5,597,084 Members 46,697 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wifi cutting in and out airport exteme

Tip us?
 
ultravorx
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Wifi cutting in and out airport exteme

So my wife's phone has an issue with it constantly dropping wifi. We are using apples airport exteme router as well.
Ive read workarounds for dlink routers, but nothing with airports.
She is on mf3 with root.

Any help would be appreciated.
Frank

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 2
 
Whizzpopper
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 359
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
I use an airport extreme basestation but have not had problems with wifi cutting out. Is your network hidden? Are you using the dual band setting? More info about your setup will make it easier to help you. Also, I presume that her phone only has trouble with the airport, no other networks.
 
ultravorx
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jul 2010
Network is visible, using psk2 security with dual band. It also seems to be on all wifi networks.

Frank

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 2
 
konaman
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 205
Join Date: Mar 2009
Is the phone updated to 4.3?
 
ultravorx
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by konaman View Post
Is the phone updated to 4.3?
No, update always crashes from att. I havent been able to get it installed.

Frank



Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 2
 
rugmankc
Old
#6  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1476
Posts: 6,809
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Neither me nor my son have issues on the Extreme. Using WPA/WPA2. DHCP.

I am rooted he is not.

Did it do it before root? You have no other kernel options afaik.

Since it drops, hence has some connection, you obviously have entered the phones mac address into the router.

Can you try another router?
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For Note 4 The Game Changer




 
ultravorx
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
Neither me nor my son have issues on the Extreme. Using WPA/WPA2. DHCP.

I am rooted he is not.

Did it do it before root? You have no other kernel options afaik.

Since it drops, hence has some connection, you obviously have entered the phones mac address into the router.

Can you try another router?
The problem does happen on other routers as well. I also have the note 3 and have no issues.

Wondering if I should try a custom rom or return the phone for a new one.

Frank

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 2
 
rugmankc
Old
#8  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1476
Posts: 6,809
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultravorx View Post
The problem does happen on other routers as well. I also have the note 3 and have no issues.

Wondering if I should try a custom rom or return the phone for a new one.

Frank

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 2
I would try another phone.

You have to stay on the stock kernel with mf3 afaik. And if the update fails, may be a phone problem. I thought one would get the update if only rooted, unless they deleted/froze some of the OTA apps.
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For Note 4 The Game Changer




 
Whizzpopper
Old
(Last edited by Whizzpopper; 15th December 2013 at 09:52 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 359
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultravorx View Post
Network is visible, using psk2 security with dual band. It also seems to be on all wifi networks.

Frank

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 2
Okay. When you say PSK2, do you mean WPA2 Enterprise? I don't see a PSK2 option on my airport (and it's not that old!). Anyway, if the problem is on all wifi networks, and supposing this is not a hardware issue, have you made any modifications to the phone? Is the AT&T wifi Smart Wifi app in use (that app screws up wifi connections like it was built for it)? Does she have the battery saving option enabled? I would recommend disabling Smart Wifi and battery saving if they're enabled. Also, if she uses an alternative messaging app, she should disable its MMS capabilities. Sliding Messaging MMS tends to mess up wifi connections on my phone, for example.

By the way, if she has root, the update will crash. It will also fail to install if any stock apps have been removed. You should see threads here about how to install the update. Sideloading is also an option. You still need to have a full stock rom installed though. There is a safe root method for MK2 too.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...