5,606,409 Members 33,302 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

mje update

Tip us?
 
barrackOBAMA
Old
#11  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 175
Posts: 465
Join Date: Jan 2013
I was on MJ7 rooted by kingo.


Here is what I did.

Backup apps
When to my stock rom
Uninstalled safestrap

Unrooted with kingo (must be on stock rom slot as I found out)

Then took the ota and it failed.

So I downloaded new odin
Downloaded MJ7 tar file.
Flashed that and did not loose any data on my phone.

Then I took the OTA
(Now successfully on MJE)
Wifi wasn't connecting

Rerooted with kingo.
Installed safestrap

Booted back into my rom slot for clean rom. Wifi now works.

Downloaded new clean rom 1.5
And clean flashes.
Restored apps.


Everything works flawless here.

Amazing battery.


No you do not need to take the OTA.
If your phone works fine the way it is then why change it.


It is only worth it if you plan on staying with the latest builds here on XDA.

I assume hyperdrive will follow up shortly to MJE.
Beans will have one out any day now.
And clean rom works amazing for me.


YOU HAVE TO GET TO MJE IF YOU WANT TO RUN A MJE BASED ROM AS DAILY QUALITY
 
Oyeve
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 75
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnbst View Post
Do I want this update?? All I see is posts about how stuff isn't working properly after receiving it.....anyone love it?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
I for one am loving it. I got this phone through my job and put my t-mobile sim in it and was happy on H+ with it, but this update has now allowed a true 4GLTE connection with my tmobile sim. using the same APN settings as before. Sweet.
 
mtnbst
Old
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm currently on mj7 rooted with safe strap. I think I'm going to try to find a cheap Windows laptop of some sort since Mac is all I have. I have frozen the system update in tibu for now. Should I get a Chrome book? Will probably only use it to tweak my android devices. Thanks

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
ronaldheld
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 1,108
Join Date: Feb 2012
I got ambitious and tried to take the update. Previously used Odin to flash to MJ7 and rooted with vroot(Kingo did not work). I booted to recovery switched to stock slot rebooted and tried to take the update, It failed, so I went back to recovery, did a factory reset and rebooted. No success in taking the update. Any suggestions as to what I should do next?
 
moviemogul
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 104
Join Date: Mar 2010
Well, here's what I did. I'm just rooted, stock recovery. Rooted back on MI9 with de la vega. No safestrap, etc


Unfroze all frozen apps with TBU
I went to Safe Mode on Super SU
Disabled Super SU
Took the update
Reenabled Super SU
Unchecked Safe Mode

Updated Binaries

Used a root checker to recheck root

Froze apps again
 
mtnbst
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrackOBAMA View Post
I was on MJ7 rooted by kingo.


Here is what I did.

Backup apps
When to my stock rom
Uninstalled safestrap

Unrooted with kingo (must be on stock rom slot as I found out)

Then took the ota and it failed.

So I downloaded new odin
Downloaded MJ7 tar file.
Flashed that and did not loose any data on my phone.

Then I took the OTA
(Now successfully on MJE)
Wifi wasn't connecting

Rerooted with kingo.
Installed safestrap

Booted back into my rom slot for clean rom. Wifi now works.

Downloaded new clean rom 1.5
And clean flashes.
Restored apps.


Everything works flawless here.

Amazing battery.


No you do not need to take the OTA.
If your phone works fine the way it is then why change it.


It is only worth it if you plan on staying with the latest builds here on XDA.

I assume hyperdrive will follow up shortly to MJE.
Beans will have one out any day now.
And clean rom works amazing for me.


YOU HAVE TO GET TO MJE IF YOU WANT TO RUN A MJE BASED ROM AS DAILY QUALITY
What is "new Odin"? I downloaded the Odin files...and there are a multitude of options. is it v1.85? thanks
 
mtnbst
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I extracted Odin 3.09 there is no mj7 tar file. .. No pit file grr

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
hctimin
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 176
Join Date: Jan 2011
I used Odin v3.09

Downloaded the .zip file in az_biker's post here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2543386

Extracted the .zip file to get the .tar file

Opened Odin.

Click the AP button.

Browsed to folder containing .tar file and clicked Start.

Sit back and let it do it's thing.

When it's done, you've updated your phone to JE
 
mwebb34
Old
(Last edited by mwebb34; 18th December 2013 at 05:00 AM.)
#19  
mwebb34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 753
Join Date: Sep 2012
DELETED
 
mwebb34
Old
(Last edited by mwebb34; 18th December 2013 at 07:19 AM.)
#20  
mwebb34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 753
Join Date: Sep 2012
Trying to disable what i have underlined

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1387342302273.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	2461132  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...