5,600,335 Members 35,063 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Return to Stock without device history

Tip us?
 
floodx4
Old
(Last edited by floodx4; 22nd December 2013 at 04:18 AM.) Reason: new info
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Man.....not sure what the previous owner did here, but....

I tried flashing the unlock token several times....all seemed to go through, but no "accept" screen on the phone.

Finally, I sent the fastboot oem lock command, and it "somewhat" acted like it relocked it. (I did get a FAILED message in there somewhere).

Resent the flash token command, and viola! I got the "accept" screen. Accepted the warning....and.....still locked

Went through Rumrunner again, just to see, and same result. I get the success message, but still have a locked bootloader, and still have s-on.

Back to the drawing board.......

EDIT: Went back through the process again, and noticed that when I send the fastboot oem lock command, the status changes to ***RELOCKED***, and after I flash the token, and accept the warning, the phone resets back to factory.....but bootloader still shows locked.

2nd EDIT: I think I may be on to something here!

Could the phone have one of the tools installed that "spoof" the hboot screen?

Here is what I get from a getvar all:

C:\android>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.15.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 0.24p.32.09.06
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.20.502.7
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT255W302399
(bootloader) imei: 3xxxx6
(bootloader) product: evita
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8960
(bootloader) modelid: PJ8310000
(bootloader) cidnum: 11111111
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4052mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-de589c6eef
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.083s

Could I be s-off and unlocked, and just not seeing it?
 
timmaaa
Old
#12  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4644
Posts: 9,988
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah, the previous owner has spoofed the hboot, so even though the phone shows locked after you flash the token I believe it's unlocked. Test the theory by trying to install a custom recovery.

Download the modified version of TWRP 2.6.3.0 from here. Put the file in your fastboot folder. Connect phone in fastboot mode, open command prompt from within fastboot folder, issue the following commands:

Code:
fastboot flash recovery "filename.img"
(the exact filename, minus the talking marks)

Code:
fastboot erase cache
Code:
fastboot reboot-bootloader
Now disconnect your phone and select recovery from the bootloader screen on your phone. Hopefully it boots into TWRP recovery, this proves that your bootloader is in fact unlocked.

Sent from my Evita.
HTC Evita | KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5
S-off | 2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
floodx4
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa View Post
Yeah, the previous owner has spoofed the hboot, so even though the phone shows locked after you flash the token I believe it's unlocked. Test the theory by trying to install a custom recovery.

<snip>
OK, we are getting somewhere!

I have the TWRP recovery. (I believe I already may have had this same recovery, but It did flash successfully via the commands, so I think I'm good)

So....now what? Can I "un-spoof" the hboot to be sure? Or just be satisfied with the above experiment? And if so, does this put me at Step #2 "Flash the 3.18 RUU"?
 
timmaaa
Old
#14  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4644
Posts: 9,988
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah I believe you're good to go, I'd like to be doubly sure first though. You can change your CID as many times as you like if you have s-off, but with s-on you can't do that. So I'd suggest trying to change it and this will confirm your security status. The command is:

Code:
fastboot oem writecid 22222222
Hopefully that'll work, confirm by giving this command:

Code:
fastboot oem readcid
Hopefully you'll see eight two's. Once you've confirmed that works you can change it back, and you'll be good to go with the 3.18 RUU. The RUU will install the official 2.14 hboot so the locked/unlocked/relocked flags at the top of your bootloader screen will be normal again.

PS. You might want to edit the IMEI out of your post above, you should never post that publicly.

Sent from my Evita.
HTC Evita | KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5
S-off | 2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
floodx4
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Cool, writecid worked.

And speaking of that, Step 3, Change CID to original......what would the original CID be?
 
timmaaa
Old
#16  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4644
Posts: 9,988
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
I wouldn't worry about that step, the point of that was to use the 3.18 root method.as a learning tool, it's completely unnecessary for you, but to be honest it's more trouble than it's worth. Right now I think you're learning quite a lot so you can run the 3.18 RUU, skip step 3 and 4, you've already unlocked your bootloader so skip step 5, you'll need to install TWRP recovery again after the RUU so do step 6, then you can continue on with steps 7 and 8.

Sent from my Evita.
HTC Evita | KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5
S-off | 2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
floodx4
Old
#17  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa View Post
I wouldn't worry about that step, the point of that was to use the 3.18 root method.as a learning tool, it's completely unnecessary for you, but to be honest it's more trouble than it's worth. Right now I think you're learning quite a lot so you can run the 3.18 RUU, skip step 3 and 4, you've already unlocked your bootloader so skip step 5, you'll need to install TWRP recovery again after the RUU so do step 6, then you can continue on with steps 7 and 8.

Sent from my Evita.
Awesome.

Just to be sure here....do I want my bootloader locked or unlocked when I flash the RUU?
 
timmaaa
Old
#18  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4644
Posts: 9,988
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
You're s-off so you can leave the bootloader unlocked. Here's a link for the RUU.

http://dl3.htc.com/application/RUU_E...th_Partial.exe

Sent from my Evita.
HTC Evita | KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5
S-off | 2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
floodx4
Old
#19  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
I cant hit the thanks button enough!

CleanRom 7 installed and working great, and best of all, I know where it came from.

Now its time to take this thing for a test drive.......
 
timmaaa
Old
#20  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4644
Posts: 9,988
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Oohhhh yeah! That's what I'm talkin bout!

Great news, and once again I admire you for actually wanting to put in the effort and do some learning along the way. Most people want to take the shortest road possible, and they're inevitably the ones who have no idea what to do when something goes wrong.

If you do ever need help in the future just let me know.

Sent from my Evita.
HTC Evita | KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5
S-off | 2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes