA's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 61
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Surat
I think you need to unlock your bootloader first then only you can install it.


Sent from my Xperia E using xda app-developers app
Hit Thanks if I helped you. ツ
Peace.
☮ ✌ ♡ ♛ ☯

Currently Using :

Sony Xperia E

 
CyberSpiderPrime
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2012
Default stock android device

By stock android device:
--- I mean one that has the original stock rom (as it was shipped from the manufacturer, like Samsung, Motorola, LG, etc) that has only been rooted.
--- As in no custom firmware has been installed at all after rooting; this may be because one isn't available, owner is otherwise satisfied with the OS, or doesn't like what is available for one reason or another (like camera not working).
 
Mr_Budyniowski
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JiMiTVAiDYA View Post
I think you need to unlock your bootloader first then only you can install it.


Sent from my Xperia E using xda app-developers app
I think its true but maybe is there any flash tool for your device ? i can flash cwm to my rk3066 without rooting and unlock botloader, but maybe my device have stock unlock - dunno. GL
 
JiMiTVAiDYA
Old
#7  
JiMiTVAiDYA's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 61
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Surat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Budyniowski View Post
I think its true but maybe is there any flash tool for your device ? i can flash cwm to my rk3066 without rooting and unlock botloader, but maybe my device have stock unlock - dunno. GL
I think I found something interesting for you check this out : http://www.deadlock.dhs.org/rk3066/device.html

Sent from my Xperia E using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hit Thanks if I helped you. ツ
Peace.
☮ ✌ ♡ ♛ ☯

Currently Using :

Sony Xperia E


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more