5,597,261 Members 40,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bricked? 4.4.2 error

Tip us?
 
jideay
Old
#1  
jideay's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 135
Join Date: May 2011
Default Bricked? 4.4.2 error

I have a stock rooted 4.4.1. The OTA 4.4.2 came through. I used Root Keeper and did a temp unroot. Then I installed the update. At first there was the android with an exclamation point and underneath that "Error". I turned it off and back on. Now the Exclamation android is there and the words, "No Command." What do I do?
 
Bigralphn
Old
#2  
Bigralphn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 192
Join Date: Dec 2010
You will need to load a stock image via ADB if there is no OS. You can also use Skipsoft or Wugfresh toolkit to automate the process. Both talk you through the process. I use Skipsoft because incan never get drivers to load with Wugfresh, but in all likelihood it is my laptop that causes this. Others never have this issue.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 4
 
malibu_23
Old
#3  
malibu_23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 931
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay View Post
I have a stock rooted 4.4.1. The OTA 4.4.2 came through. I used Root Keeper and did a temp unroot. Then I installed the update. At first there was the android with an exclamation point and underneath that "Error". I turned it off and back on. Now the Exclamation android is there and the words, "No Command." What do I do?
Same issue. Very scary. I solved it by downloading a stock odexed 4.4.2 ROM. Use the wug nexus tool to flash tarp recovery and ouch the zip to the tablet while in the recovery. Flash the ROM via the recovery. Once installed. Let it start up. Then use the tool again to flash the stock image. And root it. And your set. In wanted to be 100% stock. So after u flash the stick ROM via the recovery you can just keep it there.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Nexus 10/Galaxy Nexus
Both rooted and customized to my approved level of awesomeness...
 
sherifzxpolo
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Hey
The ota worked with me just fine of course you will need to re root ur device for that u can very easily use nexus root toolkit it will do every thing for you
Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
 
notfaded1
Old
#5  
notfaded1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 167
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Thumbs down happened to me to...

Going from 4.4 to 4.4.2... I was able to get back to 4.4 by flashing stock without formatting user data but it was lame. I wish someone had a clue why this is happening? I was stock rooted and did have appops but didn't making any permission changes.

I've read this is happening to stock unrooted n4, n5, n7, and us on n10's. I've even read Google is replacing devices for users that don't know how to fix the problem as its over their heads.
notfaded1 :^}
Engineer .ılılı..ılılı. CISSP
Nexus 4, 5, 7+3g, 10, and the OG Sammy GT-7510
 
paddycr
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 571
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by notfaded1 View Post
Going from 4.4 to 4.4.2... I was able to get back to 4.4 by flashing stock without formatting user data but it was lame. I wish someone had a clue why this is happening? I was stock rooted and did have appops but didn't making any permission changes.

I've read this is happening to stock unrooted n4, n5, n7, and us on n10's. I've even read Google is replacing devices for users that don't know how to fix the problem as its over their heads.
I had exactly the same problem and fixed it in the same way. I guessed it was because I was rooted and I had messed with so many things (using xposed, tibu) but it seems that is not the case. Very weird...

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes