5,601,062 Members 45,699 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't Update Rooted and TWRPed G2 through LG Support Tool

Tip us?
 
l2phile
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Angry [Q] Can't Update Rooted and TWRPed G2 through LG Support Tool

Hello everyone,

I rooted and flashed TWRP but now i want the OTA update and i can't get it ...OTA style. So i tried with LG Support Tool.

It's checking Windows version, phone version, moving to the next "tab" , showing the progress bar for a milisecond with some "?????" as the name of the file and then i get this thing:

http://dl.xda-developers.com/attachd...1111111111.jpg


Any ideas?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	111111111111.jpg
Views:	4660
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	2449791  
 
zekurosu
Old
#2  
zekurosu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 292
Posts: 1,086
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kuala Lumpur
i believe OTA is only for non rooted stock rom ... obviously yours has been rooted which break the OTA

Evolution of my Android:-
Sammy SII < Note N7K < Note II < SIV < Note N9K5 < LG D802

Current ROM:-
Cloudy Stock 1.3 with twrp 2.7 enhanced with SimpleKernel v4
 
p.valenta
Old
#3  
p.valenta's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 460
Posts: 402
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hong Kong

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by l2phile View Post
Hello everyone,

I rooted and flashed TWRP but now i want the OTA update and i can't get it ...OTA style. So i tried with LG Support Tool.

It's checking Windows version, phone version, moving to the next "tab" , showing the progress bar for a milisecond with some "?????" as the name of the file and then i get this thing:

Any ideas?

Thanks
Stuck in download tab?
Did you tried OTA style? Did you clear FOTA partition?

I tried OTA way, of course failed. Then I clear FOTA partition and tried LG Support Tool. Works fine for me. Download takes while as it's huge 2GB.
Current Device: LG G2 (Hong Kong D802 model) rooted, xposed
Current ROM: LG KitKat 4.4.2 D80220a-HKG-XX
Current Kernel: LG 3.4.0 custom KK kernel with JB bootloader support
Current Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0

Author of: [XPOSED] LG G2 Fix Plug & Pop FC Mod, [XPOSED] Complete Action Plus Mod, [XPOSED][KK] LG Pie Support

Past Device: LG Optimus 2X
The Following User Says Thank You to p.valenta For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
l2phile
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by p.valenta View Post
Stuck in download tab?
Did you tried OTA style? Did you clear FOTA partition?

I tried OTA way, of course failed. Then I clear FOTA partition and tried LG Support Tool. Works fine for me. Download takes while as it's huge 2GB.
Yes i tried OTA, had the known bootloop, fixed it, it started downloading again and i cancelled. I'm going to check if there are some leftovers there and try again. Thanks a lot
 
p.valenta
Old
#5  
p.valenta's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 460
Posts: 402
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hong Kong

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by l2phile View Post
Yes i tried OTA, had the known bootloop, fixed it, it started downloading again and i cancelled. I'm going to check if there are some leftovers there and try again. Thanks a lot
Yes, there will be. OTA download into FOTA. So better clear it.
Current Device: LG G2 (Hong Kong D802 model) rooted, xposed
Current ROM: LG KitKat 4.4.2 D80220a-HKG-XX
Current Kernel: LG 3.4.0 custom KK kernel with JB bootloader support
Current Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0

Author of: [XPOSED] LG G2 Fix Plug & Pop FC Mod, [XPOSED] Complete Action Plus Mod, [XPOSED][KK] LG Pie Support

Past Device: LG Optimus 2X
The Following User Says Thank You to p.valenta For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
l2phile
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by p.valenta View Post
Yes, there will be. OTA download into FOTA. So better clear it.
I run this commands

adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota


Nothing changed. Stopping at the exact same point. Do i have to do anything else first? (eg disable usb debugging...)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...