5,595,964 Members 31,281 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Widgets for Smartwatch 2?!

Tip us?
 
micro17
Old
(Last edited by micro17; 29th December 2013 at 01:03 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Widgets for Smartwatch 2?!

Hi,

did you notice the screenshot on the rear of the smartwatch 2 casing showing a widget on the home menu of the whatch? Interesting... but its not implemented in the firmware.
Today i looked through the developer pages of sony. And i found this:
http://developer.sonymobile.com/refe.../widget/Widget .

So what do you think? Are widgets coming soon to sw2?..

edit:
also in the official sony sw2 video the widget screenshot is shown (sec 00:10) :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoUzM7WYlP0

Do you think widgets are usable on a smartwatch?

Gesendet von meinem GT-N7100 mit Tapatalk
 
Paschinski
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 138
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by micro17 View Post
Hi,

did you notice the screenshot on the rear of the smartwatch 2 casing showing a widget on the home menu of the whatch? Interesting... but its not implemented in the firmware.
Today i looked through the developer pages of sony. And i found this:
http://developer.sonymobile.com/refe.../widget/Widget .

So what do you think? Are widgets coming soon to sw2?..

edit:
also in the official sony sw2 video the widget screenshot is shown (sec 00:10) :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoUzM7WYlP0

Do you think widgets are usable on a smartwatch?

Gesendet von meinem GT-N7100 mit Tapatalk
There is already a paid app that brings widgets to the SW2 which is pretty useable from what I've read. It would be awesome if Sony made that option available by default though!
 
simes6600
Old
#3  
simes6600's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 154
Join Date: Oct 2011
whats the paid app for widgets called?
Phone: HTC One M8
Rom: Viper One M8 1.2.0
Network: O2 UK
 
SeanyC
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dartford
Remote Widget
 
micro17
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jul 2011
yeah remote widget works. But thats no widget on the homescreen. What i mean are widgets on the homescreen of the sw2. So you dont have to start them, u use the directly on the homescreen.

Gesendet von meinem GT-N7100 mit Tapatalk
 
mbirth
Old
#6  
mbirth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 194
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by micro17 View Post
yeah remote widget works. But thats no widget on the homescreen. What i mean are widgets on the homescreen of the sw2. So you dont have to start them, u use the directly on the homescreen.
I guess this feature will follow in a firmware update. Just like the clockfaces with date did.
Google Nexus 5: Android 4.4.2, KOT49H [ART]
Google Nexus 10: Android 4.4.2, KOT49H [Dalvik]
SE Xperia X10 mini: Android 4.1.2, MiniCM10-4.1.0-20130518-NIGHTLY (JZO54K)

Accessories: Novero Tour, Sony SmartWatch 2 SW2
 
bartmw
Old
#7  
bartmw's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Swindon
Widget was when this watch was first time show to public.
Later when watch finally relased Sony decided to get rid of that and few more functions.
Some clock faces missing, shake to backlight and few more.

Sent from my C5303 using Tapatalk 2
- Xperia SP
- SE Xperia Play 800i
- HTC PAND100

Motorola CD 160 - Ericsson A1018s - Siemens C35 - Ericsson T10 - Nokia 6310i - Nokia 3510 - SE 610 - SE W200 - SE Zylo - SE Xperia Mini - SE Xperia Play - SE Xperia SP - ...
 
Pyromancer
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 488
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartmw View Post
Widget was when this watch was first time show to public.
Later when watch finally relased Sony decided to get rid of that and few more functions.
Some clock faces missing, shake to backlight and few more.

Sent from my C5303 using Tapatalk 2
Why? Isnt that cheating?
 
micro17
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jul 2011
hmm it seems like the software is beyond the hardware development... the ambient light sensor is another example... the hardware is there but the software functionality was just added.

Are there any official press releases with these announced but not shipped features?

For me it almost seems like sony pushed the hardware to be released as early as possible cause of competitors like galaxy gear. So the software we got is a really early "pushed to work" product. Essential features like the auto backlight or the mark all read function were not in on release. For me the shake to backlight feature is also such an essential one...

Gesendet von meinem GT-N7100 mit Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more