5,605,120 Members 37,425 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Solved] Bootloop after flashing any Touchwiz based rom

Tip us?
 
Dr.Aequitas
Old
(Last edited by Dr.Aequitas; 23rd December 2013 at 04:23 PM.) Reason: solved
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thumbs up [Solved] Bootloop after flashing any Touchwiz based rom

Hi,
For about a few days, I can't flash any touchwiz based rom, even the ones I could flash without any problem before. After I flash any touchwiz rom, my phone goes into a bootloop cycle. Though I can boot into recovery and download mode with key combinations. I don't know when this happened for the first time but as far as I can remember, it would be after I flashed some 4.4 AOSP rom (could be Omnirom, I'm not sure though)

What I did to recover from boot loop:
- Wipe cache, wipe dalvik cache and reboot, no joy.
- Wipe cache, wipe dalvik cache, wipe data, reboot, no joy.
- Wipe cache, wipe dalvik cache, wipe data, wipe data/media, reboot, no joy.
- Pulled out the battery between these steps too.

At first, I thought something was wrong about the aroma installer itself because the phone was getting frozen during aroma installer setup screen, then I came up that it was caused due to my older CWM version, so I updated the recovery and it didn't freze again during installation.

And by the way, I've lost my efs partition during these processes, thankfully I've had a nandroid backup from a couple of months before.

Now I'm stuck with AOSP roms and the only way I can use a touchwiz rom is to flash the stock rom via odin. But I want to use the new leaked version based Note3 featured roms.
I've seen similar topics at S4 section but I couldn't be sure if I can do the exact steps for an N7100 international device.
I'm pretty familiar with linux system and I can use adb so I can provide any kind of information you need to diagnose this issue. Thanks in advance. Best regards.


HOW I SOLVED THIS PROBLEM
- Wiped everything (system, data, sdcard, of course internal sdcard)
- Flashed n7100 16GB pit file via odin
- Flashed stock rom via odin
- During these steps, I realized that my CSC code had been changed, I've corrected it acording to my country code
- Rooted my phone again
- Flashed CWM 6.0.4.3 recovery
- Flashed DN3 V3.1 rom
- Bingo, I successifully booted into DN3 rom but had no WIFI
- Flashed MJ5 bootloader
- Rebooted, then WIFI worked without a problem
- Setup my phone and did some restore

It's all good now. Thanks for everything, I hope these steps can help someone facing the same problem.
 
Dr.Aequitas
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2012
Guys, I really need some help.. Any idea about what might the problem be?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
akp.ajinkya
Old
(Last edited by akp.ajinkya; 17th December 2013 at 02:40 PM.)
#3  
akp.ajinkya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 261
Posts: 408
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Haridwar,Uttaranchal
Download HD wipe script,flash the script zip via cwm/philz then try installing the rom of your choice.
I found the script from tamirda's phoenix rom thread and is very useful:http://d-h.st/fWr

Current Phone:Galaxy Note II
Android Version:4.3
Kernel version:Stock
Rom:Stock
Recovery:Philz Touch Recovery

Current Tablet:Samsung Tab 2 P3100
Android Version:4.2.2
Rom:Stock
Kernel version:Stock
Recovery:Philz Touch Recovery
 
(InsertNameHere)
Old
#4  
(InsertNameHere)'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 256
Posts: 918
Join Date: Jan 2010
Full wipe cache and reset in recovery menu, clear everything, you should be up and running.
 
Dr.Aequitas
Old
(Last edited by Dr.Aequitas; 18th December 2013 at 08:42 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by akp.ajinkya View Post
Download HD wipe script,flash the script zip via cwm/philz then try installing the rom of your choice.
I found the script from tamirda's phoenix rom thread and is very useful..
Thanks for the reply. I flashed this superwipe script, then flashed DN3 rom but still I got stuck at Samsung Galaxy Note II screen boot loop. I really don't understand this. What am I missing? What would happen if I wipe the entire internal memory block, I mean the whole things, even the root partition too.. I'm thinking that maybe there's some file inside the root partition that prevents me to flash touchwiz roms or perhaps something wrong about touchwiz based roms' bootloaders.. I'm truely pissed..

Quote:
Originally Posted by (InsertNameHere) View Post
Full wipe cache and reset in recovery menu, clear everything, you should be up and running.
Have you read my first message? I remember that I've mentioned I've done already what you ask me to do.. Believe me I wouldn't shoot a new thread if I could've solved my problem with such easy steps. I've already done so many wipes, including internal SD and whatsoever.. I'm really confused and NEED help. Thanks anyway..
 
akp.ajinkya
Old
#6  
akp.ajinkya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 261
Posts: 408
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Haridwar,Uttaranchal
I think you can go for the method you mentioned.But also give a try to start fresh i.e pit file flashing...wiping everything n installing stock rom then rooting,flashing custom recovery n then installing any TW custom rom.
Also give other TW based roms a try too.

Current Phone:Galaxy Note II
Android Version:4.3
Kernel version:Stock
Rom:Stock
Recovery:Philz Touch Recovery

Current Tablet:Samsung Tab 2 P3100
Android Version:4.2.2
Rom:Stock
Kernel version:Stock
Recovery:Philz Touch Recovery
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to akp.ajinkya For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rEvzB23D
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Laoag City
Im having the same problem but after flashing kernels (e.i. saber & perseus).
Im currently running on Tigra rom. Is this a compatibility issue or im just missing something here too?
I came across flashing bootimg but this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1752270
is for One S, im not sure if will work on Note 2 & haven't tried it yet.
Any suggestions? help pls...
 
Dr.Aequitas
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by akp.ajinkya View Post
I think you can go for the method you mentioned.But also give a try to start fresh i.e pit file flashing...wiping everything n installing stock rom then rooting,flashing custom recovery n then installing any TW custom rom.
Also give other TW based roms a try too.
Well, the problem is gone.
What I did was the things you said.
- Wiped everything (system, data, sdcard, of course internal sdcard)
- Flashed n7100 16GB pit file via odin
- Flashed stock rom via odin
- During these steps, I realized that my CSC code had been changed, I've corrected it acording to my country code
- Rooted my phone again
- Flashed CWM 6.0.4.3 recovery
- Flashed DN3 V3.1 rom
- Bingo, I successifully booted into DN3 rom but had no WIFI
- Flashed MJ5 bootloader
- Rebooted, then WIFI worked without a problem
- Setup my phone and did some restore

It's all good now. Thanks for everything, I hope these steps can help someone facing the same problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to Dr.Aequitas For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
akp.ajinkya
Old
#9  
akp.ajinkya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 261
Posts: 408
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Haridwar,Uttaranchal
Happy to help you bro

Current Phone:Galaxy Note II
Android Version:4.3
Kernel version:Stock
Rom:Stock
Recovery:Philz Touch Recovery

Current Tablet:Samsung Tab 2 P3100
Android Version:4.2.2
Rom:Stock
Kernel version:Stock
Recovery:Philz Touch Recovery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more