5,605,766 Members 47,976 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Updating

Tip us?
 
zXiC
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] Updating

Once rooted should I disable updates or should I continue to accept Amazon updates?

I'd like to believe the updates will improve the OS but I'm not sure at all if that's actually the case.
 
conan1600
Old
#2  
conan1600's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 511
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zXiC View Post
Once rooted should I disable updates or should I continue to accept Amazon updates?

I'd like to believe the updates will improve the OS but I'm not sure at all if that's actually the case.
If you wish to keep root block updates until such time as more information about the update is known. In other words. Yes
Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 - Rooted/Exposed
Kindle Fire HDX 8.9 - Rooted
HP Slatebook 10 X2 - Stock
Nexus 7 2013 - CM 10.2
Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0 - Stock (R)
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - Rooted - 1.6GHz OC
Nook HD+ - CM 10.1 (R)
Asus Transformer TF300T - Clean Rom 3.0.4 (R)
Acer A210 - Stock (R)
Samsung Galaxy Tab - CM 10 (R)
Barnes & Noble Nook Color - CM9 (R)
LG Optimus G Pro Stock...For Now
Motorola Atrix 4g -TopSmarts 2.3 (R)
HTC Hero - CM7 (R)
The Following User Says Thank You to conan1600 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
butman
Old
#3  
butman's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 83
Join Date: Feb 2011
How i can disable the updates?

Enviado desde mi GT-I9100 usando Tapatalk 2
 
ferrouskid
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by butman View Post
How i can disable the updates?

Enviado desde mi GT-I9100 usando Tapatalk 2
There is a nifty trick, the app "Android Firewall" can be used, you can use the android cowboy website to find out how it works.
 
Clarke33
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by butman View Post
How i can disable the updates?

Enviado desde mi GT-I9100 usando Tapatalk 2
I had Android firewall on my wife's 7" and it still updated.

Sent from my KFAPWI using xda app-developers app
 
mech_supernova
Old
#6  
mech_supernova's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 173
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by butman View Post
How i can disable the updates?

Enviado desde mi GT-I9100 usando Tapatalk 2
Right now the only way is to mod the build prop file
AT&T HTC One
Rom: ViperONE 4.3.0

Retired: iPhone 5
Retires: iPhone 4
Retired: AT&T Tilt 2
Retired: AT&T Tilt
 
Tomen8r
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by mech_supernova View Post
Right now the only way is to mod the build prop file
I concur. Firewall does nothing to block updates.
 
GSLEON3
Old
#8  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1146
Posts: 2,269
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomen8r View Post
I concur. Firewall does nothing to block updates.
Nope. BUT if you have SS instaled from both stock & working rom slot, it cannot complete the update. That means you reboot into SS & just reflach older bin (complete bin, not the stripped version from Hash) & then flash supersu & update your build.prop to reflect the new version.
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
 
arvinchugh
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 132
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSLEON3 View Post
Nope. BUT if you have SS instaled from both stock & working rom slot, it cannot complete the update. That means you reboot into SS & just reflach older bin (complete bin, not the stripped version from Hash) & then flash supersu & update your build.prop to reflect the new version.
So basically you're saying, if I'm on stock rom and have SS installed and my device gets updated automatically. I can still go back to SS and restore it to older version and get my root access?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

UnbelovedHosts Uses Xposed to Block Unwanted Connections

First popularized by mvps, hosts-based ad blocking has become the de facto standard … more

March of the Droids 2014 Just Two Weeks Away; It’s Not Too Late to Register

If you want to attend an Android developers’ … more

Android App Review: Auto Config Free – XDA Developer TV

In this weeks episode of XDA Xposed Tuesday, we talked about customization of … more

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more