5,600,664 Members 36,918 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Omni to CyanogenMod?

Tip us?
 
chefytim
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sparta

 
DONATE TO ME
Smile [Q] Omni to CyanogenMod?

OK, newbie here.
I've had my TF300T for around 2 years (or maybe its just one )
Anyway, I finally broke down and unlocked, rooted and applied the latest Omni ROM to my system without issue.
So far I like it just fine but would like to explore other ROM's as well.

Being a newbie I'm sure if this is some simple question.
Can I just flash my system with a CyanogenMod ROM without doing anything else?
I am using TWRP which seems rather easy to use.

Forgive the newbie question as I'm still learning all the parts and pieces of all this.

Cheers
 
cmendonc2
Old
#2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 308
Posts: 943
Join Date: Aug 2011
Did you install the kitkat version of OmniRom? If so, then you can install the KitKat version of Cyanogenmod without a problem. The TWRP version for Jellybean is different than the KitKat version.

Sent from my TF300T using xda app-developers app
My Devices:
 

[Retired] Nook Color (CM10)



LG Optimus Dynamic II L39C (Stock, rooted)



Asus Tf300t (CM11)



Transformers: Install NvFlash for JellyBean Transformer bootloader to become unbrickable HERE Guide: Here!
Wantfree phone and tablet accessories or Google Play gift cards? Go HERE
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ChiefIlliniwek5
Old
(Last edited by ChiefIlliniwek5; 30th December 2013 at 02:52 AM.)
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 49
Join Date: Dec 2011
I shouldn't think it would be a problem, especially if you do a clean wipe first. I know there's a lot of discussion and debate about when you can dirty flash or when you should clean flash, but I like to play it safe so I always clean wipe if I'm switching roms JMHO.
 
chefytim
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sparta

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah, I installed the kitkat version of OmniRom so I was thinking it would be OK to install CyanogenMod after doing a wipe first.

Thanks!
 
ebildude123
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 270
Posts: 341
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiefIlliniwek5 View Post
I shouldn't think it would be a problem, especially if you do a clean wipe first. I know there's a lot of discussion and debate about when you can dirty flash or when you should clean flash, but I like to play it safe so I always clean wipe if I'm switching roms JMHO.
Yeah, you shouldn't ever dirty flash anyways though unless you are just updating nightlies. From ROM to ROM dirty flashing is a no-no and could result in FCs or bootloop unless you wipe data.
 
ricktendo
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiefIlliniwek5 View Post
I shouldn't think it would be a problem, especially if you do a clean wipe first. I know there's a lot of discussion and debate about when you can dirty flash or when you should clean flash, but I like to play it safe so I always clean wipe if I'm switching roms JMHO.
Can you define clean flash?

Other than Dalvic Cache and Cache what other things need to be wiped to constitute a clean flash?
 
ebildude123
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 270
Posts: 341
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricktendo View Post
Can you define clean flash?

Other than Dalvic Cache and Cache what other things need to be wiped to constitute a clean flash?
Wiping /data & /system

The Following User Says Thank You to ebildude123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more