5,603,591 Members 36,084 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Forgot Moto G Unlock Pin

Tip us?
 
motoman4rmmars
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Forgot Moto G Unlock Pin

Hello all,
Need your help!
I recently put pin on my phone and 'forgot unlock pin.
1. I was hoping it would allow me to reset using gmail account but it doesnt show that.
2. Tried going into recovery mode and wipe/factory reset> That just restarts the phone.(My old phone allowed me to reset in recovery mode when I entered pin wrong 5 times).
dont know what to do mad:
If you experiened this issue with this phone, I appreciate if you can help me out.

Thanks
 
hednik
Old
#2  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 707
Posts: 1,522
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fort Worth

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoman4rmmars View Post
Hello all,
Need your help!
I recently put pin on my phone and 'forgot unlock pin.
1. I was hoping it would allow me to reset using gmail account but it doesnt show that.
2. Tried going into recovery mode and wipe/factory reset> That just restarts the phone.(My old phone allowed me to reset in recovery mode when I entered pin wrong 5 times).
dont know what to do mad:
If you experiened this issue with this phone, I appreciate if you can help me out.

Thanks
would unlocking the bootloader ( which wipes the device) do it ?
Click thanks if you think I helped you.



Samsung Captivate - CM 11
AT&T Galaxy SII - SHOstock
AT&T Galaxy SII Skyrocket - DEAD
AT&T Galaxy S4 - Beanstalk 4.4 - MDL
MOTO G - Stock




COOK/HACK of BLiNDrom and T-motion RoM
 
audit13
Old
#3  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 272
Posts: 1,696
Join Date: Jun 2012
Did you try contacting Motorola?
 
scott_doyland
Old
(Last edited by scott_doyland; 1st January 2014 at 08:12 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 427
Join Date: Dec 2011
I read that the stock recovery is messed up. If you want to factory reset then chose the option above, ie the text you see in the menu does not align with the actual option that will be chosen.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2543869
 
motoman4rmmars
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
thanks for reply guys,
I dont want to unlock the bootloader as it voids the warranty.
I contacted Motorola, but no reply.

Is there any other way to factory reset this device?

BTW Happy New Year to all
 
scott_doyland
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 427
Join Date: Dec 2011
Did you read my post just above yours? You use the stock recovery, just highlight the option ABOVE the option you actually want within the recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to scott_doyland For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
motoman4rmmars
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Red face cheers mate!

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_doyland View Post
Did you read my post just above yours? You use the stock recovery, just highlight the option ABOVE the option you actually want within the recovery.
sorry I misread u the first time.
but do you even know how big my smile is right now

You are a time and life saver!

first hero of 2014!,

was so effin pissed of since the turn of the year

Hope all u guys have a cheerful year

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more