5,599,677 Members 46,967 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Mobile Internet

Tip us?
 
xplicit666
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sydney
Default Mobile Internet

Hi guys, I'm from Sydney Australia, I've recently bought a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 4G 32GB SM-N9005 from kogan.com.au which they ship you a hong kong internation version according them.

Now I haven't came across an issue so far other than my mobile internet not working, whether its 3G/4G (btw my carrier is Vodafone Australia) so I decided maybe I need to do a firmware update so when plugged in my phone on the pc and updated via Kies3, however the problem still exists.

The thing I wanted to ask is whether its a common problem the mobile internet isn't working the current firmware or is it my carrier or is the device not compatible in my region.

Just want to know who to blame why it doesn't work, whether its Kogan, Samsung or Vodafone. lol

Thanks in advance

Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-12-15 09.46.21.png
Views:	1958
Size:	195.9 KB
ID:	2455767
 
xclub_101
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 254
Posts: 969
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xplicit666 View Post
...
The thing I wanted to ask is whether its a common problem the mobile internet isn't working the current firmware or is it my carrier or is the device not compatible in my region.

Just want to know who to blame why it doesn't work, whether its Kogan, Samsung or Vodafone. lol

Thanks in advance
There are too many variables so you need to do more research.

Some carriers need a special subscription to activate 4G on a given SIM.

Some carriers have 4G on very specific frequencies, which are not supported on modems for other regions/carriers.

Some CSCs disable LTE when a certain type of SIM is inserted (and you don't see options for GSM/WCDMA/LTE or 2G/3G/4G somewhere in settings).

Some carriers also might have specific APNs that are not supported by the list inside the CSC - in that case you might need to enter the settings for APN manually (or use a CSC that has the right APNs).
N9005 Universal Root De La Vega / Mobile Odin Pro, Knox 0x0, MJ7
 
dcracks
Old
#3  
dcracks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jan 2007
You need to call your carrier and ask for the correct APN settings..then your internet will work.

Teleported from my SM-N9005 from the Enterprise
The Following User Says Thank You to dcracks For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nakedtime
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcracks View Post
You need to call your carrier and ask for the correct APN settings..then your internet will work.

Teleported from my SM-N9005 from the Enterprise
this
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes