5,599,394 Members 37,981 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Struggling to re-lock and S-ON my One

Tip us?
 
a32guy
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Struggling to re-lock and S-ON my One

Hi all,

I followed this guide: http://www.htc1guru.com/guides/return-stock-guide/

-Flashed the RUU for my AT&T device no problem -- however after flashing, I still had S-OFF and was unlocked.
-I then tried to relock the bootloader but didn't have SU so couldn't use the method listed in the guide. I did 'fastboot oem lock', and it now reads "relocked"
-I still have S-OFF and don't want to lose that until my bootloader reads "locked"

Any help? I've been battling Windows 8.1 in the office all day and am at my wits end! I do have access to an XP and OSX machine at home.

Thanks in advance!
 
clsA
Old
#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 2,473
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a32guy View Post
Hi all,

I followed this guide: http://www.htc1guru.com/guides/return-stock-guide/

-Flashed the RUU for my AT&T device no problem -- however after flashing, I still had S-OFF and was unlocked.
-I then tried to relock the bootloader but didn't have SU so couldn't use the method listed in the guide. I did 'fastboot oem lock', and it now reads "relocked"
-I still have S-OFF and don't want to lose that until my bootloader reads "locked"

Any help? I've been battling Windows 8.1 in the office all day and am at my wits end! I do have access to an XP and OSX machine at home.

Thanks in advance!
http://androidforums.com/internation...-required.html
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
a32guy
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Dec 2010
That requires SU as well which the OEM ROM doesn't have. Do I need to undo all my work to obtain root again? If so, it seems like that guide is a bit out of order.

Thanks
 
clsA
Old
(Last edited by clsA; 27th December 2013 at 11:29 PM.)
#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 2,473
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a32guy View Post
That requires SU as well which the OEM ROM doesn't have. Do I need to undo all my work to obtain root again? If so, it seems like that guide is a bit out of order.

Thanks
you only need the one step
Quote:
to LOCK your bootloader,enter the following:

adb devices

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

echo -ne '\x00\x00\x00\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796
(i would very strongly recomend you copy/paste this)

exit
(exit a second time if you need to to get back to a normal > prompt)

adb reboot bootloader

verify you are now locked
Quote:
to UNLOCK your bootloader,enter the following:

adb devices

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

echo -ne "HTCU" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796
(i would very strongly recomend you copy/paste this)

exit
(exit a second time if you need to to get back to a normal > prompt)

adb reboot bootloader

verify you are now unlocked
Edit Sorry yes if your on stock recovery you have to install custom recovery and root
then lock then remove root and flash back stock recovery ..done
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
a32guy
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
you only need the one step



Edit Sorry yes if your on stock recovery you have to install custom recovery and root
then lock then remove root and flash back stock recovery ..done
Thanks for the help. Here is what worked: I unlocked, flashed CWM, flashed SU, did the "echo -ne '\x00\x00\x00\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796" line from fastboot, flashed the RUU.zip, then finally did "fastboot oem writesecureflag 3" which put S-ON.

I'm now back to a factory AT&T image, S-ON, and locked bootloader. All ready to be returned.
The Following User Says Thank You to a32guy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes