5,593,293 Members 33,415 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Backtrack on S4

Tip us?
 
boss-619
Old
(Last edited by boss-619; 8th December 2013 at 03:59 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 48
Join Date: Feb 2013
Post [Q] Backtrack on S4

Hello,

Backtrack doesn't work on S4 i9505 4.3 android edition.. everything goes error!!!

Has anybody this problem before?

How to fix the problem? plus i can't access or find /proc/config.gz file to see if s4 support loop!!
 
hagall
Old
(Last edited by hagall; 8th December 2013 at 02:59 PM.) Reason: completing info
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by boss-619 View Post
Hello,

Backtrack doesn't work on S4 i9505 4.3 android edition.. everything goes error!!!

Has anybody this problem before?

How to fix the problem? plus i can't access or find /proc/config.gz file!!
i got it to work with a custom kernel with loop function and i used: (following is copy-paste and not written by me and is applied for the grey screen on vnc)


Here’s the sollution…
open the file /root/.vnc/xstartup in your favorit editor (I use nano..)

nano /root/.vnc/xstartup

comment out every line in the file and add the following:

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
gnome-session &

Your file should look like this

#!/bin/sh

# Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
# unset SESSION_MANAGER
# exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

#[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
#[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
#xsetroot -solid grey
#vncconfig -iconic &
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 8024+10+10 -ls -title “$VNCDESKTOP Desktop” &
#x-window-manager &

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
x-terminal-emulator -geometry 8024+10+10 -ls -title “$VNCDESKTOP Desktop” &
gnome-session &

Now reboot your box and run the vnc server again, It should work now..

Note: vnc sends your password in clear text over the network. If you use it to connect to a pc on the ‘internet’
make sure you tunnel your traffic over SSH !!

Have Fun…..

you can read the org. text here: h t t p :// hezik.nl/remote-control-your-backtrack-5-box-using-vnc-server

i hope this helps a bit
 
boss-619
Old
(Last edited by boss-619; 8th December 2013 at 03:58 PM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 48
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagall View Post
i got it to work with a custom kernel with loop function and i used: (following is copy-paste and not written by me and is applied for the grey screen on vnc)


Here’s the sollution…
open the file /root/.vnc/xstartup in your favorit editor (I use nano..)

nano /root/.vnc/xstartup

comment out every line in the file and add the following:

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
gnome-session &

Your file should look like this

#!/bin/sh

# Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
# unset SESSION_MANAGER
# exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

#[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
#[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
#xsetroot -solid grey
#vncconfig -iconic &
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 8024+10+10 -ls -title “$VNCDESKTOP Desktop” &
#x-window-manager &

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
x-terminal-emulator -geometry 8024+10+10 -ls -title “$VNCDESKTOP Desktop” &
gnome-session &

Now reboot your box and run the vnc server again, It should work now..

Note: vnc sends your password in clear text over the network. If you use it to connect to a pc on the ‘internet’
make sure you tunnel your traffic over SSH !!

Have Fun…..

you can read the org. text here: h t t p :// hezik.nl/remote-control-your-backtrack-5-box-using-vnc-server

i hope this helps a bit
The problem isn't with vnc, see my screenshot:



Has anyone the solution to fix the problem??

please fix this thread to share how can we run backtrack on S4!!
 
hagall
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2013
Have u tried installing with https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...linuxonandroid app ? I had that problem before to, and i found a fix for i but dont got it in my head atm.. but with linux installer u dont have to change that manually

DrBlaze. i9505 xda-premium app.
 
MistahBungle
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3014
Posts: 6,685
Join Date: Nov 2011
The processor in the I9505 might be a limiting factor. Qualcomm doesn't use 'standard' ARM architecture as such, they license the instruction set & do their own cores (as opposed to the Exynos which is a 'standard' ARM processor). The Linux install apps on GP all state they're only guaranteed to work on a phone that has a true ARM processor. Could be the reason why you're having problems.
If it's important enough to cause you grief if it's lost, back it up. No excuses
Trolling for thanks is lame
Does Samsung's auto-brightness implementation crap drive you to self-harm ? A solution !
Probably the best thread ever posted on XDA
Failure to search is the leading cause of male impotence on XDA
If you don't know how to recover if things go wrong, what are you doing flashing custom roms ?
Donate to you ?? Bahahaaaaahahahahahahaaahahaha !!!
 
boss-619
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 48
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hagall View Post
Have u tried installing with https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...linuxonandroid app ? I had that problem before to, and i found a fix for i but dont got it in my head atm.. but with linux installer u dont have to change that manually

DrBlaze. i9505 xda-premium app.

I already have installed linux on android, but i got the same message!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more

HTC Sense 6 Ported to the Nexus 5

The Google Nexus 5 is regarded as having everything an Android user needs or wants: timely updates, … more