5,600,612 Members 33,685 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Running rooted 14.1.G.2.257 locked BL, should I wait for OTA?

Tip us?
 
ezuk
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default [Q] Running rooted 14.1.G.2.257 locked BL, should I wait for OTA?

Hi,

I am running stock 14.1.G.2.257 which I got via OTA. Prior to doing the OTA update, I rooted my device, and the root was kept through the OTA.

I want the newest version (14.2.A.0.290), and I know the customization code for my device and have the correct FTF file downloaded to my pc already.

However, I am afraid that if I flash via flashtool I will lose root. That will happen, right? (The FTF I have is completely stock, not rooted)

I tried checking in the updates app, and I don't see an OTA update yet for .290. Should I just wait patiently, or is there a reason the OTA just won't show up for my phone? Anything I can check to determine OTA is still working?

Thanks for your help.
 
Just2Cause
Old
#2  
Just2Cause's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 258
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Doha, Qatar

 
DONATE TO ME
If you flash the ftf via flashtool you will loose root.


You should wait for the OTA update or till they find a way to root it in locked bootloader.
Don't forget to hit the THANKS button! If I helped.
 
ezuk
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2007
Thank you, that helps. So if I want patiently I should see OTA eventually right?
 
Just2Cause
Old
#4  
Just2Cause's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 258
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Doha, Qatar

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezuk View Post
Thank you, that helps. So if I want patiently I should see OTA eventually right?
Right!

OTA is said to be available in the Vodafone UK firmware.
Don't forget to hit the THANKS button! If I helped.
The Following User Says Thank You to Just2Cause For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Tonian1878
Old
(Last edited by Tonian1878; 23rd December 2013 at 12:19 PM.)
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 56
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause View Post
Right!

OTA is said to be available in the Vodafone UK firmware.


can anyone downgrade to 534 voda UK, root then upgrade to 290 through OTA to preserve root?
or do you need to have Vodaphone uk xperia z1?

Am on EE UK and still not OTA but would be tempted to do this if it works and then remove the voda bloatware

edit: doesnt matter. seen the answer in another thread
 
gregbradley
Old
#6  
gregbradley's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3325
Posts: 7,785
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent003 View Post
When is Zerolemon battery case for Sony Xperia Z1 coming out?
Please post in the correct sections...this has nothing to do with this thread.
There is a whole section on accessories, please use it


If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.
<<DO NOT MIRROR MY FILES>>


Follow me on twitter
 
eclyptos
Old
#7  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 485
Posts: 2,513
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent003 View Post
When is Zerolemon battery case for Sony Xperia Z1 coming out?
I saw one in Accessories Section. LoL...
 
furballz
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2013
I think you can try flashing the Vodafone ftf without wiping data, then update via OTA, but the root is partial.
Correct me if I'm wrong

Tags
ota, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...