5,596,179 Members 34,369 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Installing Rom with BMM

Tip us?
 
jo15765
Old
(Last edited by jo15765; 25th December 2013 at 05:26 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 199
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default [Q] Installing Rom with BMM

I am looking at one of these 3 ROMS
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2408449
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576967
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2275529

I installed the top link the SLIM but when I attempt to boot to System_4 where it was installed, my phone just reboots and boots back to System_1 the stock system. What did I do wrong, or what data do I need to provide so that you can help me troube shoot this?
 
jo15765
Old
(Last edited by jo15765; 26th December 2013 at 03:15 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 199
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo15765 View Post
I am looking at one of these 3 ROMS
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2408449
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576967
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2275529

I installed the top link the SLIM but when I attempt to boot to System_4 where it was installed, my phone just reboots and boots back to System_1 the stock system. What did I do wrong, or what data do I need to provide so that you can help me troube shoot this?
EDIT --
It looks like for some reason my boot.img, system.img files were being destroyed when the device rebooted, as when I would boot back into BMM and try to open this installed ROM I would get those error messages. How long should BM take to actually open the custom ROM from 1st run? I waited an hour and just assumed it had hung up, is that an accurate assumption?
 
jo15765
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 199
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo15765 View Post
EDIT --
It looks like for some reason my boot.img, system.img files were being destroyed when the device rebooted, as when I would boot back into BMM and try to open this installed ROM I would get those error messages. How long should BM take to actually open the custom ROM from 1st run? I waited an hour and just assumed it had hung up, is that an accurate assumption?
Maybe my issue is just SlimKat the top link can not be installed via MBB -- I have succesfully installed both the 2nd and 3rd link via BMM could that be the deal? Only specific ROMS can be installed via MBB and others need CWM or another type recovery?
 
darth_nihar
Old
#4  
darth_nihar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 375
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Vizag
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo15765 View Post
Maybe my issue is just SlimKat the top link can not be installed via MBB -- I have succesfully installed both the 2nd and 3rd link via BMM could that be the deal? Only specific ROMS can be installed via MBB and others need CWM or another type recovery?
That ROM installs fine make sure u make enough space for system data and cache partition before flashing it............800 for sys and data

should do the trick.... and on another note there aren't many ROM's that can be flashed with anyother recovery other than BMM for A2...
♪♫♪ If you liked it then you should have put a THANK on it ♪♫♪

The Following User Says Thank You to darth_nihar For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jo15765
Old
(Last edited by jo15765; 26th December 2013 at 08:23 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 199
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by darth_nihar View Post
That ROM installs fine make sure u make enough space for system data and cache partition before flashing it............800 for sys and data

should do the trick.... and on another note there aren't many ROM's that can be flashed with anyother recovery other than BMM for A2...
Hey thanks for the note about BMM I have been reading all the docs I can find about it to better understand it. I never realized how between the MB860 & MB865 there was a world of difference.

I destroyed my system.img, data.img, and cache.img partition and rebuilt at 1,000 MB and the SlimKat ROM is still just sitting at a blank screen when I actually try to boot into it?

What is a good basis to follow as far as knowing how large to set those 3 .img files?

EDIT ---
Also if I delete the folders/data located here:
/data/clockworkmod/virtual/

Why when I boot into BMM does the corresponding System folder still show the name of the ROM I attempted to install? I was wanting to clear it all out for a fresh install. I also did the format system, but the name remains.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes