5,595,645 Members 45,362 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Challengings for Brain users like me!

Tip us?
 
STO02
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Lightbulb [Q] Challengings for Brain users like me!

Hi guys,

First of all, i apologize if I post in a wrong forum, kind of new in XDA. Wanted to thank you all, because, even though, I didn't register, your forum helps me A LOT with android phones... I'm facing a situation with an HTC, and as I surfed the web, and no one seems to have the same problem, I'm adressing it in this forum.

I bought an refurbished mytouch 4g glacier on amazon. When it came, in addition to be locked (not a big problem), I couldn't enter the settings (the linked program is no longer installed on your phone) and worst, there is no dialpad. I assumed that the owner tried to flash it with a corrupt version...
As it is for me a brain challenge, i decided to try to fix it...

I made a factory reset with the buttons (pwr+vol down), same thing! I tried recovery, I think with the S-ON, it didn't work (red triangle). I tried to use wifi to download things or a file manager, but you'll need to access the settings options, and I don't have access. I download SDK manager, but the phone needs to be usb debugging to be found by pc, and I can't access the settings options. I download an usb debugging apk, put it in the sd card, but as there is no file explorer, I could access it...

This is why I asked your help. This is a Glacier pvt ship s-on, with green fonts, (cyanogen 7?: there were a difference with green fonts and orange fonts...)

Thanks in advance.

STO02
 
whytry23000
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville
Try flashing PD15IMG in bootloader.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium
iPhone 4s: Trying to get it unlocked. :|
HTC Glacier: Stock. Unrooted ):
HTC Glacier: Rooted. AwesomeICS. Currently out of commission (SIM card reader malfunction.)
Samsung Galaxy Rush: Rooted. kRom v 5. Sold

 
unqualified
Old
(Last edited by unqualified; 13th December 2013 at 08:35 PM.)
#3  
unqualified's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 74
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Denver
Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry23000 View Post
Try flashing PD15IMG in bootloader.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium
Ditto. If you don't know whether the phone is rooted, I would just flash the PD15IMG of the stock 2.3.4 ROM by loading the file onto the root of the SD card and booting into the bootloader (volume down + power). Then if after you are sure it works you want to root it, you can always go on from there.

In terms of figuring out which ROM you have, since you can't get to the 'about phone', if your boot animation just has the Tmobile MyTouch 4g logo on a white background, followed by a circular green MyTouch logo, then you are probably on the stock ROM. If it was CM7 or anything else, it would usually have a different custom boot animation.

Good luck!
 
whytry23000
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville
You can also tell which stock version you are running: 2.2.1 has no quick settings tab in the notification drawer while 2.3.4 does.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium
iPhone 4s: Trying to get it unlocked. :|
HTC Glacier: Stock. Unrooted ):
HTC Glacier: Rooted. AwesomeICS. Currently out of commission (SIM card reader malfunction.)
Samsung Galaxy Rush: Rooted. kRom v 5. Sold

 
STO02
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re: Challengings

Quote:
Originally Posted by whytry23000 View Post
Try flashing PD15IMG in bootloader.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium
Thank you for your quick answer... I have already done this 5 days ago. I downloaded the PD15img, put it in the sd card (actually, i didn't know which extension to put in the sd card, so i unzip the file and i let the zip one: i put both in the sd assuming the phone will use the best extension it needs!). I use pwr+ vol down, nothing happen.

Any ideas? Maybe if i found an update version of the pd15img?

Thanks for your help
 
STO02
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Guys, I'm blessed...Not because I found the solution yet, but because I found you thinking with me!

It seems I have the 2.3.4, because, as you said, I have the quick drawer icon. I have already try the bootloader, but i will try again from the beginning. I will download again the pd15img (if it was a problem while downloading) and revert to you in 2 hours.

Thank you again!
 
unqualified
Old
#7  
unqualified's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 74
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Denver
It should be a file named PD15IMG.zip. Any file by that name placed in the root of the sd card will be flashed through the hboot bootloader. Don't unzip it. If it is named exactly that, when you boot into the bootloader via vol down + power, it should scan for it, and if it detects the file, it will ask if you want to update.

Be sure you are using the right PD15IMG.zip file (2.3.4 Stock). There are a lot of files by that name, since it is used to flash all kinds of things (radios, etc.). Looks like it might be available here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...d15img&page=10
 
STO02
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re: Challengings

Quote:
Originally Posted by unqualified View Post
Ditto. If you don't know whether the phone is rooted, I would just flash the PD15IMG of the stock 2.3.4 ROM by loading the file onto the root of the SD card and booting into the bootloader (volume down + power). Then if after you are sure it works you want to root it, you can always go on from there.

In terms of figuring out which ROM you have, since you can't get to the 'about phone', if your boot animation just has the Tmobile MyTouch 4g logo on a white background, followed by a circular green MyTouch logo, then you are probably on the stock ROM. If it was CM7 or anything else, it would usually have a different custom boot animation.

Good luck!
I do have the Tmobile MyTouch 4g logo on a white background, followed by a circular green MyTouch logo. I'm on the stock rom then? Is that make any difference or I can still process with downloading pd15img? Anyway, that's worth the try!

I'll keep you posted
 
unqualified
Old
#9  
unqualified's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 74
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Denver
It does sound like you are definitely on stock 2.3.4 since you have the stock boot animation, and the notification bar quick drawer that was introduced with gingerbread 2.3.4.

It only makes a difference if you aren't rooted. If you weren't rooted and flashed a different ROM it probably wouldn't work, and you could get stuck in a boot loop (couldn't get past the hboot menu). But, the fix would be to flash the stock PD15IMG anyway, so you should be fine. Either way, nothing is going to happen unless you flash something, because it sounds like system files have been deleted.

I'm still kind of a noob, but I feel pretty confident with that. I've messed up before and recovered from hboot with a PD15IMG file. Your hboot and recovery sound like they are stock. Just be sure once you have it working that you remove or rename the PD15IMG file from your sdcard, otherwise it will keep trying to flash it when you boot into the bootloader.
 
STO02
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re:Challengings

Quote:
Originally Posted by unqualified View Post
It should be a file named PD15IMG.zip. Any file by that name placed in the root of the sd card will be flashed through the hboot bootloader. Don't unzip it. If it is named exactly that, when you boot into the bootloader via vol down + power, it should scan for it, and if it detects the file, it will ask if you want to update.

Be sure you are using the right PD15IMG.zip file (2.3.4 Stock). There are a lot of files by that name, since it is used to flash all kinds of things (radios, etc.). Looks like it might be available here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...d15img&page=10
I followed your link and downloaded the pd15img from there. i placed it in the sd...It detects it like earlier and still give me the message: sd checking....loading pd15img.zip....no image or wrong file image.

Any more ideas?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more