5,606,588 Members 35,106 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Corrupted Bootloader?

Tip us?
 
ckelly33
Old
#1  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 849
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
Default Corrupted Bootloader?

I've been having issues with my phone stopping at the Samsung screen when I do a gattery pull. It has gotten to be more and more often. I've wiped and formatted everything but the story is the same: when I install a ROM it works the first boot. After that it gets hung on the Samsung Screen.

What can I do?
 
decaturbob
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,414
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Need more info. What base are you on for starters.

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
ckelly33
Old
#3  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 849
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
MDK I think. Whatever doesn't need safe strap.
 
decaturbob
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,414
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
MDK I think. Whatever doesn't need safe strap.

mdk is the only other base you can run a custom recovery. So you must be loki'd on it. Have you tried reinstalling a clean mdk image thru odin and resetting up from scratch??
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
ckelly33
Old
#5  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 849
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
mdk is the only other base you can run a custom recovery. So you must be loki'd on it. Have you tried reinstalling a clean mdk image thru odin and resetting up from scratch??
No. Do have a link for steps to do that? Once I am done, reroot?
 
decaturbob
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,414
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
No. Do have a link for steps to do that? Once I am done, reroot?
I don't have the steps...there are a couple threads here that talk about it

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
ckelly33
Old
#7  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 849
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
I don't have the steps...there are a couple threads here that talk about it

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
Can I download the MDK .tar and put it in ODIN? I cannot find any information on doing this and don't want to make anything worse (if that's possible).
 
decaturbob
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,414
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
Can I download the MDK .tar and put it in ODIN? I cannot find any information on doing this and don't want to make anything worse (if that's possible).
I would think so if that is the base of the phone and I'm sure a mdk tar is somewhere in this forum to be DL
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
tsadev
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 28
Join Date: Dec 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Provided your bootloader is MDK, I would attempt to find a no-wipe MDK odin tar and flash that. That way you won't lose data. If that works you are in the clear. Search around the forums and you should find a no-wipe here.

The Following User Says Thank You to tsadev For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...