5,595,428 Members 48,130 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

My device is restarting like crazy

Tip us?
 
ady_uaic
Old
#1  
ady_uaic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,243
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iasi

 
DONATE TO ME
Lightbulb My device is restarting like crazy

Guys, I'm having a problem which is driving me crazy!! It keeps restarting by itself.
The device has been bought from the store (not second-hand or something) and since then, I had no problems with it. I've dropped it two times on the floor, but after that was working fine, no problems.
From the beginning I've rooted and installed ARHD on it (now I have 41.0), and from about 2 weeks (the last drop on the floor was about 1-2 months ago) it keeps restarting. The phone freeze suddenly and then restarts. I thought that maybe is something regarding an application, but no, 'cause rarely during restart (when the One logo appears) it restarts again - again, rarely this scenario happens.
There is any chance to try something and see if is working, or normally I should take it back to the store (I don't think that they will receive it, since it has some traces from dropping)?
HTC One
 
kamilmirza
Old
#2  
kamilmirza's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 241
Posts: 1,032
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lahore
try wiping cache and dalvik
or clean flash your ROM

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
hit the THANKS button if helped
Google Nexus 5
 
ady_uaic
Old
#3  
ady_uaic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,243
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iasi

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamilmirza View Post
try wiping cache and dalvik
or clean flash your ROM

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
from 30.x I've wiped everything when I installed ARHD 41.0
HTC One
 
clsA
Old
#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 638
Posts: 2,443
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ady_uaic View Post
from 30.x I've wiped everything when I installed ARHD 41.0
that's good, but did you restore anything with Titanium backup or any other backup software? this can cause a lot of problems when moving from 4.3 to 4.4
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
ady_uaic
Old
#5  
ady_uaic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,243
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iasi

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
that's good, but did you restore anything with Titanium backup or any other backup software? this can cause a lot of problems when moving from 4.3 to 4.4
I've tried that, yes. I don't remember exactly, but this was happening also on 30.x, reason for which I've decided to do the update, in order to see if the problem persist.
HTC One
 
clsA
Old
#6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 638
Posts: 2,443
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ady_uaic View Post
I've tried that, yes. I don't remember exactly, but this was happening also on 30.x, reason for which I've decided to do the update, in order to see if the problem persist.
you answer makes no sense, did you restore from backup or not ?
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
ady_uaic
Old
#7  
ady_uaic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,243
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iasi

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
you answer makes no sense, did you restore from backup or not ?
Yes, I've restored some things from titanium; but, before, on 30.x was working fine and suddenly began to restart by itself - that's why I don't see the point about restoring from backup, since the restart issue began before updating to new ROM version.
HTC One
 
clsA
Old
(Last edited by clsA; 28th December 2013 at 05:06 PM.)
#8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 638
Posts: 2,443
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ady_uaic View Post
Yes, I've restored some things from titanium; but, before, on 30.x was working fine and suddenly began to restart by itself - that's why I don't see the point about restoring from backup, since the restart issue began before updating to new ROM version.
the point is you moved the problem from 30.x to 40.x with the backup

Do a complete Wipe and clean install and see if your problem goes away
complete wipe includes factory reset + /cache /delvik

Ideally I would RUU back to stock and see if my phone is really broken or not
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
ady_uaic
Old
#9  
ady_uaic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,243
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iasi

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
the point is you moved the problem from 30.x to 40.x with the backup
aha..could be this too, right . So, your advice is to make a clean installation (factory reset) and let it that way for several days with basic apps, to see the behavior?
HTC One
 
clsA
Old
#10  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 638
Posts: 2,443
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ady_uaic View Post
aha..could be this too, right . So, your advice is to make a clean installation (factory reset) and let it that way for several days with basic apps, to see the behavior?
yes sir
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate

The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more