5,605,311 Members 38,489 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Trio Stealth G2 Hype frozen at boot logo

Tip us?
 
ubuntuaddicted
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Default Trio Stealth G2 Hype frozen at boot logo

Hi guys,
My step daughters tablet, the 7" Dual Core 4GB Trio Stealth G2 Hype, has frozen at the "Trio Stealth G2" logo boot screen. It won't go any further. I've tried every combination of key presses (pwr & vol+, pwr & vol-, pwr & vol-,vol+) to get it into recovery mode OR to hard reset it and nothing is working. I've tried hooking it up to my windows 7 computer, it shows up as M3-CHIP (only after I press pwr & vol-). I downloaded the android adt bundle like someone else suggested and then adding the hardware id of the device to the file called android_winusb.inf BUT that file doesn't exist anywhere within the adt bundle. I even just tried creating the file and adding the hardware id to the file I copied from another thread and when I click update driver and choose where that file is that I created it won't take, it says windows couldn't find a driver for this device.

Here's the file I created
Code:
;
; Android WinUsb driver installation.
;
[Version]
Signature = "$Windows NT$"
Class = AndroidUsbDeviceClass
ClassGuid = {3F966BD9-FA04-4ec5-991C-D326973B5128}
Provider = %ProviderName%
DriverVer = 08/11/2009,2.0.0010.00002
CatalogFile.NTx86 = androidwinusb86.cat
CatalogFile.NTamd64 = androidwinusba64.cat

;
; This section seems to be required for WinUsb driver installation.
; If this section is removed the installer will report an error
; "Required section not found in INF file".
;
[ClassInstall32]
Addreg = AndroidWinUsbClassReg

[AndroidWinUsbClassReg]
HKR,,,0,%ClassName%
HKR,,Icon,,-1

[Manufacturer]
%ProviderName% = Google, NTx86, NTamd64

[Google.NTx86]
;Orange San Francisco
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_19D2&PID_1354&MI_00
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_19D2&PID_1354&MI_02
%SingleBootLoaderInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_D00D
; HTC Dream
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C01
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C02&MI_01
%SingleBootLoaderInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0FFF
; HTC Magic
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C03&MI_01
;
;Moto Sholes
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_22B8&PID_41DB
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_22B8&PID_41DB&MI_01
;
;TrioStealthG2Mine
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1B8E&PID_C003&REV_0007
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1B8E&PID_C003&REV_0007
;TrioStealthG2
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_16D5&PID_8005&MI_01
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_16D5&PID_8005&MI_01
;
;Google NexusOne
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_0D02
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_0D02&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4E11
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4E12&MI_01

[Google.NTamd64]
;Orange San Francisco
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_19D2&PID_1354&MI_00
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_19D2&PID_1354&MI_02
%SingleBootLoaderInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_D00D
; HTC Dream
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C01
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C02&MI_01
%SingleBootLoaderInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0FFF
; HTC Magic
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C03&MI_01
;
;Moto Sholes
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_22B8&PID_41DB
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_22B8&PID_41DB&MI_01
;
;Google NexusOne
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_0D02
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_0D02&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4E11
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4E12&MI_01

[USB_Install]
Include = winusb.inf
Needs = WINUSB.NT

[USB_Install.Services]
Include = winusb.inf
AddService = WinUSB,0x00000002,WinUSB_ServiceInstall

[WinUSB_ServiceInstall]
DisplayName = %WinUSB_SvcDesc%
ServiceType = 1
StartType = 3
ErrorControl = 1
ServiceBinary = %12%\WinUSB.sys

[USB_Install.Wdf]
KmdfService = WINUSB, WinUSB_Install

[WinUSB_Install]
KmdfLibraryVersion = 1.7

[USB_Install.HW]
AddReg = Dev_AddReg

[Dev_AddReg]
HKR,,DeviceInterfaceGUIDs,0x10000,"{F72FE0D4-CBCB-407d-8814-9ED673D0DD6B}"

[USB_Install.CoInstallers]
AddReg = CoInstallers_AddReg
CopyFiles = CoInstallers_CopyFiles

[CoInstallers_AddReg]
HKR,,CoInstallers32,0x00010000,"WdfCoInstaller0100 7.dll,WdfCoInstaller","WinUSBCoInstaller.dll"

[CoInstallers_CopyFiles]
WinUSBCoInstaller.dll
WdfCoInstaller01007.dll

[DestinationDirs]
CoInstallers_CopyFiles=11

[SourceDisksNames]
1 = %DISK_NAME%,,,\i386
2 = %DISK_NAME%,,,\amd64

[SourceDisksFiles.x86]
WinUSBCoInstaller.dll = 1
WdfCoInstaller01007.dll = 1

[SourceDisksFiles.amd64]
WinUSBCoInstaller.dll = 2
WdfCoInstaller01007.dll = 2

[Strings]
ProviderName = "Google, Inc."
SingleAdbInterface = "Android ADB Interface"
CompositeAdbInterface = "Android Composite ADB Interface"
SingleBootLoaderInterface = "Android Bootloader Interface"
WinUSB_SvcDesc = "Android USB Driver"
DISK_NAME = "Android WinUsb installation disk"
ClassName = "Android Phone"
I also don't believe I had enabled the usb debugging before it froze in this state so am I screwed or what?
 
leodani
Old
#2  
leodani's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florence
It happened even to me.... something happened in your system folder.... to make your device work again you must do a restore ( in recovery mode) of a backup that you have made before this accident happened if you did not do a backup of your device you must do it from another device

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:26 AM ----------

Of the same type otherwise your device will never work again amd you'll have to buy a new one

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
ubuntuaddicted
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Quote:
Originally Posted by leodani View Post
It happened even to me.... something happened in your system folder.... to make your device work again you must do a restore ( in recovery mode) of a backup that you have made before this accident happened if you did not do a backup of your device you must do it from another device

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:26 AM ----------

Of the same type otherwise your device will never work again amd you'll have to buy a new one

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
how would i do a restore of a backup if i can't get it connected to the computer? I suppose I could buy another one, make a backup of it and then return it to officemax BUT can you link me to how I would create the backup and then how I would restore please?
 
leodani
Old
#4  
leodani's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florence
You could install a custom recovery (like Clockwork Mod) and do it from there but if you do a backup of your brikcked device... when you do the restore it will stay bricked so you have 2 options:
1) make a backup from the same device of a person you know.... there is one big problem of this... you'll get the same IMEI number as the other phone
2) buy a new one

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
nick_fc
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2013
Hard Reset G2 In the case of password lockouts or freezing, doing a hard reset on your android device could help you get back to the factory defaults. First you need to make sure your tablet is powered off. Hold down on the Volume + button and hold down the Power button at the same time. As soon as the tablet's screen turns on let go of the Power button but keep the Volume + button held down until you see a large Android in the center of the screen. At this point you will see a screen with boot options. Use the Volume button to go down to Wipe Data Factory Reset and tap the Power button to select this option. On the next screen use the Volume button again to go down to Yes and use the Power button to select. At this point it will be going through the wiping and resetting process. When it's done you will see the first screen you came to when you first started the setup. Just tap the Power button to select Reboot System Now.

Make sure tablet is powered off.
Hold down Volume + button and Power button at same time.
When screen comes on let go of Power button.
When the large Android shows on screen let go of Volume + button.
Use Volume button to scroll to Wipe Data/ Factory Reset
Tap Power button to select.
Use Volume button to scroll to Yes.
Tap Power button to select.
Tap Power button to select Reboot System Now.
 
damncheaptablets
Old
(Last edited by damncheaptablets; 24th March 2014 at 06:38 PM.) Reason: update
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2014
Unhappy Think im screwed

Ok so I have a tri stealth g2 which was froze at boot logo, I was able to use aml flash tool and erased nand, unfortunatley the rom I installed was Novo7 which said it installed successsfully but I tried to power on my trio and nothing came on at all; however when I plug it in to my pc it comes up as a novo7 portable media player device and lets me access the internal storage. The problem is how can I flash from the internal storage, is there a program that will allow me to erase all data? The internal storage reports 5.47 gb and 5.37 gb free. Once again nothing comes on the screen so trying to gain access to any recovery not possible. I was hoping I could change the driver for the device back to the world cup driver for aml but it refuses to do it saying the driver isnt compatible grrrr. If anyone can help be appreciated.

Ok so I used adt bundle and got the device to change to Android ADB Interface tried livesuit, didnt work anyone have any suggestions?
 
little_rat_9176
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by leodani View Post
It happened even to me.... something happened in your system folder.... to make your device work again you must do a restore ( in recovery mode) of a backup that you have made before this accident happened if you did not do a backup of your device you must do it from another device

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:26 AM ----------

Of the same type otherwise your device will never work again amd you'll have to buy a new one

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
so how do I back up for another device?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more