5,595,497 Members 47,254 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Chrome on Android?

Tip us?
 
mustbepbs
Old
#1  
mustbepbs's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 290
Posts: 831
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Chrome on Android?

I thought I read somewhere that you can cast your Chrome tabs on your Android device to the Chromecast. I can't find any information on it anywhere. Am I crazy?
 
Cuzz1369
Old
#2  
Cuzz1369's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1271
Posts: 2,232
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kitchener

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes you are nuts. They are apparently working on mirroring but don't expect it anytime soon.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
nexus 5 - 32gb
nexus 7(2013) - 16gb
Samsung chromebook (running ubuntu 12.04)
The Following User Says Thank You to Cuzz1369 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bhiga
Old
#3  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,574
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustbepbs View Post
I thought I read somewhere that you can cast your Chrome tabs on your Android device to the Chromecast. I can't find any information on it anywhere. Am I crazy?
Not mobile Chrome. Only desktop (computer) Chrome.

Mobile Chrome doesn't support extensions, hence no Cast extension and no casting.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mustbepbs
Old
#4  
mustbepbs's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 290
Posts: 831
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuzz1369 View Post
Yes you are nuts. They are apparently working on mirroring but don't expect it anytime soon.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Thanks. Seems like a huge oversight considering the desktop Chrome is capable.
 
bhiga
Old
#5  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,574
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustbepbs View Post
Thanks. Seems like a huge oversight considering the desktop Chrome is capable.
Design decision, I'm sure.

The desktop Chrome does real-time encoding of the tab (or desktop), in addition to whatever rendering is going on. That's how it achieves tab casting - and that's why tab casting doesn't work well on underpowered machines. It's also why there's lag.

Makes more sense for them to pursue screen mirroring built into the kernel, rather than an app, to reduce latency and ensure a good user experience.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
Asphyx
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 1,415
Join Date: Dec 2007
Actually the issue is that the Mobile version of Chrome does not support Chrome Apps like the Desktop version does.

To cast from Chrome requires an Chrome App available in the Chrome store...

I suppose at some point in the future they will find a way to make Chrome Apps work on Mobile Chrome.
 
mustbepbs
Old
#7  
mustbepbs's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 290
Posts: 831
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx View Post
Actually the issue is that the Mobile version of Chrome does not support Chrome Apps like the Desktop version does.

To cast from Chrome requires an Chrome App available in the Chrome store...

I suppose at some point in the future they will find a way to make Chrome Apps work on Mobile Chrome.
According to what was found on git hub, they're already working on it.
 
Asphyx
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 1,415
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustbepbs View Post
According to what was found on git hub, they're already working on it.
I sure hope so!
Didn't the guy who used to be in charge of Android recently take over Chrome?
Or some department that control both maybe?

It's about time they make Chrome fully functional on Android.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more