5,596,431 Members 40,084 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bought a AT&T Note 3, can i not activate it?

Tip us?
 
idobref
Old
#1  
idobref's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Default Bought a AT&T Note 3, can i not activate it?

So basically my roomie was kind enough to let me use his discount to buy a note 3 since i'm not eligible for a while.

Obviously the phone is for me, even though we bought it thru his account.
So do I still need to call AT&T and activate the phone (it came with a sim card in the package)
Or i can just ignore the sim card and calling them and just use the new note 3 with my sim card, and he uses his iphone with his old sim card thats already in there.

Do you know how does the whole thing work?
 
Solarenemy68
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 619
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by idobref View Post
So basically my roomie was kind enough to let me use his discount to buy a note 3 since i'm not eligible for a while.

Obviously the phone is for me, even though we bought it thru his account.
So do I still need to call AT&T and activate the phone (it came with a sim card in the package)
Or i can just ignore the sim card and calling them and just use the new note 3 with my sim card, and he uses his iphone with his old sim card thats already in there.

Do you know how does the whole thing work?
If you already have your own SIM card linked to your account, just put it in the phone and you are good to go as long as the phone is an ATT model. Also the phone will only work with a MicroSIM regular sized SIMs will not fit this phone.

On ATT the phone has no bearing on your account. What you are paying for is the SIM. I bought a Lumia when my contract renewed with ATT. Could not stand it so I bought an N3 full price and slapped my card in it. The device is even updated on my account on the website as being a N3 and not a Lumia.
 
idobref
Old
#3  
idobref's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Las Vegas
oh cool.

So i dont have to do anything?
ATT doesnt care that the phone was never activvated?
 
Solarenemy68
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 619
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by idobref View Post
oh cool.

So i dont have to do anything?
ATT doesnt care that the phone was never activvated?
On ATT phones are not activated. They are ready to use out of the box. The SIM is the key. All your account data is linked to the SIM, not the phone. You can use any phone that ATT sells on your account and you don't have to buy it from ATT . I bought my N3 on Amazon at full price but I still use it on my Lumia account. The exception is if you use a smartphone on a none smartphone account, when they see it on the network they will upgrade you and charge you accordingly. You cannot use ATT with a smartphone on a standard phone account.
 
nthknd
Old
#5  
nthknd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 753
Join Date: Feb 2011
OK let me shed some light. If you call and give them the imel number of the new phone then its registered and if you have the insurance it will automatically be transferred to the new phone regardless where you got it. That's the benefit. I have my Lumia insurance with att and my note 3 and s4 with square trade.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
ww3funs
Old
#6  
ww3funs's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Nov 2013
i bought att note 3 on ebay. i just put my sim card in. it work perfectly.
 
pham818
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 950
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ww3funs View Post
i bought att note 3 on ebay. i just put my sim card in. it work perfectly.
are you sure it isnt a fake one.
Current
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 -
Asus Nexus 7 32GB (2013) - scrosler's CleanROM

Past
Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB - Sold
Samsung Galaxy S2 16GB - Given Away
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 16GB - SOLD

Free 500 MB of storage on Dropbox: http://db.tt/d6SOJt2W

Please press thanks if I helped in any way!



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more