Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,386 Members 51,945 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One X-At&t Apn settings for data, 3g and etc.

Tip us?
 
mibikin
Old
#51  
mibikin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 465
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Parker, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
Mine picked up the APN from the SIM and they're slightly different than yours. Mine are in red.

Name: can be anything [MediaNet]
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: leave blank [wireless.cingular.com]
Port: leave blank [80]
Username:WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
Password:CINGULAR1
Server: leave blank
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com [66.209.11.32]
MMS Port: 80 [8080]
MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC:310
MNC:410
APN Type: leave blank [.]
I have an LTE plan, and I was given these settings and they work fine. Odd. The SIM did it automatically, but I had an LTE phone before this.

Sent from my HTC One X
Nexus 4 - Stock w/root
Nexus 7 - Stock

Retired: HTC One X - Android Ice Cold Project, Asus TF300T - CM10.2 nightlies, HTC Vivid - Stock ICS, Asus TF101 - Stock ICS
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#52  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4147
Posts: 8,649
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by mibikin View Post
I have an LTE plan, and I was given these settings and they work fine. Odd. The SIM did it automatically, but I had an LTE phone before this.

Sent from my HTC One X
SIM's are serialized. You SIM's s/n is associated to your plan. The plan drives the SIM, not vice versa. Since you and I are on different plans it would make sense for us to use different APN's. A lot of people have issues when the s/n of the SIM theyíre using isnít provisioned correctly in their account. When everything works as it should you shouldn't need to change the APNs. The problem on the SGS3 forum is it doesn't work like it should. They also have a ton of issues with fast dormancy being enabled where we donít. The cellular radio in the One X is the best Iíve ever used and Iíve used it overseas on about a dozen different networks now. I always had problems with my i9100 because no matter what APN settings I used it would sporadically screw up MMS and it sucked registering on foreign networks.
 
Flo95
Old
(Last edited by Flo95; 11th August 2012 at 04:06 AM.)
#53  
Flo95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 634
Posts: 2,882
Join Date: Oct 2010
Got the AT&T MicroSIM, popped it in and it works fine
Had to discuss with the people at the AT&T store to get data but at the and they activated the data plan for me
They said the One X doesn't support data on the GoPhone PrePaid plans...

Really liking AT&T, it's HSPA+ coverage and the HSPA+ speeds. Much faster than my operator in Germany (it's the 2nd worst out of the 4 operators we have, gotta change soon).
Here in San Francisco I got 6.2Mbit/s down at 23:11 yesterday with the GoPhone 1GB Data Plan
Couldn't test in Vegas, these guys really didn't want to activate data and the Taxi waited outside so no time for long discussions, got data activated here in SF

Strange thing is that the Speedtest app doesn't work with the MediaNet APN.
Using the "phone" APN anyway to get full HSPA+ speeds and with that it works fine.
Another strange thing here is that I had to enter " phone" (with space) instead of "phone" for the APN to get an internet connection.

But now it works fine and I'm happy
Thanks for the help guys
Samsung Galaxy S4 - White Frost - Beats by Dr. Dre urBeats 2
HTC One X - Polar White
Apple iPad 2 - iOS 6.1.3

Feel free to hit the thanks button if I helped you
 
Aokusman
Old
#54  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2012
I have the one x from gci Alaska, its quad core. I'm using it on AT&T but it only gets edge. Pls help.
 
Hunt3r.j2
Old
#55  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 200
Posts: 1,630
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesushasadroid View Post
I just got my HTC One X today. When i pop in the micro sim card, i could receive calls and text , but no data. Here's what work for me. I added a new apn....

Name: can be anything
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: leave blank
Port: leave blank
Username:WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
Password:CINGULAR1
Server: leave blank
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS Port: 80
MCC:310
MNC:410
APN Type: leave blank
That APN will restrict you to 7.5 Mbps even though your device supports 21 Mbps...
 
clowyd9
Old
#56  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2009
Hey i put a go-phone att sim with unlimited data for non-smartphones on unlocked htc one x. The settings does not work for me. Also my phone shows a 4g symbol beside the signal bar. Do i have to use different settings? Im new to these things, please help me out!
 
mccmcc
Old
#57  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default thanks,it worked for me.

I bought used HTC ONE X of ATT from local craiglist. I cut my regular sim into microSIM with blade(the guy who sold the phone to me left his SIM inside). it worked for voice and wifi. Not untill later I realized the data did not work although I am on prepaid plan with data.
I called ATT CS and Chated with online CS, THEY both told me this is 4G phone which will work for voice on prepaid plan.
my old HTC aria works on 3G. so I put that 3Gsetting into HTC ONE X named MediaNet(deault APN ATT will not connect, saying improper APN although there is a 4g bar). Then I searched your post. and made a little change. restart phone and phone is communicating, but data still not work. Then I log in my ATT account found that all my remaining data is GONE!!!!!(ATT CS already updated my IMEI earlier. they might just removed my data and don't want me to use).
I just bought another small data to see whether it will work. it worked.

many thanks! otherwise I have to go with T-mobile with slow speed. mine says 4G.

AGAIN #43 APN name is very important as previous post said.

 
Alucard400
Old
#58  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 87
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default htc one x under medianet

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
Sorry, I should have said to ignore the other stuff. The thread itself is about Yanks using a UK phone permanently in the U.S. Up until the SGS3 was released you could get unlimited data within the $50 prepaid plan because AT&T wasn't screening for smartphones. They've started now so you'll have to buy a data add-on along with the $50 (or $25) plan. Remember to cancel it when you leave. It's a monthly plan that self-renews.

AT&T for their post-paid plans doesn't screen for smartphones so there's quite a few of us using imported phones that are able to get unlimited data for $10 per month. That's the cruxt of that thread. That's also part of the above discussion about which APN's to use. Yours should set itself up automatically. If it doesn't use the screen shots above to set them manually. The password that's hidden is cingular1.
I was curious to see if some of you here with the htc one x international still use it under AT&T's cheap medianet plan. I saw one guy had one but switched to a Chinese phone because his htc x international phone was flagged multiple times by AT&t.
 
jcta79
Old
#59  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lancaster, PA
Default Latest HTC One X APN Settings

Hello everyone,
I recently flashed my HTC One X and my mms wasn't working, so I did some research and I found the latest APN settings for a HTC One and it works fine with my One X so enjoy

Name: can be anything but I put Straight Talk LTE
APN: tfdata
Proxy: leave blank
Port: leave blank
Username:
Password:
Server: leave blank
MMSC: http://mms-tf.net
MMS Proxy: mms3.tracfone.com
MMS Port: 80
MMS protocol: wap 2.0
MCC:310
MNC:410
APN Type: deafult,supl,mms,hipri
Evita | MagioROM R5.0.2 | SMP PREEMPT kernel
S-off | 2.14 | TWRP 2.7.1.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes