5,605,073 Members 36,506 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Trouble with tethering

Tip us?
 
oRAirwolf
Old
(Last edited by oRAirwolf; 11th December 2013 at 05:43 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 140
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Default [Q] Trouble with tethering

I am currently using Wicked ROM v4 on T-Mobile and I am having trouble with tethering. I am using the stock tethering app and I can connect to the phone and browse sites like google.com, but a lot of other sites are not loading.

Some examples of sites that are working are:
google.com
aircrack-ng.org

Sites that aren't working:
whatismyipaddress.com
whatismyip.com
kali.org

This is happening in both Linux and Windows. I am able to go to the sites that aren't working if I browse to them on my phone. I am also unable to SSH or telnet.

Is anybody else experiencing a similar problem? Is there a rom that is better suited to tethering?
HTC One M8 32GB (T-Mobile)
Samsung Nexus 10 32GB
HP Touchpad 32GB
 
dragonsamus
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 115
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: sacramento, ca
I'm using Darthstalker V4 and tether works great. I changed the APN settings and now all sites work. Give that rom a try.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-21-52-41.png
Views:	66
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	2447440  
work hard, play harder
The Following User Says Thank You to dragonsamus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
oRAirwolf
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 140
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonsamus View Post
I'm using Darthstalker V4 and tether works great. I changed the APN settings and now all sites work. Give that rom a try.
Which APN settings did you change? Mine is already set to only use IPv4. Strange that it is showing an IPv6 address.
HTC One M8 32GB (T-Mobile)
Samsung Nexus 10 32GB
HP Touchpad 32GB
 
dragonsamus
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 115
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: sacramento, ca
I set APN protocol and APN roaming to IPv4 and works without issues.

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app
work hard, play harder
The Following User Says Thank You to dragonsamus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes