5,595,645 Members 44,190 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] porting cdma to gsm

Tip us?
 
Just_Michel
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] porting cdma to gsm

Hi,

I stumbled upon this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2536276
It seems to be a kitkat version for the CDMA version of the One V. I would really like to port kitkat to the primou version, i wonder: is it possible to port it? How? what will i need to do? I am desperate to get kitkat, to make it a less crappy phone...
 
parkourz
Old
#2  
parkourz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 796
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Łódź
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_Michel View Post
Hi,

I stumbled upon this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2536276
It seems to be a kitkat version for the CDMA version of the One V. I would really like to port kitkat to the primou version, i wonder: is it possible to port it? How? what will i need to do? I am desperate to get kitkat, to make it a less crappy phone...
AFAIK GSM KitKat is in process of porting/creating
I'M NOT HELPING BY PMS!!! If you are going to PM me with your problems, remember: YOU'LL BE IGNORED!!!
Proud user of
SE K610i->SE W200i->SE C510i->SE Xperia X8->HTC One V->LG Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to parkourz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Just_Michel
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by parkourz View Post
AFAIK GSM KitKat is in process of porting/creating
You dont know how happy i am with this. Is there any place i can check the progress?
 
Curtis1973
Old
#4  
Curtis1973's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 406
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Greenville, S.C. USA
It is most likely very possible. But not advised at the moment. Give it some time to mature as a rom. The creator of the rom is a pretty talented individual and will squash the remaining issues it has in time. Then it will be ready for a real port!! Until then I would wait. But in the end it is up to you. Speak with the rom developer first and ask for permissions to port if you do decide to go ahead with the attempt to port.
Instead of donations to me for anything I do here,drop some loose change,a few dollars or what ever you can in a local salvation army donation bucket,donate unused clothing,shoes,etc to local goodwill locations. Just give in general what you can,when you can. There are those in more need than my self out there. And that will make my day more than any thanks or donation to me you could offer here. Thanks!
 
cybervibin
Old
#5  
cybervibin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1471
Posts: 2,332
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pallet town

 
DONATE TO ME
we dont have a 4.4. kernel, unless you're making one.
 
gulsher
Old
#6  
gulsher's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 548
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_Michel View Post
Hi,

I stumbled upon this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2536276
It seems to be a kitkat version for the CDMA version of the One V. I would really like to port kitkat to the primou version, i wonder: is it possible to port it? How? what will i need to do? I am desperate to get kitkat, to make it a less crappy phone...
not possible because only port will work for same android version like 4.4 to 4.4 not 4.2 to 4.4
and the most important thing is kernel which we don't have
Phone -> HTC One V
ROM -> SHPONGLE 4.2.2 by !ceb0x
KERNEL -> Hellboy kernel

Machine
HP Envy 15-J049TX
Processor- intel i5 4th Generation
Ram- 8GB
HDD- 1TB
Graphics- intel 4000 HD Graphics + Nvidia GeForce 740M 2GB
Os - Windows 8.1 64 bit
Beats Audio
 
Just_Michel
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulsher View Post
not possible because only port will work for same android version like 4.4 to 4.4 not 4.2 to 4.4
and the most important thing is kernel which we don't have
We seem to do have an S-off, with that, can't we make a kernel?
 
gulsher
Old
#8  
gulsher's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 548
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: bangalore
Yeah you can try
Phone -> HTC One V
ROM -> SHPONGLE 4.2.2 by !ceb0x
KERNEL -> Hellboy kernel

Machine
HP Envy 15-J049TX
Processor- intel i5 4th Generation
Ram- 8GB
HDD- 1TB
Graphics- intel 4000 HD Graphics + Nvidia GeForce 740M 2GB
Os - Windows 8.1 64 bit
Beats Audio
 
Just_Michel
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulsher View Post
Yeah you can try
How? What will i need to be able to?
 
MameTozhio
Old
#10  
MameTozhio's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1233
Posts: 2,192
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: not stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_Michel View Post
We seem to do have an S-off, with that, can't we make a kernel?
the only thing S-OFF can allow that "benefits" kernels is making the boot partition larger. there's really no point in that though, unless someone ever makes a boot.img so large it needs a new partition.
-- MameTozhio

Device history

HTC One V (August 27th 2012 - August 3rd 2013, still own) -> Nexus 4 (August 3rd 2013 - January 12th 2014, still own) -> Nokia Lumia 520 (January 12th 2014 - present)

Jag är en INTP

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more