5,595,645 Members 44,541 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Newbie boot loop problem?

Tip us?
 
nkk71
Old
#11  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2069
Posts: 4,282
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by johntychwith View Post
what can you do to fix the power button? tried drying the phone although it hasnt got wet.
off to warranty...

hardware problems are very hard to fix; and i'm not saying it's the power button for sure, it's just highly likely it is, if it's rebooting bootloader.
 
johntychwith
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
asi have no orange insurance what would you do next?
 
Ajxx16
Old
#13  
Ajxx16's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by johntychwith View Post
asi have no orange insurance what would you do next?
How long have you had the phone, defects like that should be automatically covered regardless.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
 
lostpigeon
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajxx16 View Post
How long have you had the phone, defects like that should be automatically covered regardless.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
The problem with my phone is that I found it. Turned it in and no one claimed it for a substantial amount of time so I gained ownership of it. I don't have the warranty or anything that came with the phone except for the phone itself and the charger. If I took it to a phone repair shop would they possibly be able to fix it? Or am I screwed...
 
lostpigeon
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Okay so I let my phone run out of battery over night and just plugged it in to charge then and it's seemed to have gotten out of the bootloop and it working normally now, so would this still possibly be a hardware issue? And is there anything I can do to prevent it from bootlooping again?
 
johntychwith
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
i phoned up orange and they said to ring htc as ive only had the phone for 5 months . will ring them 2moro. pain in the ass.
 
Ajxx16
Old
#17  
Ajxx16's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostpigeon View Post
Okay so I let my phone run out of battery over night and just plugged it in to charge then and it's seemed to have gotten out of the bootloop and it working normally now, so would this still possibly be a hardware issue? And is there anything I can do to prevent it from bootlooping again?
Im not sure this is hardware related, there are a few things you can try though to prevent this from happening again. first off, if you ever do encounter another bootloop... pressing and holding in the power button for around 20 seconds or so forces a reboot, the capacitive button on the bottom will start to blink. Second would be to boot into thee bootloader by powering down the phone, holding the volume down button and powering back on while holding voldown. this will bring you to a menu described above eariler, then do a factory reset.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more